We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Literally one block from the plaza! The staff was helpful and quick. The room was nice..nothing fancy but quiet and comfortable. The hotel lobby is wonderful. They have two huge couches pulled up by their wood burning fireplace. I've never really wanted to spend time in a lobby before, but this was warm, comfy, pretty and very spacious. If the fire was dwindling, staff were quick to throw on another log!

We also ate at the restaurant in the hotel. The wait staff were on the ball. There was a bit of confusion about our dinner order, but the staff comped my entree, made a new dish and gave me a 20% off coupon for breakfast. Breakfast was so divine the first morning, we ate breakfast there the second morning, too. The Atolle is a corn based hot cereal that was serious comfort food. I loved it. My kids had French toast and pancakes, which received high reviews. My husband had chorizo and eggs and was in heaven!

Would I stay there again? Sure would!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel St.Francis whiling visiting Santa Fe. We are glad to know the room and all the staff exceeded your family's needs. We are happy to welcome your family back for an evening in front of the fireplace and fresh Swedish Pancakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are one person, the small room will be fine. For two, it was an evening of cramped quarters. They had not switched over to air conditioning, so it was a warm evening. Yes, the windows open (but they are little tricky), so it was not a great night's sleep. I would have felt more comfortable about sleeping with windows open if there had been a screen on the window.
We also had street noise. =(

The towels truly need an upgrade. There is now a fee for parking. It was great being close to the Plaza. I am not sure that upgrading to a bigger room would have helped. We got a NM resident rate which was great, but I am not sold.

The check-in staff was not friendly. Check out took too long--again, snotty attitude.

However, I LOVE their restaurant, and will return there in a heartbeat. The hotel, eh...maybe.

Room Tip: Be sure heating and cooling are working to your satisfaction. Rooms on top floor seem warmer (altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCinABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hello KCinABQ, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and restaurant. We are all happy to hear the food and the service in Tabla de los Santos was to your satisfaction, as well as our excellent location near the plaza. I’m truly sorry that you had anything less than a relaxing and enjoyable experience in our hotel; we are taking time to thoroughly train our staff so as to avoid inconveniencing any of our guests. We pride ourselves on quality customer service and I do sincerely apologize for any trouble you may have had in dealing with any member of our staff. Your feedback is valuable and we take it seriously. We hope we get another chance to prove ourselves to you in the near future! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Neat old hotel with a fire place in the lobby and two good restaurants. The room was small but, clean. It has a European feel. Walking distance to square. The staff was friendly and service was good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks for your review! Our historic hotel, bar and restaurant are well set up for guests like yourself looking for a quality stay in a good location. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed the experience and we hope you come back and cozy up in front of the fireplace again sometime. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. Santa Fe mission decor is clean and minimalist. Lobby and restaurant great. Cozy bar. Nice wood burning fireplace and outdoor sitting areas. The only downside was a worn out mattress and box spring such that my wife and I rolled together at middle and it felt like water bed. New beds and this is 5 star.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dufus1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello Dufus1212 and thank you for taking a moment to give us a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the look, feel and location of our lovely historic hotel. We have spoken to the appropriate departments and are making sure all of our guest rooms are in perfect condition. We very much appreciate your feedback and we're hoping you come stay with us again soon! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay, the location of Hotel St. Francis is centrally located, it gave me easy access to find my way in downtown Santa Fe, I enjoyed all the boutique shops around the hotel, the room itself was a bit small and I asked to see a larger room for my next stay, the front staff Gerik showed me a Deluxe King room before my departure, they accommodated all of my requests in a professional manner. I LOVE the ambience of this hotel, it is spacious in the lobby area with old-time Santa Fe charm, there are historical photographs being displayed on the 3rd floor on the way to my room, I don't get tired looking at them every time I walk by them, they make up the flavor of Hotel St. Francis. I am not much of a "take the stairs" person, but I would rather take the stairs down in the morning at this hotel and feel the details of the architecture in every corner, it is definitely pleasing to my aesthetic sense. Will Be Back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel St. Francis during your visit to Santa Fe, and also for writing a review. We are very happy to know that you love our historic ambiance and central location. Our staff welcomes you back to enjoy more of our Santa Fe Charm. Jarenda Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A friend and I were able to stay at this little gem in February thanks to a great Priceline deal. Upon arriving, we discovered it's an old hotel that has been remodeled to retain the charm of its heritage and history, but with modern conveniences. For a little extra per night, we were able to change our reservation to a 2-bed room.

I am giving it five stars because, frankly, it was a great deal and a beautiful hotel. For the price, there were a few little inconveniences that I will mention here, but they don’t change my opinion that it should receive a five star review on Trip Advisor.

The elevator is quite slow, and they must have had some kind of ventilation problem during my stay because it was not pleasant smelling inside the elevator for the duration of our stay - which was several days. Even though we were on the upper level (3 floors I think?) the stairs were not bad, and it was just easier to take the stairs.

They do have their own parking lot next door, and overflow parking is available across the street. There was a standard fee for parking.

The workout room was incredibly small: One treadmill, a bike, and some weights. The treadmill was broken. Who works out on vacation? Well, I would have at least liked the option.

This is a pet friendly hotel! Makes sense, considering this hotel's namesake.
I’m pretty sure there was free wifi – we didn’t pay for it, and we had no problem accessing it in our room.

The beds were amazingly comfortable and the rooms were charming. Smaller than typical modern hotel rooms, but the furniture and accents make up for size. They have mixed modern fixtures with hand-crafted furniture and what looked to be original or reclaimed flooring. It was a little odd to see the sink and faucet in the bedroom, but we got used to it. (Ladies, there is no decent light above the mirror, and the room is very dim unless you open the drapes – which, in the mornings meant blinding sunlight.)

The temps were very cold while we were there in February, but the thermostat was not working right in our room and we were roasting. So we had to sleep with the windows open. It was 19 degrees. This regulated the temperature in our room pretty well, but the garbage trucks and street sweepers at 5am put a stop to the windows being opened during our slumber.

It is very close to Starbucks – just about a block down the street. Which is good, since we were up at 5am thanks to the street sweeper trucks.

There is a bar attached to the hotel. Very nice, great ambiance, but the waitress was horrible. Good ‘Happy Hour’ specials, though!

Despite my honest opinions of some of the minor inconveniences, this is a beautiful hotel, in the heart of Old Santa Fe, and was an excellent place to stay. I would certainly stay here again, and that is a true testament to the quality and value of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Newslady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello Newslady77 and thank you for taking the time to review our "little gem" of a hotel! We are very glad to hear you had an excellent stay and appreciated the convenience and the ambiance despite any small inconveniences. Our staff wishes to welcome you back for happy hour on the patio now that the weather is warming up. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We wanted to try the St Francis because of its location and it looked authentic southwest to us. We have been to Santa Fe many times in the past twelve years. We loved the St Francis. First of all, the staff is efficient, they are friendly, and they are helpful. Yes, the rooms are small but this is an older hotel, so you have an armoire instead of a closet like many of the older hotels that have been updated. We upgraded to a larger room because of the need for a desk in the room and the staff could not have been more helpful. We love the bar and bartender, Greg, is is an expert at bartending, loves to ski, and knows the city and area well. The restaurant La Tabla was outstanding - the tomatillas to die for (made with beer, bacon grease and masa.... yum). Ben and staff are so nice there. Alandro was also excellent. We will be back - loved the ambience.

Room Tip: I'd suggest booking a deluxe room if you want more room and a desk. We were in 215 and liked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizardMarquette_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review of our hotel, bar and restaurant! We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience, from the rooms to the ambiance and decor to the tomatillas. We are always happy to give room upgrades based on availability; it's our goal and our pleasure to match guests with appropriate guest accomodations! We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
899 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,668 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $169 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing