We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay better than the 1st!”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“2nd stay better than the 1st!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had such a great experience several yrs ago when we had the opportunity to visit Santa Fe again, we immediately booked into the St. Francis. What a surprise – they totally refurbished since our last visit. Absolutely gorgeous – the new Franciscan-style décor honors the namesake. The room is a bit small, but well appointed. And we spent time exploring the environs, not stuck in the room! We slept with all of the windows open and enjoyed the cool summer evening breezes.

The service was terrific, right down to the friendly and accommodating housekeeping staff.

You can’t beat the location for this lovely boutique hotel – within walking distance to just about everywhere. Price was awesome, especially when compared to other hotels downtown. And Sitting outside enjoying happy hour is the best! (although their barmaids need a lesson in being more attentive to their customers.)

And don’t forgot to eat at the restaurant at least once during your stay. The breakfasts are wonderful, and sitting outside on the patio is spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor allow you to safely sleep with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    318
    150
    83
    50
See reviews for
127
531
121
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

All around, a verty good stop! Updated rooms but with historic charm. A clean, well appointed, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful and engaging staff. Wonderful location. The only issues, were a mattress too soft for my taste and the charge to stay in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel St. Francis know 4 times. This has been our best visit to date. The level of service has improved 10 fold from our last visit in March. We love the rooms. When I called to make the reservations, I requested a fridge and also to have all the feathered items removed from the room. I did not even need to ask as both things were done before my arrival. The front desk even mentioned it to me, as I was checking in. The food and the bar were as always really good. Inger whom we love seeing made us dinner reservations one night and planned our day trip to for the next day. We will be back for Indian Market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel St. Francis and were extremely pleased. As noted by some reviewers, the rooms are indeed small, but the decor and the comfort of the rooms made it feel very comfortable. The bathrooms were also surprisingly small but, again, designed to maximize what space is available in this old building. Plus, the communal spaces like the lobby and loggia are very spacious and provide opportunities for socializing with other guests. The hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to meet our every need - from calling restaurants for reservations to providing us with free bottles of water in that dry desert air. The adjoining cocktail lounge, Secreto, and the loggia out front were our favorite spots in the early evenings. The bartenders at Secreto are truly world-class and the cocktails are out of this world - even the locals do happy hour here. Everything is within a couple minutes' walking time, so it's easy to run back to the hotel for something forgotten or to ease tired feet. Thanks to the old walls in the building, the rooms were extremely quiet and insulated from the sounds of other guests. Overall, a truly wonderful place to stay in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WLH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotel Tonight. We actually were not told what the bed size would be. On the way to Santa Fe, I called the hotel and was told the bed was a double. My husband and I always want at least a queen bed. Therefore, we spent an extra $30 a night to upgrade to a Deluxe King Room.

There were several things that disappointed us. First, there was only one light above the sink in the bathroom for the entire bathroom. The switch for this light was on the wall outside the bathroom. When the door was opened or closed, the light blinked.

There was also no coffee pot in the room. We did have the option of paying $5 for a morning coffee service. No breakfast was included in the room rate. You also have to pay extra for parking which is across the street. Closet space is cramped since it is part of a wardrobe piece.

We have stayed many times in Santa Fe and still think the Homewood Suites north of town is the best place to stay. The St. Francis was built in the 1800s and does have a lot of character. I just don't think it's worth the total price you have to pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red Raider Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love Hotel St. Francis. Boutique hotel at it's finest. The location is perfect to everything I wanted to do. Close to the Plaza, shopping, places to eat, etc. I like the character and the service was great.

Room Tip: I like looking out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This a very good hotel in a great location to access downtown Santa Fe, but the extra attention from the staff made our stay very pleasurable. As an added bonus, the front porch was a great place to enjoy the weather, as well as mingle with other guests and locals.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
892 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,799 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn at Vanessie
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing