We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me feel like home”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the St. Francis Hotel in Sante Fe for my birthday. My room, which I requested near the elevator, was available when I arrived about 1 pm on a Monday and I was greeted warmly (as I was every time I returned). Although the rooms are small (they are reminiscent to a hotel room in Europe), they have everything that is needed. In my room, the washbasin was in the room, with the toilet and bath/shower in a separate room. The lobby and out-front patio are comfortable to spend time in. The in-hotel restaurant Tablas de los Santos was part of restaurant week and as a result, dining was of a great value cost-wise as well as the meals all being delicious. The executive chef could be spotted on-site during the day and during the meals as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cubfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

The hotel has great staff that are so friendly and the hotel is right on the plaza so you can easily shop. I was there for restaurant week and have a fantastic, affordable three course dinner with a combination mexican appetizer and a fish entree with a good wine selection. I really enjoyed drinking coffee on their patio early in the morning--again overlooking the plaza. JJ

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jjp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The hotel is truly historic with a unique character; you feel it all around you, from the spacious lobby to the room. The service was excellent and the location cannot be better. Would always like to return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enskede2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The service at check in was pleasant. The room was spectacular. The bed was heaven. I had the best night's sleep. The bathroom in my room was a little small but adequate for only one person. I truly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tishaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you are looking for a sophisticated, quaint, european style hotel, look no further than this hotel.Rooms are fashionable, many with a view. The resturant is quality priced and the food first rate. The staff is well trained and they are very aware of what makes a hotel one that you will want to return, time after time. Grade this above par!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bostongolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Loved this hotel. From the spacious simple but elegant design of the lobby, to my small but comfortable room done in soothing shades of grays and whites, to the fantastic meal at the restaurant, and to the lovely staff. And the location was perfect, right near the Plaza. If monks lived in luxury, this would be the place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VERONICA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We chose the Hotel St. Francis because of the great location, recent renovation and a referral from a friend. We were disenchanted at the size of the room and the "modest" (translation-small) luxury of the maybe 11' x 11' room. There was very little space to put luggage or clothes. Even the coffee maker was in the tiny half closet. There was one wooden bench in the room to sit on (if the coffee maker or luggage wasn't taking up the space), otherwise you had to sit on the bed. The sink was separate from the bathroom, which took away precious space from the bedroom. We could only stay in this room one night and we had to upgrade to a larger room. The larger room was better, but far from luxurious for the price. The closet space was cut in half by a safe on one side and a refrigerator on the other side of the armoire. My clothes barely fit much less the clothes of my partner who is 6'5". We had to hang his shirts in the bathroom because they were too long to hang in the closet.. I understand that this is a historic property and that space is limited. I think better design choices could accommodate TRAVELERS better than what is there. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The rooms were clean. The staff at the front desk were always very friendly and accommodating. We wouldn't stay here again because we don't prefer a "minimalist" design when we're paying a luxury price. Much prefer the sister property, Hotel Plaza Real.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLandSHARON05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
899 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,667 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $169 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing