We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and tired room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #7 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
zoomster07
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old and tired room”
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We tried this as we could not get into a more highly rated B&B. The property is old, our room was dark and not very clean, room furnishings are cheap, worn and tired, and a little run down. Biggest disappointment is the Motel 6 style food and beverages offered. Not what one would expect from a Sante Fe B&B in this price range. Staff was good, but this place badly needs an update and an serious upgrade to rooms and food being offered.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zoomster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    162
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
80
422
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

we were expecting a super cute place after reading all of the great reviews, but we were not at all pleased with our stay. the room was a little cramped and run-down, no nice amenities. the next morning, there must have been a sewage problem because it smelled terrible. and this all would have been more than fine if the service had been pleasant, but it was far far from it. we did not feel welcome, no one went out of their way to ask how we were doing or if we needed anything. not only did they not ask, i felt like the woman kept giving us dirty looks. the toaster was on way too hot, so it burned my bagel, and instead of being pleasant about it the woman there snatched the bagel away like i had done it on purpose. the whole experience was very bizarre. we did not feel remotely welcome, which was surprising for the amount of money we paid, and aren't b&bs supposed to be warm welcoming places? and we are both very nice midwestern people, i swear! we are not high maintenance, we are not loud, we are not offensive. i'm not sure what the deal was, but i do know we will never ever go back and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Great Stay at the Pueblo Bonito. Loved our room. Enjoyed the courtyard and sundeck and grounds. The atmosphere inside and out was charming "Old Southwest/Cowboy/Indian era". Property was well preserved -is over 150 years old. Main building had massive foot thick adobe walls- made it very quiet and cool - was lots of fun to stay in. Our room was colorful, comfortable, clean and had lots of interesting knick/knacks - well placed around the room. Not gaudy or "foo-fooy". Lots of elbow space in room as well - not cramped like many are. Loved the leather reading chair and lamp in my room. We also had a firm queen bed, small seperate area stocked with coffee maker, coffee, and fridge; a kiva fireplace (not needed but added charm), a full bath (small but adequate) and a huge closet. Excellent value- room charges include every thing except tax (i.e. downtown location, parking inside grounds, internet access, local phone calls, afternoon margaritas and wine, and of course breakfast). Breakfast was great. Huge spread of food(s)- the honeydew melon was amaziingly sweet and juicy- best I have every had. Coffee was strong and hot- very smooth. This was a great place to stay and we will be excited to return.

  • Liked — Size (18 rooms), Historic, Southwestern, Uniqueness.
  • Disliked — Crowds in the downtown area. Waiting in lines at restaurants.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tucsonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We pulled into Santa Fe on December 30th as the snow came down in buckets - one of the biggest snow storms since the 1970's we are told! We found Pueblo Bonito under a BIG blanket of snow and checked into our room "Tesque." Authentically Santa Fe - this is an old hacienda which has been converted into rooms. Rustic, charming, inviting, and a fabulous location to walk into town and take in the action on the square.
The room had its original floors, a kiva fireplace, and while a bit small - its southwestern charm made it a place to remember. The breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and we ate by the fire which warmed us in the common area. The setting, the structure itself, and its proximity to the historic district make this an A+ place for your stay in Santa Fe. We want to go back in the summer and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The convenience to downtown
  • Disliked — The room was a little small.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there expecting a Resort - it is not. But if you want to enjoy the authentic southwest - this is the spot for you!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We spent three nights in a deluxe room at the Pueblo Bonito in January 2007. I would not call it a B&B, which to me implies a intimate facility and a fancy, cooked breakfast; rather, it is a small inn with 18 rooms and a buffet breakfast consisting of low quality, premade, supermarket muffins and waffles, bread, and boxed cereal. I was glad to see the fresh fruit selection and a nice assortment of tea.

The accomodations were adequate, but nothing more. The furniture was plain; the futon cover was soiled; the only upholstered chair was worn out. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were hard. The kitchen included a few dishes but nothing to cook with and no flatware. The bathroom was tiny, as was the tv (19"). Several rooms, including ours, back onto the Paseo, so traffic noise was an issue early in the morning. The windows fit poorly and leaked cold air; the windows were covered only by inexpensive plastic mini blinds which blocked no light; and the air conditioner was a window unit in a corner of the bedroom (I would hate to be there during a hot streak).

On the positive side, the room was private, free from neighbor noise. The pace was relaxed, and the staff was helpful, though not particularly friendly. The neighborhood felt safe, and we walked all over, though be aware that it's probably 3/4 mile to the Plaza.

The Pueblo Bonito was adequate, but for the price, I would guess that better options are available.

  • Liked — The quiet, quaint nature.
  • Disliked — Plain, worn accomodations which were not suitable for price.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Twoprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Booking a suite here by internet was very easy and pleasant. Our suite was disappointing however. It was dark and gloomy, the furnishings were old and shabby, housekeeping was of a very low standard, the cutlery was a mish-mash of battered, dirty knives and forks, the wire screen on the bathroom window was torn, and the bathroom sink blocked every morning. We had to ask for glasses and a corkscrew. Prices seemed expensive for what was provided. On a positive note, staff were frioendly, we were able to use the laundry and ample parking is free.

  • Liked — Easy internet booking
  • Disliked — Shabby, grubby furnishings
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I'll start with the positives. First, the Pueblo Bonito's location is convenient to the restaurants, shops, and tourist sites of the historic district. You can park your car in the enclosed lot and forget about it -- a real boon, since parking can be a pain otherwise. From the outside, the hotel is very well kept and charming. The owners are friendly and helpful, and they genuinely seem to want to please. The place is well run. Breakfast was fine -- a continental spread of cereals, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, pastries, and your own pot of coffee.

I didn't give the hotel a higher mark because I was not that impressed with my room. (I stayed in the San Juan, no. 4.) Others have described the rooms as charming; maybe they stayed in a better one, I don't know. Personally, I found my room dark and shabby rather than charming. The bathroom was cramped and was in need of an update. It had a patched-up feel about it. I know you don't go to Santa Fe to stay in your room. But I would have liked more incentive to spend time in mine, rather than feeling relief at leaving it.

One reviewer said that he/she didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel at night. I was there by myself, and I can certainly sympathize about the route being a bit dark and deserted. But I don't think it's dangerous.

The Pueblo Bonito is convenient ly located and reasonably priced. But if you're looking for a room where you can kick back and spend a pleasant hour or two every day just hanging out -- and if you're particular about your bathrooms -- you may want to keep looking.

  • Liked — Location, parking
  • Disliked — Room needed updating
  • Tips/Secrets — Early bird dinner at Georgia O'Keefe Museum cafe
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,581 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,289 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,243 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,643 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 138 W Manhattan Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded historic adobe pueblo downtown Santa Fe Bed and breakfast. Walk to plaza, shops, galleries, museums, restaurants and all historic sites! 1860 built original adobe pueblo-style compound. Three buildings on one acre housing 19 individually decorated and charming, historic adobe guest rooms. Kiva fireplace, private bath and private entrance in 18 private rooms. New Mexico breakfast buffet features handmade "Pueblo Tamales" and secret family recipe "Green Chile Stew" complimented by a wide array of other traditional American offerings. Afternoon cookies and welcome drinks all day are complimentary for guests. Affordable. Don't just stay in Santa Fe- Experience real history at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing