We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have allergies, Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
Ranked #8 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you have allergies, Beware!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

When I made the reservation, Amy was very truthful about some of the potential allergens of the property such as fireplace and age of facility. I decided to try the property because someone recommended it to me.

When we checked in and were shown the room, I smelled a strong fragrance. I asked Amy and she said it was windex used to clean. After she left, we left for the afternoon and when we returned that evening the fragrance permeated the suite. It turned out to be fabric softener that was used on the futon, all bed linens and the towels. It was too late to reach someone on site. An emergency number was available and I should have called but instead I took everything I could find and stuck in the closet then laid my personal blanket on the bed and pillow to sleep on and wore a mask. It was not a good night for allergies.

The next morning Amy was not on site and when I told her assistant that I would need to check out, she said ok but they would still need to charge me. After I requested our linens be washed without fragrance, she said water was too scarce. Fortunately Amy showed up at our suite and released us without charging.

She told us if we let her know far in advance they could wash the linens differently. Not sure how I would know to ask this since I've never encountered it in a place before and she didn't mention it when I told her I had allergies.

Also, smokers can smoke on the grounds and they take over the picnic tables available for guests. They also smelled strongly at breakfast in the tiny dining area. Haven't encountered this before.

Good points of facility - it is in walking distance of downtown and Amy did work with us when available, but didn't comprehend the problem with fragrances in all products.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobbieAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, Bobbie Ann. I understand your frustration with your stay, but I'd like to hopefully clear up a few things.

For starters, we did our best to accommodate you. However, we were only made aware of your pet dander and smoking allergies. Had you let us know about your hypersensitivity to fragrance and other chemical compounds, we could have planned for all of your linens to be removed and washed with special fragrance-free detergent. But to find out the night of during a busy weekend does not leave us with a lot of wiggle room.

Here at Pueblo Bonito Inn, we're a small bed and breakfast. We're open 24/7, 365 days a year, but we're a small operation and do have personal needs to attend to from time to time. That being said, if we do happen to be off-campus, we're notified of any issues, and I returned as soon as I could to assist you. You'll always have access to the owners here, but the bottom line is this is a 154-year-old building, so there are definitely some allergens in the air. We'll always do our best to make your stay a relaxing and comfortable one, but the more information you can provide us about any possible allergies, the better.

I do appreciate your thoughtful comments, and I hope I've cleared up any confusion about your visit. Thanks again for taking the time to visit and leave a review.

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    160
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
77
408
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and i spent 5 nights there and loved it. Excellent location only several blocks from the main plaza, very convenient to everything. Hospitality was outstanding, owners and staff very personable and informative. Loved the quiet, authentic charm of the place. Breakfasts were to die for, "high tea" in the afternoon was an unexpected treat, and the homemade tamales waiting for us in our room when we arrived were delicious. We would definitely recommend it and will undoubtedly stay there again on our next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, Gale! It was our pleasure hosting you, and I'm glad we could chat and help you experience everything you wanted to in historic Santa Fe.

Of course, it certainly helps that our location is walking distance to the Plaza, shops, museums and Santa Fe's finest restaurants! And we'll get you started the right way with our complimentary breakfast. Then, in the afternoons, a little tea with a cookie is a nice way to unwind from a busy day of exploring. As local New Mexico residents, we haven't gotten sick of tamales yet--and we're happy to share with out-of-town visitors! Aren't they just so delicious?

I really do appreciate the review and recommendation. This property has been here for over 150 years, full of charm and beauty. I'm so happy you spent several nights with us, and of course you're welcome back anytime you visit Santa Fe. Thanks again!

Best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Laguna suite and the room was nice and comfortable, the air conditioner/fan in the bedroom helped block out most of any noises that may have come from the street outside. The hotel is just about 10 minutes walking distance from the main Plaza, so very conveniently located. The breakfast had different options-different types of bagels with cream cheeses, delicious pork tamales, different pastries, fruit, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal, coffee, orange juice-plenty of options. The owners were very pleasant and kind. We definitely would consider it again if we visit Santa Fe again in the future.

Room Tip: The Laguna suite was nice and there is no room above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacvba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks very much for staying a few nights with us and sharing your experience! The Laguna pueblo is actually the most recently established of all pueblos, and the Laguna suite captures the beauty that's prevalent in the pueblo, particularly the St. Joseph Mission Church and its gorgeous artwork.

While we're a comfortable distance from the hustle and bustle of the city noise, we're still just a short walk from the Plaza, as well as Canyon Road and a number of restaurants and museums. We're always happy to provide recommendations on what to see and where to go, as well. And we'll make sure your day is started off the right way with our complimentary breakfast. In addition to the area's very tasty tamales, we also offer freshly cut fruits, oatmeal, granola, boiled eggs, lowfat yogurts, pastries, coffee cake, baked breads, bagels, french toast, waffles, raspberry preserves, smears, fresh coffee, tea and juice.

If you do return to Santa Fe in the future, we'd love to host you again! Thanks once more for sharing your feedback, and happy travels!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Like staying at a friends house, warm and welcoming. Unique and cozy experience. Best tamales in New Mexico! Lots of local knowledge and recommendations for things to do. We enjoyed staying on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1leahmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words, Leah! We really do believe anyone who stays here is a friend of ours, so we're happy to treat you like family. And it's an honor to hear our tamales called the best in New Mexico. They're such a tasty treat!

We're also always glad to provide our recommendations on sights to see throughout Santa Fe. After all, we've been here for nearly 30 years, so we know a thing or two about what to do around town! After a busy day of exploring, we love hearing about your travels over afternoon tea.

I really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It's so helpful to us as owners, as well as your fellow travelers. Hope to see you again next time you're in Santa Fe!

Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just come back from a two-week trip to NM, Utah, and Colorado. The Pueblo Bonito B&B inn was our favorite place to stay by far. My first stay there was nine years ago. We felt privileged to stay at an inn that has so much history and authenticity to show for. The rooms are charming; we love the details in the unique little corners and nooks everywhere. The rooms are actually little apartments, they feel spacious. The inn is a bit bohemian for sure but that is exactly what appeals to us (and clearly many others). It is beautiful, but without any ostentation. If you are looking for the cookie-cutter cute B&B with doilies everywhere, tea cozies and chocolate on the pillows, this isn’t the place for you.

The hosts are very nice and engaged and helpful. They enjoy what they are doing. The location is great, quiet, but a short walk to the plaza. The grounds are beautiful, but not overdone like in many other places. We’ll return for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Zia and the San Felipe, they are both beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orplid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
What an honor to hear you enjoyed our inn so much that you d eem us your "Favorite"! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review, and glad we still hold up after nearly a decade since your last visit ;) We are humbled and honored by your kind words as well as ackolades of past guests who've voted us 2011, 2012 and 2013 "Guest Favorite bed and breakfast" from over 8,500 properties in the US and Canada!

We certainly are an historical site--after all, these buildings have been on the property for over 150 years! The Zia and San Felipe are some great rooms, too, with amenities like foot thick adobe walls, hand carved nichos and adorable private baths. Did you know the Zia pueblo is actually the home of the sun symbol that New Mexico uses on its state flag?

We also pride ourselves on our helpfulness here at Pueblo Bonito Inn. And you're absolutely right, we really do enjoy what we're doing! It's a pleasure helping our guests make the most of their stay in Santa Fe, whether it's through recommending sights to see, restaurants to check out, or simply talking about your travels. We're always here to help! And luckily, we're such a short walk from the Plaza and other attractions that you can explore the city without any trouble at all.

I really do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thanks again, and we'd love to see you the next time you stop by Santa Fe!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The owners of this BB are exceptionally helpful and attentive. On arrival we were taken care of completely, including showing us where the on-site laundry room was for our use at a very reasonable cost. Like many similar places in Santa Fe the buildings are historic, which generally means smaller rooms and fixtures. Ours was upstairs, which meant quiet. This room could use some general upgrading in terms of simple fixes like windows that don't open and frayed rugs, but for the price it was a bargain. You can walk to downtown and the State Capitol, and a particular treat, to Restaurant Martin literally steps from the BB. Great food, but pricey. This is a good place for a one to two night stay in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCIronMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, Mike! We pride ourselves on making your stay as enjoyable as possible, and will do what we can to ensure that. From a tour to recommendations to tamales upon your arrival, we're happy to help.

Our rooms actually are very large when taken into account the 154 year age of our authentic adobe pueblo-style property. We are very unique- not common at all as we stand out in retaining the authentic integrity of this property. All exterior walls are a miniumum of a foot and a half of adobe (mud brick) and are "the" orginal walls! Adorning our ground, attached to the original estate is the originial orno (indian bread oven) - won't find one of these anywhere in downtown Santa Fe! All 19 of our enchanting guest rooms are unique, yet share similiar amenities like wood burning kiva fireplaces (winter month useage only), private full baths, refrigerator, microwave, coffee set ups, and much more! Beautiful artifacts, art and furniture- indicative of our blending cultures (Anglo, Hispanic and Native American) are well represented.

And you can see just about anything you'd like on the town. We're just a short stroll from Canyon Road, the Plaza, shops, restaurants, and any other place you can imagine in historic downtown Santa Fe! Of course, Herb and I (owners) and our staff are here to assist our guests with suggestions and have 100+ combined years of native living experience to share. After 29 years of innkeeping- if I must say, we're pretty good at what we do!

I really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thanks again for the kind words.

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skedee, OK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Family treats you like favored family! Warm and welcoming, take advantage of the hand made tamales! Fire place in the room is a treat. Located close to old plaza area, enjoyable walking area; good tips on locations to eat in all prices

Room Tip: Adobe walls lend to quiet sleep, with the North West room feeling like a private retreat. Only compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walk_N_Gunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words--you really ARE like family when you stay here! I'm glad you took advantage of the fresh tamales, too. Aren't they just amazing?

While it's relaxing to stay here at Pueblo Bonito, it's even more enjoyable to take advantage of our close proximity to the Plaza downtown, and restaurants and shopping nearby. And if you're ever stumped on where to go, we're happy to provide a recommendation!

I truly do appreciate the kind words, and I'll share this with the whole team. Thanks again, and see you on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Property: Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
Address: 138 W Manhattan Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown Santa Fe Bed and breakfast. Walk to plaza, shops, galleries, museums, restaurants and historic sites! 1860 built original adobe pueblo-style compound. Three buildings on one acre housing 18 individually decorated and charming adobe guest rooms. Kiva fireplace, private bath and private entrance in all 18 rooms. Breakfast buffet features handmade "Pueblo Tamales" and a wide array of other offerings. Afternoon tea, Wi-fi and parking are complimentary for guests. Affordable. Don't stay in Historic Santa Fe- Experience it at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing