We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and moldy in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
Ranked #8 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old and moldy in Santa Fe”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I stay in Santa Fe 3-4 times a year and decided to stay at Pueblo Bonito because of a friend's recommendation. This friend must not have been there in the last 10 years. This was the worst experience at a B&B I have ever had. I have stayed at B&B's in Europe, New England, Colorado and New Mexico, so have a few to compare it to. The location is great, just a short walk to the Plaza but that is where it ends. The room was dark, musty with dusty old furnishings. The bed was soft and caved in on both sides. The fixtures in the bathroom were old and cracked with mildew. The main house was in a much better state of repair. The worst part was the breakfast. The web site states "A lavish, create your own breakfast". Lavish is not the correct choice of words for frozen waffles, boxed pastries and cereals and reconstituted juices. This would be ok for a cheap motel but not a $160 a night B&B. We decided to go get breakfast elsewhere.

We asked for a late checkout on Monday and got a very curt response that the request would be completely impossible. I believe in letting someone know when you are disappointed in the service so that they can address the issue. The owner was there the day we left and I introduced myself to him. I told him the location was lovely but we were very unhappy with the state of our room and the skimpy breakfast. The reply I received through clenched teeth was, "I'm sorry, Ma'am".

There are plenty of other places to stay in SF for $100 out of season and maybe $120 in season with excellent breakfasts and nice rooms. Just keep reading the reviews. I wish I had read the reviews on this one.

  • Liked — location to Plaza
  • Disliked — old and rundown, boxed breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MtntravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    160
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
77
408
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed for 4 uncomfortable days and nights. The property is old and in need of a lot of maintenance and repair -- broken window hardware, lights that didn't work even when we tried to change the bulb (the socket was broken), a refrigerator in bad need of defrosting, mold in the shower, frayed lampshades, and a broken telephone. The bedroom was tiny. I gave up trying to shut the windows, but my husband tried until he cut his finger. Our sheets were not changed, and we were not given an option either way. The location is good as it is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Plaza. Breakfast was nothing special. The price may be good for Santa Fe, but at about $200.00 per night, we did not feel that we got our money's worth. We will not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location 10 minute walk to Santa Fe Plaza
  • Disliked — Property is poorly maintained.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ERZsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We found old tired, cheaply furnished, run down interior and furnishings in our room. Food was mediocre at best - motel six quality. Road noise intruded into the room. Old dusty window blinds and curtains needed cleaning. Floors were not clean. Bed was sagging and uncomfortable. They want you to pay in full in advance - beware - very poor value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cashtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, CO
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Pueblo Bonito is a quaint little b&b with a great location. The rooms are not large, but are spotlessly clean and fresh smelling. The bathroom was teeny tiny, but again, very clean and well-maintained. The people were delightful, very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a generous, continental-style with really good pastries, a nice fruit assortment and other selections served in a very pleasant gathering room -- with a lovely fire when the weather turned chilly. Margaritas, wine, tea and snacks are served in the same space each afternoon. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with things like restaurant reservations. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Great location, antique buildings, southwest ambiance
  • Disliked — Tiny, tiny bathrooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CadEaton_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Great place. Great people. Great margaritas. Great Breakfast. Great accomodations. Great Fireplaces. Great beds. Lovely city. Will definately be back. Kudos Pueblo Bonito!

  • Liked — Staff, proximity to sites/restaurants/galleries, historic value
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank campbell128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We had a great stay at Pueblo Bonito- pleasantly surprised is how I would describe it. Must admit I was hesitant prior to our stay due to redading a couple of reviews logged in in August- but honetly found nothing to disappoint us in this unique and cute, southwestern inn. Our room was comfortable, warm and very, very pleasant. The breakfast was a large spread of tasty items- nothing cooked on site- but all very well presented and balanced. I enjoyed oatmeal, yogart, some delicious fresh cantalope and I thought the coffee was excellent- hot, strong and robust! My husband went for the bagel with peanut butter and cream cheese- his favorite, grapefruit, granola and skim milk. Parking was very much appreciated on premisis as well as the fast internet service in the room. The staff was casual and easy going- just the way I like it- non-precotious. I would and will definately stay here again- no doubt.

  • Liked — Historic, Old West Ambiance, location, quiet grounds, parking, internet access in room
  • Disliked — nothing- thought everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank aquacoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stay in Santa Fe at least three times a year, it is a short-trip from our home in Albuquerque yet feels like we've really gotten out of town! That said, we have stayed many places - all have been B & B's or small Inn's. From the moment we stepped into Pueblo Bonito, we knew this stay would be different. Like many others, we picked this location because of it's convenience and admittedly also because our favorite place to stay was sold out. We arrived when afternoon "tea" was being served. A plastic bowl was set out with Cheez-it's in it. Not exactly our idea of tea! So we passed on the snack crackers. Also, we paid cash upon checking in...over $200...and the InnKeeper could not produce a receipt for us. Instead she hand wrote the total on a piece of scrap paper with the word CASH next to it. Our room was EXTREMELY disappointing. Not quaint, charming or eclectic, but instead cold, poorly decorated and falling apart. The bathroom caulk was cracking and falling-off around the vanity, toilet and in the shower. In the main room "artwork" (that is a stretch to call it art) consisted of posters purchased from craft stores still in the shrikwrapped plastic leaning on walls. No frames, no matting, just posters. Bedding was old, musty and uncomfortable and there was exposed plumbing and a hot water heater in the walkway between the mainroom and the bath. All of the painting, whether on furniture or on walls was obvioulsy layered on-top-of over and over again. The exterior and the grounds were in sad condition as well. All of the trees had dead growth that had not been cut-back but simply died and was hanging, waiting to fall off. Bark and ground cover has been kicked around so much that no plants have survived and the ground (ie: DIRT) is exposed. The front porch light was a burned out light-bulb that was cracked and weathered, no fixture. Pueblo Bonito's location would make it a sure attraction and money maker, unfortunately the owners have let it go to the point of no return. We will not stay here again and would not recommend that you do either. We did have high hopes for breakfast in the morning, hoping that would be good and we'd walk away from our experience with something positive to say. Frozen waffles, cold cereal and day-old pasteries were laid out where we had first encountered the Cheez-it's the afternoon before...we opted to stop at McDonalds on our way home instead!

  • Liked — Nothing - Needs overhaul and clean-up, dissapointing all the way around
  • Disliked — Everything, this place is a mess!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank NMvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Property: Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
Address: 138 W Manhattan Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown Santa Fe Bed and breakfast. Walk to plaza, shops, galleries, museums, restaurants and historic sites! 1860 built original adobe pueblo-style compound. Three buildings on one acre housing 18 individually decorated and charming adobe guest rooms. Kiva fireplace, private bath and private entrance in all 18 rooms. Breakfast buffet features handmade "Pueblo Tamales" and a wide array of other offerings. Afternoon tea, Wi-fi and parking are complimentary for guests. Affordable. Don't stay in Historic Santa Fe- Experience it at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing