We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 11th anniv. and the hotel was fabulous. The room had two fireplace which was very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seh1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    585
    280
    122
    73
See reviews for
473
882
73
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

From arrival to departure, my stay for a week was wonderful. The staff was attentive and efficient in any requests made. An upgrade to a suite was done easily and for a reasonable fee. The atmosphere was relaxing and elegant, Red Sage dining was exquisite. Will return many times!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FormerNewMexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

If you are looking for a little luxury in a casino environment - this is the place to stay. The rooms were clean & cozy. The walls being paper thin that EVERYTHING can be heard on either side of your room is distracting but everything else was top-notch. The variety of restaurants on-site was a pleasant surprise. There is something for everyone to enjoy here. The spa was luxurious, although a little expensive for the area. The outdoor pool was closed for the season but the indoor pool was available for use. The fitness facility was available at an extra charge for guests but this was not well documented on-line. Was a little disappointed that the fitness center was not included with the $380.00/night room. The casino boasts Las Vegas-like style but in fact does not have many different type of slot machines available.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank romanticdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTRHiltonManager, William Booth, Director of Front Office Operations at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the incorrect information regardig the Fitness Center; it is complimentary for all guest. Hopefully you are able to return so that you are able to utilize it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

When I selected this hotel to be our headquarters for the vacation of my family and my friends( five other families) I read some reviews about the bad service provided by this hotel as well as the rudeness of its personnel: however, by looking at the installations , the casino and knowing by a friend about the good restaurants in here, I decided to overlook the bad comments and stay here anyway. Surprisingly enough, the terrible service announced was substituted by kindness and excellent attention all that added to the magnificent premises, gave us such a great satisfaction that we are ready to be back this year with a larger group from december 26 to jan 1, 2011.IRRESISTIBLE

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnnyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTRHiltonManager, William Booth, Director of Front Office Operations at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your experience. I am glad that your experience was one that we strive to give every guest, consistent and hassel free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

It was the best new year's eve ever!

Some services were a bit slow but it was a full house and eveyone was most accommodating

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NMRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Absolutely the best mini-vacation we've enjoyed in years... and so close to home! The Staff was superb and the accomodations were outstanding. The Art Gallery and the Red Sage REstaurant were my two favorites. Affordable luxury in a beautiful setting. Thank you Buffaloe Thunder for a terrific time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AGlenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

We were a group of 4 rooms with adults and children. We all found our rooms to be extremely clean, large, and comfortable compared to other area hotels (those closer to Santa Fe). We enjoyed the indoor pool, fitness room, and jacuzzi. We did not visit the casino. We found the casino to be too smoky for all the adults in the group. We did enjoy the proximity to the Santa Fe restaurants and if you don't mind driving 20 minutes to town to eat, I would definitely recommend staying here. The dining options leave a lot to be desired unless you enjoy buffet style eating. We found things on the buffet to not be of the correct temperature (hot food was cold, and cold food was warm), so we managed to pick items that were either made to order or made our own salads. The breakfast option is very slow and the Starbucks is at the bar and does not offer a full selection of Starbucks items, so do not expect to have that option. There are many stores in Santa Fe like Trader Joes, Whole Foods and others to pick up some breakfast items and keep in your room. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very very clean.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTRHiltonManager, William Booth, Director of Front Office Operation at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experience. I will ensure that your comments about the buffet are passed on to the correct individuals. Our Starbucks location is currently at the bar in our lobby, however we are opening a full service Starbucks this spring. We look forward to having you back at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing