We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved the facility. Upgraded our room for no extra charge. Balcony view of mountains was great. Shared a romantic dinner in the Red Sage Restaurant. Great selections with unique New Mexican flavors. Portions more than ample. Other restaurants were great and the service was excellent. Casino was fun and surprisingly not as smoky as some I have been in in the past. If you are wanting a great fun weekend this can be it. There is golf and a great spa. Also travel to Santa Fe or even Taos is not that far.

Room Tip: With layout of rooms noise level didn't seem to be a factor. Requests if available are accepted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    614
    294
    126
    77
See reviews for
505
927
75
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

There is more then one thing one can say about staying at this hotel. A room with a view, a room with comfortable bed, and fresh linen. A room where ones purpose is to simple relax. A room where one doesn't have to feel liked one is in a hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Short trip out of Albuquerque with 4 women friends to celebrate delayed birthdays, but really just an excuse to have some fun. Rooms were very comfortable and decor also very nice. Beds very comfortable. Fairly long walk from lobby to hotel elevators but at least it is not a walk through a smoky casino. We didn't use any of the facilities, but lots of families who seemed to be enjoying the property.

Room Tip: We were in hotel wing 2 - hotel wing 1 might have better view and less of a walk. Requesting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bestatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The good, I was upgraded to a suite, nice staff. The bad, rooms are a little tacky...one washcloth and one hand towel in bathroom. The Red Sage restaurant was okay, perfectly cooked steak, good quality however I noticed in New Mexico every steak has a gravy or sauce, ugh. A good steak should not need one. The backed potatoes was raw inside and the soufflé I ordered and waited 40 minutes for didn't arrive, the Chef said it failed and offered me a creamer brûlée. Hint to staff, at your introduction tell the guest about the soufflé and allow them to order without waiting so long. The casino is small and slots were not fun...if you want to stay at a great casino hotel, go to Sandia. Much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear KPars,
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was happy to hear that our Front Desk staff was able to upgrade you to a suite, however absolutely no excuse for having only one washcloth and one hand towel in your bathroom. Our standard for suites is 3 of each type, so we obviously failed in this instance. I have also passed along your comments regarding the service and food issues with the baked potato and soufflé, to our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Director.
As you live in Santa Fe, please feel free to contact me personally regarding these issues, as I would like to invite you back to our resort and look forward to meeting you personally.
Thanks again for your review.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
(505)819-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel and casino is located in a scenic valley with other attractions no more than 30 minutes. There are three different restaurants all with great menu selection and great service. The bar area had a live band that was very entertaining not only with the music but with conversations. This is a place that will be one of my favorites for that quick getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALAMOSA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent hotel, one of the best I have stayed in. The king suite was absolutely beautiful, and would stay there again. Rooms are quiet, a little noisy when people are in the hallway, nothing you can't overlook though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Kindra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The stay that I have encountered has been good. The food can be better, but other than that, it's a very nice place to relax. The ppol is a very nice pool and I like the fact that it has two pools. Most nice hotels these days still only have an outside pool. The gym is very nice and clean and is near the gym. The casino is ok. Nothing that great, but I have won here a few times. I usually stay here for business, but I have been here with the family and the kids love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing