We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is really a casino with a hotel attached - Not really a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“It is really a casino with a hotel attached - Not really a resort”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over the thanksgiving holiday. We booked this through a popular travel site and the room rate we got was very reasonable compared to other Santa Fe hotels. Keep in mind this is 12 miles North of Santa Fe. It is a modern hotel with a casino attached to it. A golf course, outdoor and indoor pool. Indoor pool is small. The outdoor pool was closed but looked very nice. View from our room was of the golf course. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant. The hotel still charges for internet access - I find this very annoying!!! Check-in was easy and quick. Checkout also. The casino allows smoking so, if you are a non-smoker it can get a bit hard to deal with. There is a small non-smoking room with a few slots and other gaming machines. We ate at the Micah Restaurant and the Deli. Both experiences were not good ones so we did not repeat. There was a Buffet Restaurant but we did not try it. Parking was an issue. There is not enough parking for hotel guests forcing you to park in the casino parking lot and walk through the casino to get to your room. Very Annoying!!! ...or you could pay for valet parking. The hotel is a good location to to hit most of the sites north and west of Sante Fe. I would prefer to give this hotel a 4.0 if it were not for the detractors of poor food,not enough hotel parkin and really nothing to do that is resort like except the casino. There is a Spa. We did not check this out though. This hotel was an overall very good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    641
    307
    130
    85
See reviews for
539
988
77
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Buffalo Thunder for three nights over the Thanksgiving Holiday. We were delighted with the price we got for our stay and found it to be of very good value. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable even though the walls were somewhat thin. When, on our second night, the people next door were getting a little loud and we complained to Ben at the Front Desk, he immediately offered to move us to another, similar room. We accepted the offer. We slept so well --- the beds were sooooo comfortable. Thanks so much Ben! My husband and I had a fabulous time in Santa Fe and also went out of our way to explore the other hotels there and decided that we were very pleased we had booked at the Hilton Buffalo Thunder rather than in downtown Santa Fe. The 15 minute drive was delightful, scenic and uncomplicated. The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful as were the staff at the Nambe Falls gasoline station and convenience store (great coffee place there) right next door to the Hilton. We didn't dine at any of the hotel restaurants so we can't comment. However, overall, we had a great time in Santa Fe and a very nice stay at the Hilton Buffalo Thunder.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CMSchmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Hotel is nice and Clean. However the Restaurants have very poor service and below average food. The Turquoise Trail the service was so bad we waited and hour for are food. Which we where told was waiting for fries. When we did get are food it was all cold. We call the Manger over to complain & he really didn't care and ask us to leave. The Painted Parrot Buffet the food was just awful. The pizza was alright. Pueblo Deli was OK nothing to write about though. The Mica had a good breakfast and good service. The gold course is fair but way over priced. The casino is a rip. Stay away. Maybe 1-100 will win something.

Room Tip: Stay in downtown Santa Fe or eat some where else if you do stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djraid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTRHiltonManager, Director of Rooms Operations at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Your experience at our food and beverage facilities is far below our expectations, and I can assure you that we are working to resolve them. We have recently hired a new Chef that is dedicated to the Painted Parrott Buffet, who will be working diligently to ensure that the highest quality of food and variety of choices are made available to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

From the approach to the hotel I was excited--it LOOKS like it will be a fabulous stay. BUT, once you get through the door, the disappointments begin. Customer service is almost non-existent (staff pays no attention to you; had to practically beg someone to stow our bags while we waited for room to be available), the business Center is a joke (couldn't send a fax & no one around to assist--finally gave up), and the rooms are pretty cheesy (had to take dirty globes off bathroom sconces so I could see--lighting is terrible). Food is average. Just a short drive to downtown Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTRHiltonManager, Director of Rooms Operations at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
We regret that we were unable to live up to your expectations, and hope that you will give us the opportunity to make it right in the future. We are in the process of implementing a new self service business center solution that is more user friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The best part was that the rooms at the hotel were big (for hotels) and had a balcony. They were very clean. Front desk staff was great. The gym was large with a few weight machines and 7 or 8 cardio machines. There was room for more machines, but it worked. The outdoor pool was closed but there is an indoor pool and hot tub, with a locker room to keep your belongings. There is a shuttle that will take you to their sister casino (maybe other places as well).
Now for the bad: I ordered a pepperoni pizza and water from room service. When I called down they asked me for my room number, which I am not used to, as most hotels know when you call (It seems the person delivering the food is also taking the orders). When the food got there my pizza was half pepperoni, half cheese and there was no drink. The service at the bar down in the casino was SUPER slow, even when there weren't very many people there. No alcohol is allowed on the casino floor and they stop serving at midnight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdsuindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Buffalo Thunder Resort was an enjoyable place to stay. My husband was there for a work conference and my son and I were along for a change of scenery! The rooms where comfortable, the lobby was attractive, and the staff were very professional and friendly! We were traveling with our 6 month old son and the staff were friendly toward him, addressing him and offering water for his "sippy cup"! There were always smiles for us as we strolled around the hotel and on the nice paved walking trail on the west side of the golf course. The staff suggested nice day trips and we went to Bandeliers national Park! Also wonderful! The buffet wasn't that great though. Especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WhisperCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cali
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

If your in Northern New Mexico, this place is a must stay or at least visit for dinner! Loved everything about this place except for the price....Priced about the same as San Francisco, but worth it!

Room Tip: The suites are nice and worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yungsav151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,225 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,789 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing