We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, vacation.”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've been to Santa Fe seven or eight times, each time staying somewhere new. I felt that I would eventually find the local charm, coupled with modern amenities, that Santa Fe seemed to promise.

And finally I've found that place. Vanessie is a stone's throw from the Plaza and the wonderful few blocks surrounding it, so its location is just about perfect - and as close to silent as an Inn can get.

The room was comfortable, artfully-decorated, with a vast and comfortable King four-poster. Nothing seemed out of place, and it a log fire was a welcome luxury. In order to sound somewhat objective, I'll note that the semi-outdoor hot tub didn't seem to have seen light this side of the year 2000, but it was fine once we brushed it off a little.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and everything that other reviewers say about the quality of the food and the entertainment is true - it was cheesy, contrived, and awesome fun. The food was excellent, particularly the scallops which were toasted to perfection.

This seems to me like the kind of place that visitors will return to time and again. It has that sense of being a home-away-from-home. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 463 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a Christmas getaway at the Inn at Vanessie and enjoyed beautiful accommodations, good service, a couple of nice happy hours in the piano bar, and the convenience of a very central and walkable location. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jstocktontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Ok so you've come to Santa Fe and you've chosen Inn at Vanessie. Somehow you were able to look past the cheese name, and some of the bad room photos, ( I don't know about all the rooms but my room " The Sioux" was wonderful. Those awful peach colored wall rooms, thank god, were not ours), and you've discovered what a charming hotel it actually is. Cliche or no I prefer my hotels have a more "south-western" name, Black Bear Inn, or something of the like would better suit and draw more customers; Vanessie to me says cheap Italian food…But look past the name seriously... That said, and I say this from experience, there are few better in Santa Fe. I've stayed at The Inn of the Anasazi, La Fonda, Loretto, and.. well, pretty much all of the others, and this is as good as it gets for the most part.. especially for the price... A few miss steps such as too many tables and benches but NO dresser ( I don't hang my sweaters, and because of all the unneeded furniture, we couldn't leave our suit cases in a place were we could access them easily, AGAIN REMOVE THE BENCH AND ROUND TABLE AND PUT IN A DRESSER!!!!(and a full length mirror while you're at it please), the hot water in the sink didn't work, but the shower was fantastic. In-Wall bathroom heater didn't work and floors were freezing, They chopped wood at 8 am for an hour waking us up, but none was delivered to the room creating a sort-of a false economy. ( we invested lack of sleep, but you didn't deliver the wood you keep us awake by chopping). If all rooms don't come with a fire place, be sure to request one that does… You my have to stock your own fireplace, but the charm of it was lovely. You will have to carry your door code with you as there are no keys this, like the lack of a dresser but the addition of tons of useless furniture, was a pain in the behind… However, all of the having been said; Would I stay here again? Perhaps, there are still one or two hotels in the 4 star range I've not tried (already covered the 5 star Anasazi last year and rated it, do check it out) … but when all others have been exhausted? Vanessie would be at the top of the list for a return for sure, Especially if they changed the name to Inn of the …… You fill in the blank.

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid the peach rooms, and get a room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We feel so lucky to have found this Inn. The room was clean and large and tastefully appointed and the manager, Hideko, was welcoming and gracious. The piano bar next door, Vanessies, was a special treat - don't miss a night of music there! We stayed for three nights and extended our stay longer because we hated to leave. Due to an illness we did have to check out early and MaryAnn was a big help to us. All in all, this place made us feel like we were a part of the Santa Fe spirit. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 4 was quiet and very large with a wonderful fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Living in ABQ, we like to spend the night in Santa Fe when we have occasion to go there for dinner. This was to attend a business dinner held there. The room was terrific--a mini suite--and very New Mexican in decor. We welcomed the fireplace on the cold night. Dinner was fantastic and we enjoyed the piano bar before and after dinner. Everyone was very friendly, but the service in the bar was extremely slow for us. They could have had more help there. A nice little breakfast was complimentary, served in the living dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulcineacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late November as only guests both nights. Beautifully decorated in Santa Fe style, but not the cheesy fake Indian you see so much. It was chilly and rainy, but they provide an extra heater to warm up the bathroom (which was very large). Robes, and good toiletries provided; wood-buring kiva with leather chairs made for comfortable cozy lounging. Breakfast served in restaurant (which a friend loves for its lamb dishes at dinner-he is a regular visitor to Santa Fe). Have to say that breakfast could easily be skipped as there are much better options nearby. We would stay again because of proximity to the Plaza and museums, shops, restaurants and the caliber of the rooms.

Room Tip: "Hopi" is large, first floor, accessible and close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I went to Santa Fe for her birthday. I had decided to try a boutique hotel instead of the usual glossy soulless big hotel. The Vanessie was one of my best decisions. My wife and I both loved the place. The rooms were spacious, and in our case had a whole separate sitting area grouped around the wood burning fireplace. We were there in November and really enjoyed the fires.
For a small boutique facility, the common rooms were quite impressive. There is a good-sized restaurant, which is evidently quite popular because it was full most of the nights we were there. Since there are only a few rooms (17 I think) most of the patrons of the restaurant were not guests. In addition, there was a large bar-lounge area, which also attracts locals, with a grand piano. The two nights we went in there was a terrific piano player/singer who did requests, interacted with the audience and was a lot of fun.
The hotel is about three blocks from the beginning of the real downtown area, which is perfect.
If we go back to Santa Fe (and we probably will) we will definitely stay at the Inn at Vanessie

Room Tip: We had room 4, which was very spacious. Excellent temperature control, and on the ground floor. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,530 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 62 in Santa Fe
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,874 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#25 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,133 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $148 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing