We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
houston, tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were only fortunate to stay one night but the room and staff were wonderful. Andrew was a great help in answering many of our questions and was able to lead us to a perfect place to hike. This hotel is perfectly located to visit the plaza and the rail yard. I highly recommend it and next time I'm in Santa Fe, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paint246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    99
    33
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
252
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our upstairs king bed room in the adobe building of the Inn. I had requested a "bright", airy room and our request was accommodated. From the entrance of our room with complimentary water bottles, teas, etc., to the luxury linens, towels and toiletries, I knew we were going to have a pleasant and comfortable stay. The adobe building at the Inn houses 3 rooms and the walls, ceilings and bathrooms (ours had a walk-in open shower) are wonderful. A quaint fireplace in the corner as well (that we didn't need in August), and our corner room lended itself to plenty of sunlight and windows. Loved it. The breakfasts were a generous continental breakfast - no service, but good, simple, food and some variety. The small covered Jacuzzi for guests made for nice, late night soaks with a bottle of wine. Very romantic and great décor throughout.
We kept our windows closed at night to avoid the hours of amateur karaoke singing that seemed to never stop from the restaurant. We dined in the restaurant at the Inn our 2nd night - and I would recommend dining elsewhere. We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night and both nights the place was packed with seniors enjoying karaoke for hours on end. A shame really, as the piano bar player is excellent and it would have been nice to enjoy our meal with the pianist playing and/or even singing instead of listening to so many amateurs one after the other piping out "Memory" etc. while we were dining. My husband and I are in our late 40s and mid-50s, and we were the youngest guests in the restaurant/bar. Go elsewhere for dinner - plenty of great places within close walking distance. It's a shame as the restaurant itself has some lovely attributes and great artwork. Perhaps the karaoke doesn't extend to the weekend nights? One can hope. Now if you love karaoke this is the place for you! You can walk from your room and never have to take a car anywhere during your stay for late night entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the adobe building if you'd like some good character in your room. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

While highly rated, really disappointed. No refill on bottled water, nor shower supplies on a three night stay. Breakfast? Cold eggs and undercooked bacon. Bread is industrial....I really object to a B&B representation when the breakfast is this awful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cfeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent Inn. Located with in walking distance to the Plaza area. The rooms were very clean and perfectly decorated. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great and the dining area was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdodge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had read the reviews on this hotel; all were raving about how comfy the beds were, they were right. The room was very comfortable and clean, nicely appointed and the bathroom was roomy. Staff was very accommodating. We celebrated my wife's birthday with dinner at the piano bar, very memorable. The meal was very good to boot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayWolf0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We initally booked to stay 4 nights. On the first night of our arrival (10:30pm), there was no one at reception so we called the number on the door and spoke to a gentleman who said someone would come in a few moments to give us our key. Well, after 1 hour still no one showed and no one was answering the phone line. So, at 11pm we called another hotel and stayed there for the next 3 nights. We were appalled. But then things changed. The next morning we spoke with Angel (who was expectedly horrified about our experience). The man on the phone misinformed us - the info and keys to our room were in a place we could access but he did not give us this info. We needed a hotel for our last night (as the 2nd hotel didnt have any rooms), so Angel offered us to stay at Vanessie for our last night free of charge. Well, what a bummer we only stayed one night. The courtyard king room was massive with our own private courtyard. Rooms are gorgeously decorated, clean and so comfortable. Parking here was free as well as a complimentary continental breakfast including fresh berries, yougurt, eggs, sausage, two kinds of cereal, fresh juice, coffee, and freshly baked goods. Locale is great...just a 3 block walk to plaza. Next time we are in Santa Fe we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoleamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Walked into the reception area and was greeted, by name by the General Manager of the Inn and the restaurant (Vanessie's). She recalled the last time we dined at Vanessies, and remembered where we worked, what we had talked about... and it was several years ago, before Vanessie's acquired the Inn. This superb level of warmth and friendliness extends to all staff who are caring and exceptional.
The rooms at the Inn are decorated in very chic and comfortable Santa Fe style with beautiful custom fabrics, lovely tiles and in some rooms, artwork as it so happens, by a dear friend of mine. We were in a beautiful small room, Pecos to start, which is gorgeous and outfitted with desk, mini fridge, and leather comfy chair. We then moved to a suite, with large separate sitting area: sofa, easy chair. Desk and work area. Beds are big and comfortable, water is supplied for all guests: you are in the high desert and the Innkeepers provide a printed overview of altitude sickness in every room.
While each room does not have a bathtub, the showers are excellent.
Continental breakfast includes eggs and a side dish. One morning the side dish was potatoes with green chilies that added a NM touch, another AM it was eggs with the most extraordinary applewood smoked bacon Ive ever eaten.
The location is just a short walk from the Plaza, and in the in-room book, the Innkeepers suggest museums and nearby restaurants including Vanessies and others. They really do go out of their way to make sure your visit to Santa Fe and the Inn at Vanessies is all you could want.
BTW: dont forget to bring a swimsuit: there's a hot tub for guests.
I've traveled to Santa Fe close to 50 times over the years for business and personal trips, and I can say that there is now no need for me to try any other inn or hotel.

Why you come to Santa Fe starts at the Inn at Vanessie. There is no reason to stay any place else.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are suite-like with large separate sitting areas in the old section of the Inn, Pecos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing