We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had been in Santa Fe for a post wedding gathering of friends. Had been at another hotel (also fabulous) for 4 nights, and had planned to head up the road, perhaps to CO. But my wife suffered an accident that pretty much forced us to stay put in SF, and also to find a property that would address some mobility issues from the injury, i.e., easy in and out. We found Vanessie on line and loved every aspect: small, intimate and friendly; simple but fine (and uncrowded!) continental breakfast each AM in a gorgeous room; great staff and mgmt, loved chatting w them all; a super room, spacious, brand new, walk right in from the car, luxurious, all amenities; "private" hot tub; and esp the location. To the last point, very convenient to everything, but most properties near the Plaza are. But we come to Santa Fe a good bit and tend to stay on the east side of the Plaza. Being "westward" got us to travel to places we normally wouldn't go, e.g., Guadalupe and Rail Yard areas. And still easy to get to all our other favorite haunts. But seems the location helped us try some new things. But all in all, 4 wonderful nights. Can't say enough good things about how helpful the mgmt were about making my wife's stay awesome. Great place and great folks. Take a trip to the "other" side of the Plaza.

Room Tip: Great variety due to newer and older portions of the property. Just ask the staff for recos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOODIE810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 463 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a beautiful place that is located in walking distance of everything in Santa Fe. It was also quiet and comfortable. The owner check us in, upgraded us and showed us to our room. It is so nice to see that hands on service since that is the way we run our restaurant in Taos. I would highly recommend this place to our customers and friends

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmezeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We checked in on a Saturday afternoon while having a great conversation with the desk clerk who gave us lots of information and left us feeling so welcome. The room was cozy with a fireplace and a "fainting couch" just next to it. We snuggled up in the four poster bed for an early evening of reading in bed.
And, the next morning, we fiddled around until after 10 a.m. when I thought we would have their complimentary breakfast. Alas, we missed the time. No problem. We had the most companionable hostess who brought us everything! Sunny room, great food and such caring made my day!
Highly recommend for a hideaway in fabulous Santa Fe. We walked to the Plaza.

Room Tip: We were very close to the dining room where they have classical music. We could not hear it; we pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Santa Fe and were so glad we picked this Inn. Our Nuevo King room was GORGEOUS!!! Located within easy walking distance of The Plaza, as well as all the area shops and restaurants. We never got in our car except to take a couple of day trips to Bandelier and Chimayo (we recommend both). Jeff and all the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Do not miss dining at Vanessie restaurant! We had dinner there twice during our 5 day stay and it was OUTSTANDING. Our thanks to Jeff and staff for making our stay warm and welcome despite the cold and wind ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My teenage boys and I recently toured New Mexico for 9 days. Inn at Vanessie was the highlight of our trip and our favorite hotel. The boys and I loved the room and how beautifully decorated it was. The location is perfect, the staff was friendly and the room was clean with comfortable beds. We had a wonderful breakfast and enjoyed listening to the dinner piano in their restaurant when we arrived. When we go back to Santa Fe, we will definitely stay at the Inn at Vanessie.

Room Tip: Very accommodating, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588JosephM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My better half and I stay at Vanessie's every time we can while in Santa Fe. The rooms are comfortable with great beds, lovely seating options and either a. fireplace or gas stove. Upgraded linens and towels with great toiletries just make this a wonderful place to stay! We have stayed in four different rooms and we like #1 and #3 the best!

In the morning there is a nice continental breakfast with their own granola...Yum! There restaurant is on site with great food at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The service is what sets the Inn at Vanessie apart. From the moment we arrived until we felt like guests of management and staff. The handled every request we had and were quick with recommendations on dining, art galleries and other activities around town.

The rooms are nicely decorated in old Santa Fe style and very clean. We stayed in the Galisteo room which had a beautiful four poster king size bed, traditional kiva fireplace, and peaceful patio with our own small fountain.

The plaza is a five block walk with the galleries on Canyon Road another four or five blocks beyond that. That was not a problem for my wife and I but guests should be aware of the location.

The onsite restaurant serves a simple breakfast that is included in the room rate and has a great dinner menu. The lounge has interesting live entertainment on the weekends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,526 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,874 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,132 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $147 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing