We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and overrated, but a good location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated, but a good location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our room was nice, though the view of the dirty parking lot with trash blowing about and not picked up put a damper on the suite. The restaurant and bar closed early the night we arrived late and our "complimentary drink tickets" were only good for the day of arrival. We discovered later that the tickets are also only good for selected items, and not any bar drink. The piano bar entertainment was good, but the "in house" amenities (coffee, tea, water) was never prepared or provided. And the water from the tank in the front room of the B&B tasted/smelled like maybe it had been there much too long and was growing something undesireable... The breakfast is not at all unique, tasty, or impressive. Anyway, the location is good, but there are clearly many other B&B's with more amenities, attention to detail, and equally quaint design, with price tags that are lower to much much lower.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJH64831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    99
    33
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
252
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in the Atalaya room. It was very clean and had a fireplace, comfortable bed, ironing board, soft robe, and a wonderful porch and patio. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, and kind. The breakfast was delicious. The staff went over and above to accommodate my needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, secluded Santa Fe getaway, this is the place for you. I've seen several of the rooms and I'm partial to the Galiesto Suite. The rooms are not large, but they are cozy, clean and romantic. When I stay at Vanessie's I feel like I am the only one there. It's location is perfect in terms of walking distance to all of the plaza attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Lets see... The room was sweet and cozy, And the amenities (loved the shampoo & conditioner! where can I buy it?) were good quality --a big plus!
We met all 3 inn keepers, they were all genuinely nice and helpful. Thank u guyz!
They stocked plenty of firewood for our kiva fire place everyday, The hot tub was nice and clean, Breakfast was good (meat, omelets, crumpets, granolas w/ fresh fruits etc..) with fresh strong coffee, And there were plenty of parking for the guests. (they have reserve parking for the inn guests, even when the piano bar is super packed you should be fine..) What else do we need?!
The location was awesome too. short walk to the plaza, funky dive bar around the corner, and at least 3 restaurants (besides vanessie) within 100 or so steps too...
Speaking of restaurants, you MUST check out Bobcat Bites!! little drive but soooo worth it.
Simple, Juicydelish hamburger.. ahhh miss Santa Fe already!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We rented the Galisteo suite, it and the inn location were terrific. We were with in a short walk to the main center of town where great restaurants and shopping were plentiful. We recommend the inn on this alone.

However, the piano bar was a different story we do not recommend the atmosphere there. It appeared to attract quite a few locals who acted as if they resented the tourist. I say this because as we were trying to park one evening, during a break in the performance, we found several standing around smoking and blocking the driveway through to the parking area for the inn. When we asked them to please move, we were "flipped off".

Breakfast was straight out of the southwest portion of a Denny's menu. The inn keeper assured us that the construction noise we heard (power saws and hammers not 30 feet from our private patio) would only be during the hours of 8 am through 8 pm??? No quiet reading in your suite. Of course there was no mention of this prior to or during the booking process. Last but not least we found the inn keeper a little "creepy", she was trying too hard to be our "friend" and came off very insincere and phony. Later, we find a "gratuity" envelope in the suite labeled "for the maid" or "for inn keeper". We found this solicitation for a gratuity for the inn keeper just a little tacky. We hid the tip for the maid where she should easily find it during cleaning.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely, like we said, the room and location were terrific. we would ask about the construction, though.

Room Tip: The rooms with the private patio's are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nchaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had such a lovely stay at Inn at Vanessi's (nee Water Street Inn). The Teseque was lovely with a small garden area with Stone Forest fountain and kiva fireplace. The food was very good, the piano bar a hoot, and the kindest, most thoughtful and attentive staff around. It is a convenient walk to the Plaza.

We have a beautiful, restored historic adobe casita off Canyon Road, but we had guests staying there. So we stayed at Vanessi (Water Street) for a weekend concert at the Santa Fe Opera. Should we every have to stay somewhere other than our own casita, it will be at Vanessi, and we will put any overflow guests there as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandersnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Water Street Inn which is now called the Inn at Vanessie. We stayed in the Atalaya Suite which is very nice with fantastic details. A very charming and clean room. We took our two French Bulldogs that loved the fact they could go out on the patio and also watch guests go by looking out the windows in the front door. While the water features do an excellent job of masking noise, we definitely heard a fair amount of noise from both the nearby bar and some other living areas close by. Other small drawbacks are the large parking lot right near the rooms which definitely takes away some of the ambiance and I have had far better breakfasts at other B&B's. The food is good quality it is just limited in its options. I think they could include bacon/sausage or some other meat because being on vacation, its all about keeping the cholesterol count as high as possible, no? You also eat breakfast in the huge expanse of the Vanessie restaurant and bar area. Quaint is not what comes to mind and the smell of beer/other items from the night before is oft putting when you first awake. This being said, I did enjoy my stay there. The location is great with the plaza and rail yard nearby. I would consider staying here again but would not say I loved it.

Room Tip: Looking into some of the other rooms they all looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing