We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location. hospitable staff!”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great location. hospitable staff!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

the location is excellent. It's about two blocks away from the activities, which we appreciated. We had a minor maintenance issue and the staff worked diligently to repair it. Breakfast was drop-in, so it was convenient for whatever our schedule might be. good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolMemphis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    103
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
51
261
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Water Street for our honeymoon in late June. Daisy, Maddie and her staff were very friendly and offered great suggestions for shopping, dinners, etc. It was a short trip but we made the most of it.
The rooms were well appointed, with comfortable beds and bathrooms. Nice robes and towels. We stayed in Room 1, which has a small patio off it, which was nice. It was convenient to parking and a "lobby" sort of room which had coffee, reading, CD's and DVD's for the borrowing. We didn't do too much reading or movie watching, as I mentioned, we were on our honeymoon! ;)
Upon arrival, we were given some vouchers for wine and dinner discounts at the restaurant next door. It would have been nice to have been able to take the wine back to the room while getting ready for dinner, but their liquor license doesn't allow. Minor detail.
Breakfast was simple but tasty. A quiche or other hot entree, pastries, cereal, oatmeal and fresh fruit with cream or yogurt. And good conversation with staff and other guests.
The location has private parking, which was helpful. Right on the edge of the plaza, so we were conveniently located.
Many thanks to Daisy for a wonderful stay. It was nice to get to know you and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 1. Ground floor with a little private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We made a one-night stop at the inn on the way to Colorado. From the moment we were welcomed by Hideko (the gen'l mgr) we felt very comfortable. The room added to the comfort: nice decor, a great bed, club chair, and nice air flow, too. Our dog was even greeted and welcomed! Our late arrival was not a a problem - key and other info was waiting for us. We were invited to 'Vanisse' (the adjoining restaurant) and enjoyed some superb appetizers and jazz standards (Al Rogers Trio - outstanding). Even our server there, Grace, treated us with charm and friendliness. In the morning Tamara (innkeeper) was even nice enough to let me take a carafe of coffee from the restaurant up to my wife in the room. The breakfast quiche was quite good - the canadian bacon was jerky by the time we ate it, but the scone, fresh fruit, and granola more than made up for it. We've already recommended WSI to my sister in Colorado, and hope she'll visit soon. We would definitely go back if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glaw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I first stayed at the Waterstreet Inn two weeks after 9/11 and I have been staying there, and only there, ever since. My boyfriend and I just spent two nights there in May to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in Room 4, which was ok, but the late night music noise from the bar or restaurant (not Vanessie) behind the Waterstreet Inn was so loud that not even ear plugs, alcohol and Sominex would do the trick. Something really needs to be done about this. I had never encountered this music noise on my past visits and won't be back until the problem is resolved. When you spend that much money a night, you should have a wonderful experience without the disruption of loud music. There were also noisy people in the room above ours who decided to party until 4:00 am. Then we were awaken by 2 male guests sitting outside our room at 6:00 am. They were loudly talking at each other and smoking cigarettes. I had to ask them to go to their room but first pick up the numerous cigarette butts they had discarded on the patio. Here it was my birthday and we were quiet and respectful of other guests. I do miss the days when Mindy Mills was the innkeeper, but Tamara still works there part-time so it was so nice to see her smiling face. I also miss breakfasts in the kitchen and happy hours on the deck. Both are now held at Vanessie. Though breakfast and happy hour are still good, the atmosphere is missing, but it was good to visit with Tamara. I really pondered about writing this review but feel anyone who is thinking about staying at the Waterstreet Inn needs to be aware of the loud music issue. We were there on a weekend, so maybe it's only a weekend problem. We stayed there in Oct. 2010 and didn't have any loud music to worry about and is why we chose to stay there in May. Hopefully this problem will be resolved because the location is great. We were also told there will be some remodeling or demolition of the Waterstreet Inn's kitchen on the 2nd floor. Don't know when or what that noise will be like so you might want to ask.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Love this Inn! The rooms are very comfortable and authentic. Have stayed several times for girls weekends. Much better experience than staying in a chain hotel. The location is walking distance to the Plaza (5 minutes), but far enough away to feel relaxed. Stayed in the Galisteo Room this time and loved it. Vanessie piano bar is next to Inn but doesn't get noisy. The Tin Star Saloon is close by and that does get a little noisy on the weekends when live bands are playing til midnite. But the sound of the water fountains outside our room were soothing. Very low key place to stay.

Room Tip: Watch for online specials on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyR33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We intended to stay four nights, but because of the excellent location, friendly service, great breakfasts, wonderful happy hour and access to a varied range of live music, we extended our stay for three extra nights. We would certainly put this inn at the top of our list when returning to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ND12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our room was not only clean and comfortable but romantic, as well. We were provided with wood for the fireplace in our room with our canopied bed. Breakfast was a full cooked breakfast including blueberry blintzes! Our Standard Poodle was also allowed to stay with us. Great location in downtown Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,070 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,802 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing