We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome Stay”
Review of AdobeStar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AdobeStar Inn
Ranked #30 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The AdobeStar and Adobe Abode are right across the street from each other and about a 10 minute walk to the plaza (AWESOME LOCATION!). We stayed in the Black Mesa room which was a separate building behind the main house. The room was great and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, though not large, had a very nice shower. Another person wrote that the air conditioner was noisy, but we found that it reminded us of our ceiling fan at home. We were thankful to have it since it was almost 100 degrees during our stay. When we arrived, we were a little unsure about parking and there were no innkeepers present, but I called the number on our confirmation and was immediately called back. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and brought home two recipes to try. We were there during the week and the entire place was very quite. It was only us and two other couples in both inns so on two mornings we met at one inn to have breakfast together. We found both of the cooks - Nelly and Una to be very friendly and helpful. My thought is that this B&B is probably under new ownership and they are working to make it successful. We would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for AdobeStar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

Nice, quiet, comfortable bed and breakfast within easy walking distance of the convention center and areas around the Plaza, but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The breakfasts were delicious and filling and the staff very friendly. We stayed in the Hacienda Grande which had a kitchen. Though not overly stocked with kitchen accessories, it was adequate for the cooking we did in the evenings. The mattress was okay, but could've been a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I travelled to Santa Fe with my mother-in-law and booked two rooms....the Black Mesa and the True Grit. This property has some positives and some negatives.
Great location...only a couple blocks off the Plaza. The rooms themselves are quite varied in their quality. The Black Mesa is a nice quiet room off the back courtyard with a nice flat screen TV, a nicely renovated, but small bathroom and air conditioning that worked well but was noisy. The True Grit was uninhabitable, in our opinion. The room had a TV the size of a Blackberry screen, A/C that did not function well and probably contributed to an undesirable smell; so much so that we moved my mother-in-law to a room at their sister property, Adobe Abode, across the street. Kudos to the owner for accomodating this request. The owner(s) seen to operate this property on a "remote control basis"; i.e., they are not onsite, so you are basically on your own to check in, retrieve your keys, etc. No big deal, but this should be noted. Although, we had a nice TV in our room, the channel selection was very limited. The B&B style breakfast was good, but not served until 830am.

My general conclusion with the Adobe Star is that the property is a work in progress that with some love and attention from the new owners will probably improve over time. In the meanwhile, we are unlikely to return given the inconsistent quality of the property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The room we were in(Black Mesa) was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was enjoyable with other guests from various locales. Una is a great cook and a good resource for things around Santa Fe. The location is very close to the Plaza and to most restaurants in the downtown area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwilloww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Friendly service and info regarding the area. Great breakfasts. Within walking distance to Plaza and so many of the galleries.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdbrbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Adobe star is a true gem! The rooms are absolutely charming, comfortable and quiet. It was so nice to kick back, enjoy the fireplace and relax in our room after a day of skiing. We loved our stay and recommend it very highly. We can't wait to come again next year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Excellent location, nice cozy rooms and delicious breakfasts to start your day; tea and cookies available all day. Whether you choose to walk all over Santa Fe or drive out on an adventure, the location is convenient and quiet. My friend and I had rooms in the main house, but if you choose there are casitas avaiable that are lovely and private. If you want a hotel-room service-fitness/spa experience this is not for you! If you like mellow, quite and calming cozy, it is!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellowTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
893 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,081 reviews
Otra Vez
#2 of 2 in Pojoaque
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxx Hotel
Luxx Hotel
#18 of 36 in Santa Fe
319 reviews
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 23 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Downtown
Antigua Inn
Antigua Inn
#20 of 36 in Santa Fe
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AdobeStar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AdobeStar Inn

Address: 222 McKenzie St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1831 (Formerly Spencer House)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing