We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great, but it's not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Could be great, but it's not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

This hotel has nicely furnished rooms, quiet, spacious and well arranged. It also offers comfy beds, cable (with poor reception), free parking, a fine location (walking distance from the Plaza) and very reasonable rates for Santa Fe. It has some nice touches, like the little chile peppers here and there in the room. In the room you also find snacks and water-they are not included in your rate, and the water is superfluous (tap water is fine), but if you get the munchies when it's late it's nice not to have to get out. There is no in-room service.
This place has 2 big problems. One is a pet peeve of mine: we pick a hotel because it advertises wireless Internet service, and then once we are there we find out that it has none (and staff is generally clueless about why it's advertised or why it doesn't work). This has happened to me 3 times this year, and it's getting on my nerves, so I decided to just knock a star off for this reason.
The second problem has to do with breakfast. Included in the rate is a hot breakfast, which is good. You get a 30 minute slot, during which you are supposed to help yourself in very cramped locales in which one is always on the point of bumping into someone else and spilling on, or being spilled upon. Not a nice way to start the morning, especially if you are on vacation and would like to linger over breakfast. Since the slots are limited, you may want to have breakfast between 8 and 8.30 and you may be told "sorry we are full." I guess if you overstay your slot they tell you to leave-no one was told to leave while we were there.
The tables in the otherwise lovely patio are extremely unstable and have an uneven surface. I put my coffee mug down, and ended up spilling hot coffee on my spouse's feet. Fortunately most of it ended up on the floor, but he could have gotten burned. Unless this place is waiting for a repeat of the famous "McDonald spilled hot coffee" lawsuit, it'd better rethink its breakfast arrangements. Meanwhile we will stay somewhere else when in Santa Fe. Too bad, for an otherwise fine lodging.

  • Liked — Nice and comfy room, location, reasonable rates
  • Disliked — No wireless, unpleasant breakfast accommodation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    190
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
134
364
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago,il
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

Our daughters met us in Santa Fe in the middle of a road trip. Our hotel was booked so the desk clerk called over here. Not only did they give my girls a great rate, but they treated them like family. The rooms were small but very efficient. There was a small kitchen and sitting area for those who wanted it. Breakfast was included with eggs made to order and organic oatmeal that was delicious my daughter said. The breakfast area was small so you had to let them know the approximate time you though you wanted to eat. The beds were comfortable and the motel was very clean. You could walk from there to the sites, although it was a long walk. We would stay there if we returned again.

  • Liked — their willing to accomadate
  • Disliked — the parking lot- it was tight
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank radman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was a nice property and the location is good as well. The people working at the property are friendly. The breakfast was delicious and coffee awesome. We had a room with two queen beds and a mini kitchen. The room was too small for the three of us (hubby, my son & I). The mini kitchen although adequate, we never used and I wished I hadn't payed extra for it. The room was clean. The bathroom was small and aging.
The TV did not work well, the reception was very poor. When I asked the front desk about this, they told me someone was possibly working on the lines in the area. Well, they would have been working on them around the clock as the TV reception was always bad. They never offered to come look at it to see if it could be fixed. The lock on our door did not work well and we experiened difficulty in locking our door. We mentioned this when we left, so hopefully they fixed this. This property is about a 15 min walk to the square. Would we stay there again? If it was just the two of us, probably, but not with three of us. We barely had anywhere to put all our luggage. We payed approx $130 a night so I guess this is pretty good for Santa Fe, although I would probably pay a little more and stay on the square or a little less and drive in to the square next time.

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — no elevator, steep stairs & wi-fi did not work
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

It was a girl’s weekend in Santa Fe and we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the square. I read a review on Trip Advisor and from the description booked rooms in the motel right away. We were not disappointed. The hotel is 5 blocks from the square
and is a 15 minute walk. This was advantageous because parking on the square is horrible and costly. The rooms were clean and bright and each of the three rooms we all stayed in had a different color. There was wi-fi and a coffee maker. The shower was small and a bit dated.

The room also came with a brunch and every morning we enjoyed talking
with new guests and the kitchen staff. Breakfast included choices of eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, OJ, and coffee. There was an outdoor fire place that was lit and was nice to sit by and chat.

We toured the one of the four rooms in the Inn portion. The one which
we viewed was a small adobe one room suite. It had tiled floors with south western design. The room was larger than the motel room and had a small seating area outside. I think there was a small fridge as well.

Overall, the people who worked there are nice people and had great restaurant recommendations. They were very accommodating. I forgot to
mention, when we came in late, the person at the desk went to our rooms to turn on the heater. Nice touch!

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, and breakfast
  • Disliked — Dated shower and no bathtub
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2007

We stayed here for two nights on April 18th & 19th, Two couples. Our rooms were #1 & #7 very nice. both rooms would have worked very well for a longer stay. Both rooms have small kitchenette's that are well equipped to prepare snacks and light meals if so desired. The grounds are very nice and the breakfast was great, although the seating area inside is a bit small they also have wonderful outside seating with a Kiva fireplace. the check in went well and the desk person was helpful. I think this place was a good value for the location our rate was $136.40 per night, We will stay here again on our next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Liked — The grounds and flowers
  • Disliked — Lights in room hard to read by
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WAIDMANNSLUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms vary alot, we had room #14, a lovely suite with lounge, kitchen and a huge sun terrace outside. This was nicer than my parents Casita which was smaller and dark. The breakfast is very nice, we ate ours outside by the fire. Location is excellent, a short walk to the Plaza. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Was good value for Santa Fe. At nightime you can go next door to the Hotel Santa Fe to listen to the live Indian music.

  • Liked — Lovely room, location
  • Disliked — Casita
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

Very nice clean place to stay. Rooms were decorated very nice and were your aveage size. The staff was very friendly and offered all their guest a nice breakfast in the morning, I like this location because it only a few minutes from finding a parking spot at the Plaza. Would consider staying here again some day when back in the area.

  • Liked — Locatin
  • Disliked — sort of busy road at times to pull out on when exiting from hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Motel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Property: Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Address: 510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2665
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Fe Motel and Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location, Great Value. A charming Motel and Inn with traditional southwestern style. Just a short stroll to the historic Plaza, the exciting Railyard area as well as being convenient to many popular shops and top restaurants.. We also serve a highly regarded complimentary full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Fe Motel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing