We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a casita”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not a casita”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First of all, we have an overall very good experience. Our only gripe was we were offered "casitas" and chose a "casita" and were disappointed that it was a one room plus bathroom. We have stayed in "casitas" multiple times previously in santa fe and our understanding is "casita" means bedroom plus sitting room.

Breakfast was exceptional for the price and included green chile, eggs, super tasty fruit - canelope, pineapple, etc. and staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    194
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
138
377
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Santa Fe, assuming you'd like a home-y, cosy experience. It's def not a "luxury" stay, but it provides the comfortable amenities and great price for the area. The rooms are clean and sparse, but do the job with comfy beds and nice views. The staff are friendly, helpful and kind!

The only cons I will include are that when we arrived to our room (it's freezing out) the heat wasn't on, and that would have been nice, upon our arrival, to have the room warmed for us. We booked a cottage (casita) and I made the mistake of assuming they were stand alone buildings, but they are actually attached to other cottages (shared walls) and at times we could hear the people next to us. It wasn't a real problem...but maybe for super sensitive ears. Breakfast can be a bit crowded, but is tasty...try to get a seat by the fireplace, if you can.

Room Tip: Seems like top floor or casita (cottage) is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

For the combination of price and location, the Santa Fe Motel and Inn works well. I booked a casita after reading reviews that the rooms were larger than in the motel portion. For a family of four, the casita was tiny. The two queen beds take most of the space, and there really isn't room for luggage. The door is glass, but that is the only daylight coming into the room. There isn't a window.
The positives are that the staff are super nice, the breakfast is really good and filling, and it's easy to walk to every place in the city center from the motel. Don't miss the freshly made cinnamon rolls--they are great but go fast.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Find out just how large the room you are trying to book is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was truly a wonderful experience. Rooms were quaint and very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb with fresh fruit and tasty breads and all delivered with a smile. Where else can you have breakfast in front of a warm fireplace. Very close to the Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place felt like home. The price was better than competitive since it included a wonderful hot breakfast with many options. You choose a breakfast time, so there is always a seat and plenty of fresh food. The staff hospitality was the best I'd seen and I've been to Santa Fe several times.
We stayed in a Casita and loved it! The Casita: decor was southwestern, it was clean, comfortable bed, large closet, a kiva fireplace WITH firewood, large mini fridge (so nice) hooks for jackets, and the Wifi worked great.
We had a cozy private sitting area in front of our room. You're near a main road, but it's still quiet. It took us 10-15 minutes to walk to the Plaza, very doable. The farmers market is also within walking distance and not to be missed. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelBelle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TACOMA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights here in November, 2013, and we have nothing but good things to say about the establishment and staff. It was quiet, clean, comfortable. The breakfast was always very good. What put it ahead of other small motels was the staff. Every staff member we met was helpful and competent, but, better yet, they were always cheerful and seemed genuinely happy that we were staying with them. When we return to the Santa Fe area we will first look for a room at the Santa Fe Motel, and if it is full we would change our schedule, if possible, to get a room there. It is just a few minutes walk from the Plaza and close to the farmers market.

Room Tip: We had room #1. Because it is closest to the road I thought it might be noisy, but it wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultralightflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had to leave Garret Desert Inn (don't go!) because of various things not working and charge for parking - looked online for another affordable place and found this little place - nice cozy room and friendly staff, free parking, good free WiFi and close to downtown.
Didn't have breakfast yet - but have a good feeling!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilachSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,584 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,296 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,605 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,246 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Motel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Property: Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Address: 510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2665
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Fe Motel and Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location, Great Value. A charming Motel and Inn with traditional southwestern style. Just a short stroll to the historic Plaza, the exciting Railyard area as well as being convenient to many popular shops and top restaurants.. We also serve a highly regarded complimentary full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Fe Motel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing