We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice campground with very clean facilities, staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Despite being close to the road and having plenty of big RV sites, the layout and gravel roads give it a quiet and almost rustic feel. The small but clean pool is a good place to cool down on a hot day.
Little shop for some basic supplies, big supermarket only a short drive away. Santa Fe plaza also within a short drive.

The only 'negative' point: It can be hard to spot the campground entrance from the road, 'couse the sign is almost invisible once the trees are green.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YerBruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    14
    13
    14
See reviews for
40
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don't know how our kids "found" this place, but we are delighted they did. We converged upon Rancheros de Santa Fe from Mississippi, Texas, and New Mexico. My husband and I rented a cabin (brought our own fan for circulating the air a bit--which was very helpful)--and we requested one nearest the restroom facilities (yup--that worked out great, too). Everything was clean, but a woman using a high-powered hair dryer blew out the fuse in the restroom--no more hair dryer usage for anyone! Campers and staff were very friendly. Pets were on leashes and not a problem for anyone. We would go there again. Fire pit was perfect for chatting and roasting marshmallows in the cool evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground is a nice campground with clean facilities in a good location to Santa Fe. We only stayed one night but found everything to be in good, clean order. The sites were nicely shaded with full hook ups. We used the laundry as well as the bathrooms and both were very clean. They offered WiFi that we also used and worked pretty good. All in all, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th long weekend. We thought the campground was great and the staff was even better. We were right beside the pool and across from the store and the bathroom. Even though we backed up towards the highway, we never heard any traffic. The bathroom was always very clean anytime I went in there - which is important to me even if we are camping. The pool was also very clean - although very cold. My kids didn't really mind though. I liked that they offered a movie in their "theatre" each night. There was a decent walking path around the campground - not too long but it was still fine. I thought that there were a lot of great sites for campers of all kinds (huge rigs/5th wheels, trailers and tents) mixed in amongst the trees. The location is about 10 minutes southeast of Santa Fe (either on I25 or the Old Las Vegas Hwy). The only thing that I would mention that is a little on the negative side is the fact that there was really nothing separating our site from the people next to us. Not really a big deal since their motorhome opened on the other side - but some sort of treed divider would have been nice. This seemed to only be the case for the sites that were all in a row - where we were. The ones scattered around the campsite were more separate. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling around Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Close to the pool if that's what you like but maybe not right next to it. If you are in a tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levelland, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rancheros de Santa Fe tops my list of one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever used. During this trip we opted to tent camp, but chose to have power and water as well. We treked to the restroom many times. Without fail it was clean and in well-working order. The terrain was extremely well kept and enjoyable. The one downfall this place has is its employee, Bob. He was by far the rudest, most hateful person I have ever come in contact with. We encountered bad weather coming in to Santa Fe, which delayed our arrival. We were attempting to set up camp after dark as quietly as possible. No one was remotely close to our site other than the employee's RVs. AT 10:05 he stomped to our site literally yelling at us that it was now quiet time and we had to be silent. He was FAR louder than we were. He came to our site again a few nights later accusing us of violating the burn ban, which we were not. Once again, he was irate, rude, and frankly just scary, waving his arms wildly and yelling at the top of his lungs. He sat in a chair in front of his RV and watched us for at least an hour. (no kidding) I was frightened for our safety due to this employee. This was our second time at this campground, but we will NOT return as long as they employee such a person. You're only as good as your worst employee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I_correct_grammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were booked in for 3 nights, but the first night was a killer. Early June and already it was hot. The cabin had a heater, but naturally, it's a cabin, so don't expect AC. We stayed one night and went to the Santa Fe Suites the next night. The cabins were tidy. Double bunk beds means the cabin can accommodate for up to two couples. There are insect screens on the doors and windows. Our cabin was up the back and situated quite a distance from the bathrooms, but all amenities were there (such as toilet, shower and sink for washing dishes).
They had laundry facilities on site but we never used them as we left early. They also had an outdoor pool and a small theater which plays a movie each night, but we didn't utilize these. All in all, for Santa Fe, it's probably a good deal, but it was an unbearable night for two adults and a small child. We purchased a fan for the night to get the air circulating. The staff were super-friendly and I would recommend if you're using an RV or something that has AC or stay earlier or later in the season. I don't recommend the cabins because it's simply too hot. It was quiet, despite the locations of the units being so close to each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Howl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very large RV park. It has room for any size RV - big or small - with lots of pull throughs. There are full hook-ups as well as water & electric only AND tent sites as well as cabins. Mostly gravel and most are quite level. The restrooms are clean - 4 shower stalls in men's and women's that work well. My only complaint here is ... how much can it cost to add a few more hooks in there??
You're a way from Santa Fe here ... about 15 minute drive on the old road ... a bit faster on Hwy #25. You can hear a bit of road noise but it seems to quiet down at night. A bonus ... the wi-fi actually works well! This is unusual so we really appreciated it. Reasonably priced around $30+/- and a Good Sam park as well. Quiet ... could hear coyotes at night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
472 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,237 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
600 reviews
Sunrise Springs Spa Resort
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
127 reviews
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground

Property: Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground
Address: 736 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Exit 290 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505-1409
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Fe, New Mexico's most scenic RV resort and campground. Country camping with full amenities, only minutes from Old Town Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancheros De Santa Fe Campground Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing