We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My children and I just returned from 5 days of snowboarding and we cannot rave enough about Hotel Plaza Real. The staff, Mike and Rachel could not have been more friendly and accommodating from helping with us with restaurant reservations to prepaying for a taxi when we needed a ride back from Santa Fe Ski Basin. The hotel is situated 2 minutes from the square and in walking distance from almost all of the finest restaurants in Santa Fe. The rooms are a bit dated and there is no restaurant however I was told the hotel will be undergoing some renovations in the next few weeks and a restaurant will be a welcome addition. This hotel is Santa Fe's best kept secret, terrific service, amazing location, small price!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattiLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 903 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for New Year's Eve 2010. Room was a suite with couch and wood fireplace in one room and bed (great mattress!) in the other. TVs were outdated but we were out all night so did not care. No WiFi that they advertised. Clean rooms and bathroom. Room rate was high but average for Santa Fe. Convenient site for getting around the Plaza. Fireplace is a nice add. Will definitely being coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_iqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Hotel Plaza Real is a really wonderful place to stay in Santa Fe. It is 1/2 a block from the famous Plaza where you can shop until you drop and near some of the best restaurants Santa Fe has to offer. The hotel's manager (Mike) was extremely friendly and recommended some great places to eat since my wife and I were first time (definitely not last) visitors. The evening staff were also really nice when they came to our room to light our fire place. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the bath amenities (Sister Sky-sweet grass scent) could surely stand up to Aveda products. Just ask my wife if she like the lotion.

My all time favorite memory of the HPR, is the warm and fragrant scent of pinion wood buring in the lobby's fireplace. Gosh, when do we go back?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Conveniently located in the heart of Sante Fe and about 1/2 mile from Canyon Road, the Plaza Real stands out immediately upon entering the lobby. If you are looking for the slick, trendy elegance of the W, this hotel is probably not for you. However, if stepping back in time through architecture that blends perfectly with the surroundings, offers a cozy warm ambiance and is managed by a staff that comes across as family is your aim; then the Plaza Real is an excellent choice.

The rooms, which line a beautiful court yard and are accessible by walkup above the first floor, are comfortable and offer a separate sitting area as well as a wet bar with refrigerator. There is a fire place in the sitting area along with a comfortable sofa and writing desk. The sleeping area which is offset from the sitting room is very comfortable and contains a large exceptionally comfortable bed. The bathroom as well as the remainder of the room was clean and well maintained. Free WiFi is available in the room as well as in the lobby and the lounge.

The staff truly stands out as exceptional. Most respectable hotels can claim competent and well trained, polite staff, but the team at the Plaza Real had that certain something that is hard to put into words. Although I had just met them upon registration I felt like I knew these folks for a long time. They were not only extremely knowledgeable, but genuine and always there to help or offer a suggestion when an inquiry required such. A staff member will come to your room and start a live fire in the fire place within a short period after you make a request with the front desk. I just can't say enough good things about this team.

I live in a heavily populated island off the Northeast Coast of the USA and am used to applying a somewhat calloused and critical criteria to hotel evaluation. In my opinion many hotels are grossly overpriced, and leave a lot left to be desired for your travel dollar. In contrast I'm extremely pleased to serve up such a positive review for the Plaza Real, not only because it is well deserved but because my spouse and I spent Christmas here and it has turned out to be an absolutely wonderful memory.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gablack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I chose the Hotel Plaza Real for my Christmas get-away. I made the right choice. The Staff, [especially Rachel and Michael] was extremely cordial and made every attempt to accommodate my requests. The location was perfect for my needs. My room was very spacious and quiet and the fireplace in my living room was a real treat. I will surely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DOR774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!
The hotel staff was the friendliest, most genuine group of folks you could hope for.
Located 5 mins from town center, quiet and convenient location, and free shuttle.
We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and a king size sleep number bed and slept great.
Big Smiles. We'll be back!
-Joe & Connie in NC

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeandConnie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We've stayed here many, many times because of the great location within walking distance of almost everything downtown and the ample free parking. Rooms are nice sized and clean, and the staff are very helpful. I wish they would remodel the rooms to update them and make them less dark. I wouldn't hesitate to continue to stay there, but the rooms could use a facelift.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art-n-stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Thanks for your feedback as it is the only way we can improve. While we have a strong reputation for outstanding service and location, we will utilize your comments as we prepare to update our guest rooms in 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,110 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,424 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,849 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $147 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing