We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Santa Fe Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is charming, clean, comfortable and just steps away from the plaza and outstanding restaurants. It's also very reasonably priced for its location and atmosphere, including large rooms, many with balconies, and a lovely court yard. The staff is so accommodating. We brought kayaks on our roof so we couldn't fit in the underground parking. With street parking nonexistent due to Zozobra, the staff made special arrangements for our boats. Thanks Anthony, Jordan, and Carlos. This is definitely our favorite hotel in Santa Fe.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Amy S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am very glad you enjoyed the accommodations and found one of our great price options! We really want to make sure all of our guests needs are taken care of so even though storing large objects is not something we normally do, I am so glad to hear we found a good solution for you. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Thanks you,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 897 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

My sister-in-law and I visit Santa Fe every year, and this hotel is the only place we will ever stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are luxurious but not overly expensive, and the location can't be beat. We absolutely love this hotel and can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Angelasnapp,
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments! We are very pleased to have you as our loyal guests, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The location of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe can't be beat! The staff are very friendly, the rooms clean and well appointed. The ambiance is very nice. The rooms open on to a nice courtyard and are very quiet. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank percyqh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear percyqh55,
Thank you so much for taking the time you review your stay with us! I am very glad you enjoyed your accommodations. We are proud of the costumer service we provide, so I am happy to hear the staff reflected that in their service to you. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

There could not be a better location in Santa Fe. Located in the center of things, you never need use of a car. Actually the traffic congestion is a bit overwhelming, so stay on foot or bike. The staff could not be friendlier, including there affection toward my dog. yes, they allow dogs, with a fee, but nothing outrageous.

My room was on the street level, which I thought would be an issue, but it was not. The only thing was, I could not really open the curtains, as people were walking by. The decor was Santa Fe, as expected. There televisions, well let's just say they were not flat screens. My room entered through a beautiful courtyeard, had a small table and chair, and did have a small living room too. Yes dogs are allowed, however, there was some barking going on. My dog is pretty quiet, but when other dogs start, it was a bit of a drag. This was not an issue in the evening at all though. A few drawbacks: VERY small bathroom and no coffee in am. When I say small bathroom, I mean small for one person.

there is no restaurant, however, a great bar connected and they have a wonderful front porch where you can enjoy food and drink. Additionally, the dog was permitted in both these areas. A huge plus.

I would stay here again! I have stayed at the El Dorardo in the past, and liked this much more! The El Dorado was more of a conventiony type hotel. This was much more enjoyable. I should also mentioned, I used hotels tonight app. to obtain this room at an amazing rate. If your willing to wait until noon the day of stay, it is a great deal. I stayed an extra day, and they gave me the same rate without reserving it again on the site. Very nice.

Room Tip: You may want to stay on an upper floor to enjoy view??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbmissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear jbmissner,
I'm so glad you found the location of our hotel to be convenient for your travel needs. Costumer service is very important to us so we appreciate your feedback and I will address your suggestion immediately. We are currently working on most of the concerns you expressed so the next time you stay with us we hope it exceeds your expectations. We are proudly a dog friendly hotel and I am so glad you found the public areas a nice option to enjoy yourself with your dog! I'm glad you found a good rate and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Thank you,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Chimayo in June for a business trip, and this was my third time staying here. The rooms are not spectacular, but they are spacious and decorated in the spirit of the southwest. It is a great value, especially for State or Federal employees - be sure to ask about the government rate - they honor the US per diem scale, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Katie S.
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. I am glad you were able to utilize our great government rate and that you enjoyed the accommodations. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel was friendly and so were the staff. Nathan, front desk, gave us a complimentary upgraded room and it was amazingly spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Andrew, porter, brought our luggage to our room and was kind and very social. Whenever we asked for assistance the response was quick and helpful. The only items we suggest giving attention are the bathroom faucets and windows.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriepitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Carriepitkin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are currently in the process of replacing the windows and faucets. I am so glad the staff treated you well and that enjoyed the accommodations. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we go to Santa Fe, we stay in town about a week prior to staying at a spa outside the town, to be able to walk to most of the attractions and dine at the downtown restaurants.

This was our first visit to the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe and we were so pleased we will return next year.

We have stayed in many Santa Fe hotels, from the most costly to a few moderately priced ones. Although most have good service, there are things that set this hotel apart.

First, it is the location. You cannot get a better location in Santa Fe. The downtown square steps away.

Second, there is convenient underground parking (complimentary). Santa Fe downtown is one of the most difficult towns to find a place to park, so this is a real amenity.

Third, there is a spacious veranda at the front of the hotel with many comfortable chairs and tables where you can relax and read or enjoy a beverage from the bar. Weather in Santa Fe is unpredictable and, as an example, this year in late July there was a thunderstorm complete with lightening and a downpour of rain: pea sized hail covered the ground. Sitting on the veranda was the perfect place to stay dry and watch the storm pass.

Fourth, there are shuttles that take guests to other areas of town and shuttles to and from the opera. Not all hotels offer this service. ***By the way, do not miss the Santa Fe Opera***

We always stay in DOG FRIENDLY hotels, whether or not we travel with our dogs. This is a DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL. Many in Santa Fe are not.

The staff is friendly and eager to help, from suggestions on places to go, restaurants, etc.

The bar is lively at night, but the music does not reach the rooms. They offer a wide selection of locally brewed beers.

Soon there should be a new restaurant upstairs from the bar, with a patio and a view of downtown.

Rooms are spacious and the decor is the Santa Fe adobe. The beds, linens and pillows are top notch. Note: the tv's do not have a dvd player.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Elevator access is limited in several areas due to the historic structure. There are a few rooms whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Art_lover_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,092 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,392 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,824 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $177 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing