We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great location around the corner from the plaza. Pleasantly surprised and will return again. We were given two rooms; one on the first floor and one on the second floor, connected by an interior staircase.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastingsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hastingsranch,

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am happy that we were able to get you’re your two rooms close together and that you plan on visiting us again for you next visit to Santa Fe. We look forward to having you have at the Hotel Chimayo and Heritage hotels.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    282
    83
    48
    27
See reviews for
133
358
53
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of my favorite hotel stays ever. The Hotel Chimayo is just around the corner from the main downtown plaza. It is easy walking distance to museums, galleries, restaurants, historic buildings. The hotel building is beautiful and all rooms open onto a cobblestoned courtyard decorated with hanging bunches of chilis. Our room was appointed beautifully complete with fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and the room was loaded with every amenity you might need like hair dryer and iron. The front desk personnel recommended The Blue Corn Cafe for dinner, which we really enjoyed for New Mexican cuisine. I will definitely recommend this hotel and return here on my next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear OregonLilac,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad to hear that you have found your new hotel of choice. I am glad that the recommendation for dinner was what you expected and that you found everything to be in walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great location by the Plaza, comfy bed and so cute with all the Rista's hanging off the hotel.
Only spent one night and could of easily stayed for more. The check in process was quick and they were very friendly. Parking is under the hotel and was $14 a night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Polette G,

Thank you for staying with Heritage Hotels and the Hotel Chimayo. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We came across the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe when searching for an affordable, charming, hotel within walking distance to downtown. We found a hidden gem! The hotel made us feel like we were truly in Santa Fe and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The on-site restaurant was "on hiatus" during our March stay - but there are so many withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NL2003Ariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear NL2003Ariz,
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you have found your hotel to stay at when visiting the city different. I look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We've stayed here four times and always enjoy the Chimayo. The staff is friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for the tourist - near the square. The "bar scene" is good and still not too loud to keep you awake in your room. When rooms are discounted, it is a deal. Great decor and many have great space to relax. Parking is extra $$ but under the hotel and easy access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Bruce B,
I want to thank you for your most recent review. I am so glad to hear that you are a many time repeat guest with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. Low and Slow our bar is truly unique to the low rider culture. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We travel with our dogs. We went to the hotel next door to Chimayo and they wanted $50 per dog! I ran next door to Chimayo and they only charge $10!! We decided to give it a try and we were so happy we did. The decor of the whole place is beautiful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about Santa Fe and things to see and do. You can walk to the plaza and shops and restaurants. Our room looked out over a courtyard. This hotel is wonderful and affordable and right in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. They have underground security parking too, which they do charge for and they didn't mention that when we checked in, but that is my only negative thing. Otherwise top notch!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Kathleen,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Or Décor for the hotel is based on the Village of Chimayo and most of all the items found in the lobby and in the rooms come from Chimayo. We pride ourselves on guest service and I am glad to hear that that the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about Santa Fe. I am sorry that you were not told about the $16.00 nightly parking fee. I have made sure to address this will the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chimayo or one of our other Heritage Hotels in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Attentive staff, clean,refurbished rooms, had a delightful 3 night stay for well under the budget of any other hotel we've stayed in SF...one block off Plaza! We'll definatly be back again..jes,Midland, tx

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank joyce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi joyce s,

Thank you so much for taking some time to let us know about your visit to Hotel Chimayo! Our staff prides themselves on making every guest comfortable. We look forward to your return visit!

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing