We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only are coming for the location, ok, but beyond that it was a disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Dated, dated, dated. Needs to redecorate, get the restaurant open, install elevators to all floors, upgrade to flat screen tvs and much more. There was no restaurant and no breakfast included. The coffee pot had no carafe so no coffee. Great way to start the day, huh? Won't go again.

Room Tip: avoid the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YoMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear YoMeyer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do apologize if our services caused any inconveniences. We do understand that with a boutique hotel comes some challenges such as the property layout and the placement of our elevators. Knowing these challenges we do our very best to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and taken care of. If you ever visit Santa Fe again we would like another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. Again, thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 924 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I would recommend this place 100%. Bathrooms are a little tight.
Giant living area with wood burning fire place. Very comfortable, dark
and super quiet sleeping area. So close to everything.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The attached bar area is fun and close but not noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryEllen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Hi Mary!

Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are all glad that you enjoyed your trip to Santa Fe. Our staff takes great pride in the services we are able to provide. We are always looking to our reviews and feedback so that we can continuously learn and improve our services. If you decide to visit Santa Fe again please call us so that we can help you plan your next trip.

Warmest Regards

Adrian V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I had a great experience spending our anniversary trip here! The rooms are spacious and the location can't be beat, steps from everything! The only time we had to drive the car was when we went up into the mountains to hike. And off-street parking in downtown Santa Fe is priceless. We walked everywhere and it was super convenient. The staff are all friendly, especially the front desk people. This is not a luxury hotel. It is older, the bathrooms are small and you are not going to find high-end linens etc. Our water glasses were never replaced and I really was expecting to have a refrigerator in the room. Still, the overall experience was very good and relaxing and I felt like it was an excellent value and an authentic taste of old Santa Fe. The beds must have been pretty comfortable because my husband and I both slept about 10 hours a night every night. Perfect for a relaxing getaway! I would take it over a generic chain any day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge. I just assumed that they must not have them but reading the other rev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieGK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Julie,

I would like to start off by saying how nice it was to meet you and your husband. We are glad that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend. Here at Heritage Hotels and Resorts our goal is to help our guests create positive experiences that will be remembered for a lifetime. If you ever visit Santa Fe please call us so that we can welcome u back.

Again, thanks for taking the time to share your experience

Adrian V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We booked this hotel on all of these rave reviews and I have to wonder if they got a free bag of the local fungi on the way out that is causing them to hallucinate. The room is clean, but this hotel is run-down with broken windows, public walkways bleached white from years of salt and neglect. The furnishings are spartan and the towels are a medium grade of sand paper. The beds are rocks and the rooms are musty. There is a small underground lot for $16 a night. The only saving grace was that the bar is being run by a pretty hip and ambitious kid and it has a nice vibe. They also have fireplaces in the rooms, but they have to light them, so give them a while to get to you.

We used to live here and I've stayed at most of the hotels downtown. Yes, the location is great but that's about it. This hotel needs a BIG refresh and to get around to some of the repairs that are long in need. The Eldorado and the Inn at Loretto remain the two best downtown hotels for price and location. This one is just a step under Garrett's, the motel. The price was good, but you aren't getting what you didn't pay for...

Room Tip: Request a room with a fireplace... Their only big selling feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Brain R.

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize if there were any inconveniences during your stay. We have reviewed your comments and have already taken action towards correcting these issues. We take great pride on our ability to maintain such a nice property and sometimes things are overlooked. You can guarantee that we will work as a team to always keep our property image in great condition. If you have any further suggestions or comments please contact us at anytime.

Thanks,

Hotel Chimayo staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Spent 2 nights w/ my 2 sisters in adjoining rooms. They were upstairs w/ 2 queens and I had a KIng jr. suite downstairs which was a good sized bedroom with a separate sitting area w/ microwave, coffeemaker, a small refrigerator and a wood burning fireplace. Super comfortable mattress and very soft linens. They also have underground onsite parking for about $17 a nite which is worth it as parking spaces are hard to come by around the plaza.
This is a historic property so the bathrooms are a bit small but the rooms were very clean.
The location can't be beat just steps from the Plaza.
The staff was so friendly and helpful, from Jordan at the front desk, to Oscar, who came and lit our fireplace the first evening. If I had to find fault with something, the only thing I can think of is the amazingly soft Frette pillowcases were getting a little thread bare…small thing.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a long stairway so request a 1st floor room if you don't want to deal with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Mary D,

Thank you for staying with us during your Santa Fe trip. We are all delighted to hear that you loved our hotel and our services. We would like to also like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you ever travel to Santa Fe please call us as we would love to welcome you back.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe has a great location, just a 1/2 block off the Plaza. It is much smaller than most of the downtown hotels, which gives it an intimate charm. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, quiet and clean. The price was very reasonable as the 3rd night was free. There is underground parking. It's a great place to stay!
My only fault would be with the reservations staff. it took 2 days to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeebzAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hello BeebzAbroad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Santa Fe. Your right our property is smaller than other hotels here in Santa Fe but we feel that this gives an advantage. With a smaller property we are able to add a more personal touch to our guests experience.


I hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Santa Fe!

Yours,
Adrian V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was perfectly placed for our visit to the New Mexico Museum of Art (the only place the Renaissance to Goya exhibit is being shown). In spite of the decor being very Santa Fe the lobby is not particularly cozy and does not lend itself to hanging out. For that purpose there is a bar in the building but on this trip it had no food to go with the drinks (made nice and strong). There were issues with the nicely appointed room. The hot water didn't want to turn off in the sink, the bathroom was European sized (you practically have to step in the tub to close the door), the temperature of the water in the shower didn't want to stabilize, and the sink didn't drain well. However, the bed was excellent and the only thing that brought the rating up to average from poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or a lower floor (for convenience). We had an upper floor room but it looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phrogphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi phrogphile,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Santa Fe. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences the cold water may have caused. We have already addressed these issues with our maintenance staff and corrected the problem. Again thank your for sharing your experience with us, your feedback is a key tool to helping us improve guest experiences.

Please let us welcome you back during your next visit to Santa Fe.

Regards,
Adrian V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#25 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,132 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,456 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,680 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 62 in Santa Fe
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $134 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing