We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location & great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great location & great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe has a great location, just a 1/2 block off the Plaza. It is much smaller than most of the downtown hotels, which gives it an intimate charm. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, quiet and clean. The price was very reasonable as the 3rd night was free. There is underground parking. It's a great place to stay!
My only fault would be with the reservations staff. it took 2 days to make a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeebzAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello BeebzAbroad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Santa Fe. Your right our property is smaller than other hotels here in Santa Fe but we feel that this gives an advantage. With a smaller property we are able to add a more personal touch to our guests experience.


I hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Santa Fe!

Yours,
Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    315
    93
    52
    29
See reviews for
150
404
56
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was perfectly placed for our visit to the New Mexico Museum of Art (the only place the Renaissance to Goya exhibit is being shown). In spite of the decor being very Santa Fe the lobby is not particularly cozy and does not lend itself to hanging out. For that purpose there is a bar in the building but on this trip it had no food to go with the drinks (made nice and strong). There were issues with the nicely appointed room. The hot water didn't want to turn off in the sink, the bathroom was European sized (you practically have to step in the tub to close the door), the temperature of the water in the shower didn't want to stabilize, and the sink didn't drain well. However, the bed was excellent and the only thing that brought the rating up to average from poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or a lower floor (for convenience). We had an upper floor room but it looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phrogphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi phrogphile,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Santa Fe. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences the cold water may have caused. We have already addressed these issues with our maintenance staff and corrected the problem. Again thank your for sharing your experience with us, your feedback is a key tool to helping us improve guest experiences.

Please let us welcome you back during your next visit to Santa Fe.

Regards,
Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

ROMANTIC WEEKEND.
From the moment you walk in and smell the lobby's wood burning fireplace….. you know you made the right choice. I was planning a last minute romantic stay at Chimayo for me and my boyfriend. I visited the hotel a few days before my check in and had the pleasure of meeting Adrian the manager. He was on board to make my stay exactly what i wanted. He was absolutely helpful and wonderful. He allowed me to drop off a small gift basket that they would leave in the room upon arrival. I also had the pleasure of being upgraded the day of check in. Adrian…you're the best!!!! thank you!!!!
The staff was unbeatable. Jordan at the front desk always greeted me with a smile every time and was able to help me promptly with any questions I had. Oscar lit our fires and was so friendly and courteous. We loved him!
The room itself was breathtaking. We stayed in room 200. We felt like royals. The layout was open and enormous. We loved the decor. We utilized the fireplace every night as it was freezing outside. We felt like it was our own cabin. There was no other rooms around. The only thing to keep in mind is since its on second floor in the main building...there is a band in restaurant and it can tend to be a little loud on weekends) we didn't mind though bc we are originally from NY.
Also…the room was spotless, towels were nice and the tub was perfect! The bed was enormous and luxurious. I have a bad back and I slept like a baby.
We couldn't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.
LOCATION: unbeatable. We were essentially one block from the Plaza and all the museums. We got to see the Goya exhibit at the New Mexican Museum of Art,, a must see!
BIG plus:
dog friendly ($20)
Pakring underground ($16)
We are not only in love with Santa Fe, but in LOVE with Hotel Chimayo.
Thank you to the staff for making this the most unforgettable and perfect romantic weekend.
We will definitely be returning to your gorgeous hotel.
Lizzy from LA:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzykadizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi lizzykadizzy,

Thank you so much for letting us help you with your special weekend. We are all extremely pleased that everything exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to help all of our guests create memories that can be remembered for a lifetime and we hope that you will always remember this experience. Again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Warmest Regards,
Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Are you serious? If you stay close to the square anywhere else in Santa Fe, you just want to spend more money than necessary! This place has it all. Steps from the square, always a good special of some kind, a historic & cultural connection, nice clean rooms, & fireplaces (in some rooms) lit by the friendliest attendants ever. To be honest, you're staying in an OLDER historic hotel. Make some concessions, but not many! The employees are very gracious! Anything you need, they bust it for you! Other historic hotels near the square are super expensive. Now, the restaurant....We've NEVER had a bland or so-so meal here at Tia's Cocina. Besides Del Charros ( at Inn of the Governors) for lunch, breakfast and dinner here are eye rolling good! We've eaten practically everywhere in SF and we don't stay or eat B&D anywhere else! You're thinking Pasquals is the only place for breakfast? Unless you're just hung up on being seen in the "right" place, you love crowds, or you just need a wheat germ & carrot top shake, go to Tia's Cocina for breakfast instead. The best! We love this place! Thanks to everyone at Hotel Chimayo. BTW, we saw a few reviews from some atheist folks who were offended by the crosses on the wall. Get over it or stay somewhere else! It's art and if you haven't noticed, religion is part of SF's history. I'm not exactly a believer myself, but my head didn't spin off and I didn't spit green goo!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 10brink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi 10brink,

We are all pleased to here that you enjoyed your trip to Santa Fe. Santa Fe is truly a magical city with so much to enjoy. From the art galleries and museums to the food and the beautiful landscape, this city really is a slice of heaven. I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please let us welcome you back on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Yours,
Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The location is perfect! We walked everywhere, a block from the plaza, shops, restaurants. The staff is superb, friendly and very accommodating! The rooms are very clean, but unfortunately are in bad need of an update. Linens are threadbare and the furniture old and worn. The outside of the building is in desperate need of paint. It's really a shame, because it has so much potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I found this hotel because of Groupon. After doing research on tripadvisor I decided to pull the trigger and I'm so glad I did. The location is unbeatable. You're literally steps from shops and restaurants. When my fiance and I went it was snowing and it truly felt like a winter wonderland that I see in postcards. The parking is provided by the hotel, but at a cost. We stayed in the smaller standard room with a sitting area and king bed. All rooms have a fireplace, but I wish it were near the bed. We could feel the heat from it but couldn't actually see it. Also, they have to come light it for you. So once you're done for the day you'll need to call the front desk and they will quickly send someone up to get it going for you. I found the room quiet with the exception of the fire alarm going off both while the fire was going and the next morning when nothing was on. It's possible they're very good smoke alarms because of the possibility of fires because of the many different fireplaces. Although the one going off while we slept was terrifying, it's nothing I can really complain about.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garnet235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have been staying at this location for years. Changed hands a few years ago and new owners seem to be taking all of the $$ out and not keeping it up. Linens thread bear, everything needs a good steam cleaning, furniture old and drab.....just sad to see it go down. The location is the BEST, the price was good, cute little bar, but we won't go back. Depressing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing