We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best" on the square" Hotel in Santa Fe for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best" on the square" Hotel in Santa Fe for the money!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Are you serious? If you stay close to the square anywhere else in Santa Fe, you just want to spend more money than necessary! This place has it all. Steps from the square, always a good special of some kind, a historic & cultural connection, nice clean rooms, & fireplaces (in some rooms) lit by the friendliest attendants ever. To be honest, you're staying in an OLDER historic hotel. Make some concessions, but not many! The employees are very gracious! Anything you need, they bust it for you! Other historic hotels near the square are super expensive. Now, the restaurant....We've NEVER had a bland or so-so meal here at Tia's Cocina. Besides Del Charros ( at Inn of the Governors) for lunch, breakfast and dinner here are eye rolling good! We've eaten practically everywhere in SF and we don't stay or eat B&D anywhere else! You're thinking Pasquals is the only place for breakfast? Unless you're just hung up on being seen in the "right" place, you love crowds, or you just need a wheat germ & carrot top shake, go to Tia's Cocina for breakfast instead. The best! We love this place! Thanks to everyone at Hotel Chimayo. BTW, we saw a few reviews from some atheist folks who were offended by the crosses on the wall. Get over it or stay somewhere else! It's art and if you haven't noticed, religion is part of SF's history. I'm not exactly a believer myself, but my head didn't spin off and I didn't spit green goo!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 10brink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi 10brink,

We are all pleased to here that you enjoyed your trip to Santa Fe. Santa Fe is truly a magical city with so much to enjoy. From the art galleries and museums to the food and the beautiful landscape, this city really is a slice of heaven. I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please let us welcome you back on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Yours,
Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    318
    99
    53
    29
See reviews for
151
411
57
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The location is perfect! We walked everywhere, a block from the plaza, shops, restaurants. The staff is superb, friendly and very accommodating! The rooms are very clean, but unfortunately are in bad need of an update. Linens are threadbare and the furniture old and worn. The outside of the building is in desperate need of paint. It's really a shame, because it has so much potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I found this hotel because of Groupon. After doing research on tripadvisor I decided to pull the trigger and I'm so glad I did. The location is unbeatable. You're literally steps from shops and restaurants. When my fiance and I went it was snowing and it truly felt like a winter wonderland that I see in postcards. The parking is provided by the hotel, but at a cost. We stayed in the smaller standard room with a sitting area and king bed. All rooms have a fireplace, but I wish it were near the bed. We could feel the heat from it but couldn't actually see it. Also, they have to come light it for you. So once you're done for the day you'll need to call the front desk and they will quickly send someone up to get it going for you. I found the room quiet with the exception of the fire alarm going off both while the fire was going and the next morning when nothing was on. It's possible they're very good smoke alarms because of the possibility of fires because of the many different fireplaces. Although the one going off while we slept was terrifying, it's nothing I can really complain about.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garnet235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have been staying at this location for years. Changed hands a few years ago and new owners seem to be taking all of the $$ out and not keeping it up. Linens thread bear, everything needs a good steam cleaning, furniture old and drab.....just sad to see it go down. The location is the BEST, the price was good, cute little bar, but we won't go back. Depressing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had planned to spend the night on the road, but Nathan was very helpful in finding us a room. The Jr. Presidential suite was more than we wanted to spend, but a great value! The check-in was smooth, parking was convenient and a short walk to the plaza topped off a wonderful fixed price meal at the restaurant. The hotel is a definite find and the service is top notch. We will be staying here again and again. And thanks again to Nathan for making our Christmas night so wonderful.

Room Tip: Walk ins are ok, but call in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a living social special promotion which included a free ottle of wine, so it was a great value.
Location was great, just 1 block from plaza. Many great restaurants and shops near by with underground parking available. The well furnished small suites and helpful staff improved our experience. While we did not eat or drink there, the bar and restaurant looked warm and inviting.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoDanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very happy with our stay here. We booked at the last minute and got an amazing rate. I was expecting it to be a dive (because of the rate) but to our surprise, it was adorable. Great location, clean, friendly staff and has a cute little bar with a live band. The room was tiny, but had nice bed covers and was clean and cute. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPCG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing