We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really gone downhill.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have been staying at this location for years. Changed hands a few years ago and new owners seem to be taking all of the $$ out and not keeping it up. Linens thread bear, everything needs a good steam cleaning, furniture old and drab.....just sad to see it go down. The location is the BEST, the price was good, cute little bar, but we won't go back. Depressing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 893 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had planned to spend the night on the road, but Nathan was very helpful in finding us a room. The Jr. Presidential suite was more than we wanted to spend, but a great value! The check-in was smooth, parking was convenient and a short walk to the plaza topped off a wonderful fixed price meal at the restaurant. The hotel is a definite find and the service is top notch. We will be staying here again and again. And thanks again to Nathan for making our Christmas night so wonderful.

Room Tip: Walk ins are ok, but call in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a living social special promotion which included a free ottle of wine, so it was a great value.
Location was great, just 1 block from plaza. Many great restaurants and shops near by with underground parking available. The well furnished small suites and helpful staff improved our experience. While we did not eat or drink there, the bar and restaurant looked warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoDanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very happy with our stay here. We booked at the last minute and got an amazing rate. I was expecting it to be a dive (because of the rate) but to our surprise, it was adorable. Great location, clean, friendly staff and has a cute little bar with a live band. The room was tiny, but had nice bed covers and was clean and cute. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DPCG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel de Chimayo in Santa Fe. The hotel itself if beautiful with a nice fireplace in the lobby, and our room was spacious and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom was huge, with a nice large tub. The wooden furniture, light fixtures, and bedding in the main part of the room were in the traditional New Mexican style - this is not your typical hotel room!

The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating.

The attached restaurant (Tia's Cocina) is excellent, with wonderful staff and the best red chile in Santa Fe. Definitely eat there at least once, even if you don't stay at the hotel.

Overall, our experience was wonderful. There are a lot of hotels in Santa Fe, but Hotel Chimayo is definitely an original, and stands out from the crowd!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had to book last minute because the VRBO our family had booked turned out not to be big enough for all of us. We chose this hotel because it was walking distance from everyone else. We chose a small room because we were spending most of our time with our family but if I were to go again I think I would take a larger room with a sitting area. It is charming and quiet and I do not think I have ever slept better. We had 8 pillows between us which was heavenly. It is also walking distance to just about anything in the main part of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very nice and clean. They have a parking gargage and they are located just a block away from the plaza and the palace of gov. Everything for the most part is within walking distance. would stay there again. The staff was very helpful and the resturant was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,081 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,375 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,629 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,601 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $164 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing