We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Santa Fe”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel de Chimayo in Santa Fe. The hotel itself if beautiful with a nice fireplace in the lobby, and our room was spacious and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom was huge, with a nice large tub. The wooden furniture, light fixtures, and bedding in the main part of the room were in the traditional New Mexican style - this is not your typical hotel room!

The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating.

The attached restaurant (Tia's Cocina) is excellent, with wonderful staff and the best red chile in Santa Fe. Definitely eat there at least once, even if you don't stay at the hotel.

Overall, our experience was wonderful. There are a lot of hotels in Santa Fe, but Hotel Chimayo is definitely an original, and stands out from the crowd!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    320
    99
    53
    29
See reviews for
151
412
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had to book last minute because the VRBO our family had booked turned out not to be big enough for all of us. We chose this hotel because it was walking distance from everyone else. We chose a small room because we were spending most of our time with our family but if I were to go again I think I would take a larger room with a sitting area. It is charming and quiet and I do not think I have ever slept better. We had 8 pillows between us which was heavenly. It is also walking distance to just about anything in the main part of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very nice and clean. They have a parking gargage and they are located just a block away from the plaza and the palace of gov. Everything for the most part is within walking distance. would stay there again. The staff was very helpful and the resturant was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our second stay here. Could not make ourselves try something different. Best location. Just a block away from the Plaza. Love to stay outdoors in Santa Fe, making our coin hand going most convenient. Rooms are nice and spacious. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Will stay there again!

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor both visits and it worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R2RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We got to bring our dog and were only charged a one-time fee for her whereas other properties would charge as much as $50 a night for puppy! Yikes. We had a 2nd-floor Mission King Suite with fireplace, refrigerator and a view of the cobblestoned courtyard. Yes, this place is older and you can hear a lot of sounds but you won't find a better price on similar properties with its same amenities anywhere near the plaza unless they are offering a super special internet or group deal. Live music in the bar is fun and does not spill over to the rooms. Front desk staff was quite courteous and quick for check-in and out. I recommend taking advantage of the $ parking underground, otherwise good luck finding a space nearby that is not metered. The wood burning fireplace was wonderful but they seem to limit the wood they give you. We are late-nighters and ran out of wood to enjoy our fire and it was too late to ask for more. If you have a dog with you, check out the Santa Fe Dog Park just off Hwy 599 - incredible.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to ask for a room on the ground floor. Elevator access to upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Eatingirl,

Thank you for sharing your kind words. We are glad that you and your pet enjoyed your time here in Santa Fe. We take great pride in our property and our guest service.

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Santa Fe.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel Chimayo is located close to the Plaza in Santa Fe so it is right where you want to be. They now have a restaurant in the hotel. We had dinner there several nights and it was very nice. The waiter knew the town well and answered our many questions on where to go. I liked the parking on site as well.

Room Tip: Ask for assistance with your bags if the room has an internal stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We visit Santa Fe often and love the location in the center of it all. We love the fireplaces in the room. Wifi worked perfectly. The staff was very helpful. Even going out of their way to start a fire after hours. David in maintenance was a pleasure. The lack of coffee in the lobby in he morning seems a bit silly. It is a basic expectation when traveling today. The beds were very comfortable. The heating and cooling system in the rooms is difficult to control, could not get it to cool. We will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,052 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,328 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing