We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent hotel. Also very quiet and comfortable, and right on the Plaza. Hotel employees were also very nice and very helpful. The bar and restaurant were also excellent. The prices were also reasonable for the room, restaurant and bar.

Gene
Ruidoso, NM

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hi Gene H.,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Hotel Chimayo. We want all our guests to feel welcomed and comfortable and to enjoy food and drink. So, I'm glad to hear we gave you that experience.

I hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Santa Fe!

Yours,
Susan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 924 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

For a base to walk your way through Santa Fe's Plaza shops the location is very good. Upon check in we were the practice guests for a trainee who could not tell us where our room was located within the complex. Also,on the not so great side, a guest should not expect linens with rips and holes in them nor should they need to ask for a remote, only to find that the replacement didn't work either. On the upside, the bath products are a nice line of Gilchrist & Soames,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowogray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello mowogray,

I'm sorry that you experienced issues with the service and linens, and thank you for making us aware of your experience. But I'm glad our proximity to the Plaza suited you, and I hope you enjoyed your trip. Please do consider staying with us again the next time you visit.

Yours,
Susan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect location, poetic layout, access to rooms in garden. The average rating is because I got woken up twice by the fire alarm which goes off whenever any smoke detector smells anything - completely unnecessary in view of the easy escape from most rooms including mine. I also happen to know that the alarm was not caused by smoke but by steam from the bathtub coming into the room. I needed my sleep badly, and I DO NOT WANT TO BE WOKEN UP BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE TAKES A BATH SOMEWHERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchiffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi Duchiffre,

I'm sorry your evening with us was disrupted. Guest safety is a top priority for us, and we are checking to make sure all alarms are working properly. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Santa Fe and visit again soon. Please consider giving us another chance, too.

Yours,
Susan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is always good to have a plan for the first night in a new place - especially a place to stay. My sister recommended the Hotel Chimayo, saying that it was right in the center of Santa Fe and not as pricy as the more luxurious hotels. Well, it was right in the center of Santa Fe, but it was still pretty pricy according to our standards. But we loved it. And after a day of traveling, it was very nice to have a place waiting for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shoofoolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear shoofoolatte,

The staff here at the Hotel Chimayo want to thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Santa Fe. Your sister is right, our rooms are less expensive than most of the other hotels in the downtown area and our rooms are bigger. We also offer plenty of deals like our 3rd night free, AAA and AARP, New Mexico locals, and last minute specials. Always feel free to contact us to see what deals we have available. Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Santa Fe on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This property is in a great location and the front desk is friendly. Unfortunately the beds are not very comfortable and the property could use a refresh. I haven't stayed in a hotel in the last 2-3 years that hasn't upgraded to flat screen TV's in the rooms, as an example.

We stayed here once before - again for the location and the fact that we got a discounted rate. If you don't plan to spend much time in your room and don't care if your bed is comfy then this is fine.

The linens while they advertise them as Frette - are really worn and need to be replaced - both towels and sheets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingtheworld627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

traveltheworld627,

thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We wish we knew of the issue before your departure as we would have investigated and corrected the issue. In regards to the televisions, we are actually in the process of upgrading to flat screens. I hope that you will consider staying with us so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. Again, thanks for your sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was cordial, helpful & professional. The location is excellent. However, we had frayed pillow cases & a torn sheet. Cramped room up 31 steps from the lobby. Dearth of electrical outlets.. Only 1 rather shabby chair Bathroomette. Oh, and the previous guest's bath at on the balcony. However, the beds were comfortable. Hotel was quiet and had charm. Good parking (fee) value rated as "average" because by paying for two nights, the third night was free

Room Tip: Request ground floor. Be specific about your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rilydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Rileydog,

I am glad that you enjoyed your hotel room and our services. I would also like to personally thank you for sharing your feed back and bringing these issues to our attention. Our sheets and towels are subject to wear and tear and we apologize if this affected your stay. We have addressed this issue and have ordered new towels. sheets, and other linens. About the stairs, if we were notified that this was an issue we would have been more than happy to accommodate you to ensure that you were 100% satisfied with your room. Our goal is to help our guests relax and have a comfortable experience. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back to Santa Fe.


Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have vacationed in Santa Fe at least two times a year since 1991. It was our first stay at this hotel. I have an elderly dog and was looking for something close to the plaza and easy for my dog to get around but required a nice experience for my husband and I. We booked hotel chimayo based on the location and the website information. I called the hotel and spoke to Alex. She was extremely helpful and gave me a detailed description of the property and how it would accommodate us and my dog. She helped us figure out which room would be the best for us. Upon arrival, we were so pleased with the lobby and especially the courtyard. We had a small table and chairs outside our door for morning coffee. The room was a mission suite and was great. The bed was comfortable, the living room had a dining table, coffee table and banco seating plus a fireplace. You call the front desk and they send someone to start the fire for you. Oscar started our fires and was so friendly and added to the quaintness of the whole experience. We were so happy there. We wish the bathroom was a little larger but it is an historic building so we don't complain. We could not have been happier with our stay. The staff and the property are wonderful plus you are less than a block from the plaza.
I've read some of the complaints on this site and most are because it is a historic building and not as modern as new buildings. But if you want modern buildings then stay at holiday inn and leave the cultural and historic experiences for those of us who appreciate it. This is a wonderful facility and a beautiful experience of the New Mexican heritage.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Kim H,

Our staff here at the Hotel Chimayo would like to thank you for your lovely feedback. We are all glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here in Santa Fe. We are also glad that your dog was satisfied with the room. I would also like to add how much I enjoyed your review. You are right, our hotel is not as modern as the "Holiday Inn" or any other chain hotel but we do offer a unique and culturally inspired experience without sacrificing any of the comforts that you might come to expect from a high end hotel. Alex, Oscar and our entire staff are looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe during your next visit. Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#25 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,133 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,458 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,680 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 62 in Santa Fe
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing