We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. This is a great hotel, walking distance to the plaza. We had the shopping package that included parking and breakfast each morning. We loved having breakfast on the balcony each morning. Waiter was great! Food was great! The room was very spacious with a king bed and setting area. Very clean! Staff very helpful and nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlcRlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

What a positive 5-Star review!

Thank you rlcRlc for mentioning the amazing food and service at our onsite restaurant Tia's Cocina. The restaurant is currently operated by a husband and wife team that defintely go out of their way make a dynamite experience. The balcony in the restaurant is a little known secret here in Santa Fe that I am pleased you noticed. It is a perfect place to enjoy your meal and people watch from the second floor.
We hope to see you again! Give our reservation department a call directly next time you are coming our way.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 908 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were thrilled with our choice of this hotel. One block from the Plaza! And a true Santa Fe style with many unique touches. Loved it and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We did not try the restaurant but did stop in the bar a few times. The porch was inviting and each room has a small cafe table set outside the door or on their balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write about us NancyinNJ,

It sounds like the proximity to the Plaza and our detail-oriented staff made your stay one to remember. Our style reflects the unique culture and heritage of Northern New Mexico and the people and life specifically of the city of Chimayo. Our little touches you noticed were designed by the Chimayo artisans and we are very proud to represent their traditions.
We hope to see you again and would love for you to try our delicious menu at Tia's Cocina on your next visit.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was skeptical after reading a few of the other reviews, but we were pleasantly suprised and pleased with our stay at the Hotel Chimayo. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were unique in a good way and we had enough space for three adults and a baby. I loved the interior courtyard - a great place for sundown drinks. The location is ideal. The king beds are also very comfortable. We requested a quiet room after reading the reviews about the kareoke, but that didn't seem to be a problem anymore as the whole hotel seems quiet. The stairs also weren't a problem at all. I would definitely recommend this for anyone going to Santa Fe in the future and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AspengirlinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear AspengirlinAfrica,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Chimayo after careful consideration. We are ecstatic that we not only met your needs but surprised you with our quiet environment. Being off the plaza on Washington Avenue helps with the noise factor. And our courtyard in the evening during these summer months has to be the best kept secret in Santa Fe. I love when people find that out when they arrive--its an added bonus to their stay.
We hope to see you again in the future. The trip from Africa is quite the distance, but hopefully you be able to stopover and visit the next time you come to Northern New Mexico.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Located near, but not on the central plaza, Hotel Chimayo was an excellent choice for our stay in Santa Fe. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the staff were both helpful and pleasant, and our spacious rooms off the central courtyard were very private. The food at the associated restaurant was excellent and we found ourselves eating there every morning. My only suggestion would be another mirror in either the bedroom or sitting room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeri46439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you Jeri46439 for a thoughtful 5-star review!

I am pleased that we are the "excellent choice" for staying in Santa Fe. It seems like our staff went out of their way to make you feel at home. And if you ate at Tia's Cocina, our onsite restaurant everyday, then that itself is a testament to the food and service. I will make sure to pass on the kind words to the husband and wife owners of that fabulous establishment.
Thank you for the suggestion regarding the mirrors. I will take that into consideration for our next room update.
Have a wonderful beginning of the fall season and hopefully, see you soon!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Chimayo. The lobby and the grounds are gorgeous. The location was perfect, right in the middle of everything, and the room was spacious and beautiful. The in-room coffee was excellent, and the restaurant upstairs has wonderful food. The staff was friendly and helpful. They recommended places to see and helped us navigate around town. We didn't have a car and didn't need one for this trip This was our first trip to Santa Fe and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank Christy M!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your first trip to Santa Fe and we will more than pleased to welcome you back on your next adventure. It sounds like our staff, amenities, and location were just what you were looking for. We always love when a guest is able to relax and enjoy our fair city. It is a great place to leave the car behind.
We look forward to seeing you again and I hope that your autumn season starts off well.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed one night in this very quaint hotel. Staff were helpful, food was lovely and fresh, and the room had everything we needed. The position is great - right in the middle of town, shops and restaurants. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. We appreciated having the enlargement mirror in the bathroom. A nice plus was the discount offered in the restaurant and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennybear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello Jennybear99,

What a helpful and thoughtful review!
I am pleased you chose to stay with us - even for that one night. It seems you enjoyed our location and all of our amenities the hotel had to offer. We hope you return to us the next time you Santa Fe. Please give our reservation department a call we be more than happy to see you again!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location with the extra bonus of a secured parking garage($). Staff were extremely courteous and helpful. My room was quite large for Santa Fe lodging with an adjoining sitting room and fireplace. Access to 2nd floor rooms are through the inner courtyard with stairs. Staff quickly offered to carry my luggage up. Check-in provided discounts for the bar and restaurant where I enjoyed a delightful afternoon cocktail and had a pleasant local cheese, fruit and pastry for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeeheeInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you TeeheeInk for this wonderful 5-star review!

Being from Taos, you know that Hotel Chimayo tries represent our unique and inspiring heritage of Northern New Mexico. We hope you felt at home and it sounds like our staff went out of their way to do so. Our Local Treasure Card is a way for our guests to enjoy Santa Fe and Albuquerque sites and attractions by providing a 15% discount off certain places. I know it comes in handy when you shop, and I hope you took advantage of it.
Hope to see you again as we are so close by!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,119 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,692 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,865 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,499 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $140 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing