We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Room set up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Room set up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Santa Fe and to this hotel. We arrived in the evening and the hotel front desk person greeted us promptly. The hotel was built in the late 1800's so it was quite interesting. Our room was very nicely decorated in rustic southwest decor. However, there was a staircase in the middle of the room leading down to two locked doors. If I hadn't been with my husband, I would have asked for another room! It was kind of creepy. I read another review of someone else who must have had this same room, so I was not that surprised when I saw it. They must give this room to people who book online. I would think that they would like to make a good impression on first time guests and NOT give them this particular room. If you book here, I suggest you ask for a room without a staircase in the middle! Other than that, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a meeting at the convention center early in the morning so we could just walk the two blocks there. Check-out time was noon so we had time after our meeting to walk to the shops and the cathedral. We plan to return to this hotel next time we are in town. Parking is in the garage below the hotel for which there is a charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a staircase in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jazzy11_357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you Jazzy11_357 for taking the time write your review,

I am glad that we were so close for your business at the convention center. Walking in Santa Fe is an amazing experience and it sounds as if you took advantage of it. I apologize for the staircase in your room. Our building is historic and many rooms are able to connect through doors which are double locked when not in use. Some guests purchase both the room above and below as a family suite. Many of our rooms do not have this feature, and when you make the trip back to Santa Fe, give us a call and you can hear about all of our room options.
We look forward to your next visit, and we hope you have an unforgettable start to the new year!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    316
    95
    52
    29
See reviews for
150
405
57
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kogarah, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chimayo de Santa Fe on the Square is a perfect hotel stay. The location of the hotel give access to the Square and all the shops. The hotel has a excellent restaurant upstairs (Tia's Concina) that serves some of the best authentic food in the area. The bar down stairs is a bonus to the stay. Front desk is very responsive and courteous upon check-in and during the entire stay.

Room Tip: Sometimes the hotel website doesn't show all the rooms available. Call reservations for "l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for this review. We are so pleased that you found our authentic and amazing restaurant, Tia's Cocina pleasant. It is truly mouth-watering and we hope all of New Mexico knows about it. It sounds as if our staff made your stay that much more memorable. They try to go above and beyond for each of our guests.
We hope to see you on your next adventure to Santa Fe. Please call our reservations line and they will assist you in creating the perfect stay.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited this hotel during the Thanksgiving holiday 2012. We found it to be very charming and comfortable. The room prices were very reasonable considering it was just one block off the square. Very convenient. The rooms are well appointed and clean. There is a lot of "stair climbing" unless your room was close to the one elevator. (ours was) I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailRaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hello SailRaiser,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy you were able to enjoy the thanksgiving holiday with us. Being in Santa Fe during that time of year is really a one-of-a-kind experience. Our spacious rooms and convenient location seemed to make your stay extra special. As our building is historic, some of the rooms do require stairs, but please know we can help with luggage throughout your stay. But I am happy that you were able to get a nice room off the elevator.

Have a wonderful new year and we look forward to seeing you for future stays.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice renovation of an older hotel, centrally located to all sights in lovely Santa Fe. Very friendly front desk, one of the agents offered to carry our bags, even as he was leaving his shift. Convenient underground parking garage, $14 a day. Room was large and quiet, very nice, comfortable bed and linens. Bath was small, but renovated and more than adequate, Subdued, tasteful Southwest decor, no kokopellis here. Hotel has an interesting layout, some of the rooms are located off an outside balcony, which does not face onto a street. Lots of Santa Fe atmosphere.

There is a very pleasant looking bar, located just off the lobby.

Room Tip: We had a room off the outdoor balcony, on the 3rd floor, accessible by elevator, which was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiefromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words foodiefromCO,

I am pleased that our staff went above and beyond during your stay. It sounds like our spacious design and location made your rest that much more enjoyable. You noticed our unique decor which is inspired by the city and people of Chimayo. It is our mission to represent that town and its local flavor.
We hope to see you again in the future. Our proximity to shopping and galleries is that much more wonderful in the warmer months--maybe we will see you then.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Jay from the Hotel and John and Haley from Lown N' Slow Bar were so attentive and nice.
Drinks were perfect and the frito pies are the best in Santa Fe.
Jay hooked us up with a nice room with a wood burning kiva fireplace and a bottle of wine which was so perfect on a cold winter night. We will definitely go back for another good time. Keep up the gr8 service!

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a Kiva fireplace, so cozy and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevoroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you Stevoroni for your 5-Star review,

Your trip sounded enjoyable, and I am very pleased our staff members were able to make it a memorable one. Having a wood burning fireplace in select rooms does add that special something on these brisk Northern New Mexico nights.
We hope to see you again in the warmer months so that you can enjoy your wine in our interior courtyard. That experience is just as wonderful and we love to see our previous guests return. Have a wonderful February!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am a local and enjoy staying downtown every now and then. Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe is my favorite place. From Jay at the front desk who is always smiling and anxious to accommodate every need to Haley and John in the lounge that always make me feel at home and safe when mixing up the fun flavorful cocktails! Thank you all for always making it such a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, fireplace softest beds in the world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreddieSueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you Freddie Sue G for this outstanding review!

I sounds like Jay, Haley and John were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Low N' Slow is truly an amazing bar and one of the hidden gems here in Santa Fe. We hope that we will see you in future and please give us a call directly the next time you choose to stay downtown. We love to welcome back repeat guests!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burque
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great place. Staff was as nice as they were professional. Rooms were amazing. Mixed drinks at the bar were fantastic. Even though we live in New Mexico already, the atmosphere made it feel like a faraway get away because the hotel was the perfect wedding of resort and native culture. I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for posting this very generous 5-Star review Drew A,

I'm glad you enjoyed the mixed cocktails at Low N' Slow. Since you live in New Mexico, maybe you can stop by again for another drink if you are passing through. And on the next visit, please sample our fabulous menu at Tia's Cocina. I promise we won't disappoint when it comes to the Chimayo-inspired flavors. They go perfectly with the drinks!
Give us a call the next time you are traveling to Santa Fe, and we will assist you in making the trip unforgettable again.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing