We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveler rating
438
331
104
56
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
331
104
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkinggreat locationrestaurant upstairsslow barpresidential suitehalf blockwet barwood burningnew mexicocharming hotelsitting areaking bedliving roomhistoric plazamain plazaresort feemini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 961 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

With the snow outside on Christmas Eve night, our hotel room was a pleasant retreat from the cold. The fireplace was an unexpected treat. Our room had every amenity that we needed and wanted. Perfect location! Helpful staff! Loved the hotel's rustic, native American charm. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to be close to the Plaza but not subjected to its traffic noise. We had a wonderful time in Santa Fe, in large part to this beautiful hotel and its welcoming staff!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you Blake G!

This is an amazing 5-Star review, and I am happy we were able to share the holiday with you.
It seems like you appreciated our unique design and decor. Our cultural cause here at Hotel Chimayo is giving back a portion of our earnings to the city of Chimayo which is 30 minutes north of Santa Fe. The charm our hotel evokes is merely an echo of the city's vibrant history and traditions. In the future, when you are visiting northern New Mexico, I not only hope you will stay with us but are able to visit Chimayo and see the rich heritage we represent. Have a wonderful start to the new year and see you again!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am writing this as a warning to other travelers. We arrived Christmas Eve in the afternoon and did not immediately bring all of our presents upstairs into the room as we had steep stairs to climb into the "loft-type" room we had. Later, we found that someone had stolen all the Christmas presents from the car in the hotel underground garage ($14 charge per night!! and no security or gate). The management was nice and offered free breakfast coupons and a bottle of wine. We then went to eat breakfast there for the next two mornings and received horrible service both times with different waitresses. No water was brought despite frequent requests, no menus were given (we finally grabbed them ourselves) the coffee finally came when the food came out and was never refilled, and she came back numerous times trying to piece back together our order (we were the only table there so it was not too busy). This happened two days in a row and the second day we overheard the waitress bickering with a guest over the 20% discount card they presented. We also had two fire alarms at 5:30AM in the morning (apparently guests tried to start the fire places on their own) and found ourselves both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in P.J's in the snow outside!!
Overall, I must say the hotel was clean and the beds very comfy, but the rooms were also very drafty.
The hotel reception staff was awesome and super nice, but the horrible breakfast experience would make us probably not want to come back!!
P.S.: I would have like to have included one of many nice pictures I took at this hotel but unfortunately, my camera got stolen at the restaurant next door (The Burrito Company)!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank katja_mayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Regional Director-Food & Beverage at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking time and writing this review.
I truly apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while dining at our restaurant. Here at Hotel Chimayo, we take pride in our guests and want to ensure that every guest has a great dining experience. Obviously , we by far failed to provide a great dining experience to you.
Your comments are very concerning and have been addressed with the team.
I hope that you will still consider us when travelling back to Santa Fe. I know we can make your stay unforgettable and memorable.
I thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule, its only through valued guests like you who take time to provide us with feedback that we will be able to improvise.

Regards/ Tauseen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were just planning to spend one night in Santa Fe, but after our great experience the first night at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe -- with a fireplace even -- we ended up staying a second night. Also, critical to what felt like a magical experience was Jay at the front desk. He was phenomenally considerate about our every need. You'd be lucky to be able to interact with him while you're there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripGuy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear TripGuy025,

Thank you so much for your kind words and this remarkable 5-Star review. It sounds like Jay truly went above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable. He is unbelievably considerate and is one of our many stars here at Hotel Chimayo. I am pleased you were able to facilitate our in-room fireplace. Since not all of rooms come with this very special addition, please make sure you request one the next time you make reservations as those rooms tend to fill up pretty fast.
While visiting Santa Fe in the future, please give our reservations line a call and let them know you are a returning guest. Our amazing staff will take good care of you-including Jay!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Chimayo and it was exactly what we had been wanting. It is right by the old town and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The beds are comfortable, the lobby and the rooms are beautiful, and the management was very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We didn't have any trouble with parking either. Our room was accessible only through a courtyard, and in December it was very cold to have to walk through every time we went anywhere, but the ambiance of the courtyard made up for it. It was a little more expensive that we had wished for, but it was definitely worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertWanderer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for the 5-Star review DesertWanderer29!

It sounds like our staff and hotel met your expectations and we couldn't be more pleased. Our parking garage being onsite and underground does help during these winter months when snow doesn't have to be removed from your car. Our courtyard does seem magical during this time of year, and I hope you were able to get some pictures. Please let me know when you would like to experience the mystique of Santa Fe again. You can see how the city looks completely different in the spring and summer. Thank you again

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Hotel Chimayo Front Desk and Housekeeping service was fantastic and very professional! The staff is very cordial and outgoing, and the location is unbeatable! The room was cozy, quiet and offered a comfortable bed which enhanced a great nights sleep! Lots of bang for the buck!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank Andrew G for this generous review!

I am pleased our staff from the front desk to housekeeping was able to "wow" you. Our location is truly unbeatable and I hope you were able to take advantage of the numerous shops and sights within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are visiting the Santa Fe area. Give us a call directly - our reservations department loves to help our returning friends

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews