We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I were quite pleased with our stay in a junior suite at the hotel.
The location was as good as it gets. All the workers were helpful and the service was excellent. The wifi reception was poor in our suite though and I had to use the
hotel computer in the lobby. We would certainly stay again if the wifi situation is
improved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Loved this hotel. Was on a business trip so got an awesome govt. rate. Right by the plaza, so great location. Rooms were large, although the bathroom would have been too small had I had a roommate. Bathrooms were a bit dark. Staff was friendly. Now, my only large complaint would be do NOT stay in room 201 or 101. These rooms are right next to the kitchen and/or bar area and it is very noisy. Good thing I always travel with ear plugs. Otherwise, this is an awesome hotel that I would definitely stay in again.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose 201 or probably 101 or 301. These are next to kitchen/bar areas.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexChick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 12 days. Both business and pleasure. I've been staying there for a number of years. The remodeling was done with such detail; the rooms are first class. The Chimayo blanket and pillow, the photographs and the wooden crosses are beautiful. And of course the beautiful flowers and chile ristras outside. I would leave the room and return everyday to a perfectly made up room when I returned. Never had a complaint about the room. The restaurant is great - can't beat their heuvos rancheros with red chile!!! The bar downstairs is a nice place to stop for sangria in the evening. I walked everywhere because it is so centrally located. Excellent staff. This is my favorite hotel and I will always return.

Room Tip: Try the huevos rancheros with red chile for breakfast and sangria in the evening.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martha790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For downtown Santa Fe, this hotel is moderately priced and very convenient. There's a very good restaurant, most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, there's parking, and it's just off the plaza. After some basic remodeling last year, the rooms are not as dark, although the bathrooms in some room floorplans are miniscule. I personally think the crosses and altars are overdone, and having dogs in hotel rooms is filthy (I saw a dog throw up on the couch in the lobby, after which the owner walked out with the dog, without making any effort to clean it up). But this is a very nice place to stay that allows you to save some money for other activities while visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Some rooms have much larger bathrooms. Rooms on upper floors and away from Washington Street are qu...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank art-n-stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first stay at Hotel Chimayo and we were so disappointed. The bathrooms are small and dark. I dusted the TV because it was so gross. The coffee maker in the room had filters that did not fit it. When I called the desk, I was told that they had other complaints, but, after the room was cleaned that day.....the same oversized filter was left once again. We only got two towels and had to call down for more. We were told more than once that there was no room in the parking garage for our car. When we said "unacceptable" and they let us in, there were spots available. (this was during Indian Market and parking was at a premium)
On the up side, the location is great, the reception staff were very pleasant, but, the extra $450.00 a night was not totally not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colorado1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest;
I truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during you stay at Hotel Chimayo. Our coffee comes complete with filters and no additional filter should have been necessary however I will research this based on your experience. The cleanliness issues you experienced are unacceptable and I will be working with our staff to ensure the highest level quality. I thank you for the comments and taking the time to let us know so we can continue to train our staff to provide the best experience at our beautiful Hotel Chimayo.

Sincerely
General Manager - Hotel Chimayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

One visits Santa Fe to experience our diverse American culture and learn about the mixing of heritages that makes our country unique. This jewel of a hotel in central Santa Fe offers all that in its Spanish, southwest Indian and Catholic Mission room decor that was enchanting from the exterior and the room itself. The staff encompasses also that West and frontier hospitality, and they couldn't have been more accommodating.
Our trip was to introduce our grandchildren to this part of the American experience and history, and we loved that the Hotel Chimayo gives back to their Santa Fe heritage in advertising it, supporting it and obviously being very proud of it. Food is also an important part of this experience, and Tia's Cocina grows its own chiles and offers an excellent New Mexico cuisine, also uniquely American.
Oh, by the way, the bed was comfortable, the room quiet, the wi-fi worked and all that banal stuff, but this hotel offered so much more that is Santa Fe, that we would wholeheartedly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phylliss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Upon walking into the hotel after a turbulent and tiring flight, we instantly felt calm and relaxed. The bar immediately across from the reception desk provided us with two exceptional margaritas while we checked in. The room, though furnished with just the basics, was roomy, and well laid out. It had a large balcony overlook the street below.

The hotel is right in the middle of everything happening in Santa Fe. The reception clerk gave us two excellent restaurant recommendations.

The prices, the location, the friendly and helpful staff, and the nice room layout make this a place I can't wait to visit again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,080 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,375 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,629 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,600 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $164 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing