We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, historic feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good room, historic feel”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I enjoyed an overnight here and liked the room. It is not newly renovated as far as I could tell so it you were looking for a newer, luxury feel, this is not the place. However, after staying at another property in Santa Fe, I suspect most places have the historic thing going on. I liked it plenty. Sure, the bathroom and fixtures are older but so what? I think there are 2 or 3 super-luxurious properties in Santa Fe and their prices are well above places like this. That said, I do think this place was over-priced for what it was but, it seems that most of the Santa Fe lodging s are over-priced.

I would agree again with other reviewers that the service here was a bit "off." When I got there at 3:30, the front desk staff said that they "had no idea" if any rooms would be available before the 4:00 check-in time. You have no idea what the landscape will look like 30 minutes from now? Come on. It kind-of gave the impression of a place that isn't too interested in their customers.

So, in review:
Room? Good. Check-in? Not so good. Price? Eh. Location? Great. Would I stay here again? Only if I got a super deal (ie: less than $200). I was treated better at the other place where I stayed and stayed for much less. The courtyard was really attractive but didn't eclipse the other issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    320
    99
    53
    29
See reviews for
151
412
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We decided to travel to Santa Fe on a whim. Got a good last minute deal at Hotel Chimayo. Great location a block from historic square which I loved. I like that it's just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Bed was very comfortable. Loved the authentic Spanish Mission decor. Bath water was nice and hot for us. Housekeeping quick on getting additional towels to the room. I would have liked a place outside our 2nd floor room for morning coffee but still would choose to return to this quaint neat hotel. Side note: no elevator for 2nd floor outdoor rooms, if anyone in your party has difficulty with stairs. No problem for us.

Room Tip: There is no elevator for 2nd floor outdoor rooms, if anyone in your party has difficulty with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We made our reservations a month in advance and arrived about seven p.m. at the Hotel Chimayo to stay the weekend with friends who had already checked in. The clerk told us that he had bad news. The hotel had overbooked, and there was no room for us. When I explained that we had reservations, and what the term reservation means--an arrangement to secure accommodations at a restaurant or hotel, on a boat or plane, etc.--he shrugged and tried to look empathetic. Apparently it is the custom of the Hotel Chimayo to overbook. Be advised! We were told the hotel had a room for us at the St. Francis Hotel across the plaza, and that the room would be far superior than the room here--that says something about what the staff thinks of its own hotel, I suppose. Or perhaps the clerks are instructed to lie at these tense moments. The clerk, of course, was not responsible for the situation. He assured us we would have rooms for both nights. When we arrived at the St. Francis, we were told that the clerk had only asked for one, not two, nights. After some scrambling, our St. Francis clerk did find us a room for the next night as well. The room at the St. Francis was cramped, dark and not the quality of the room at the Chimayo. We travel to Santa Fe twice a year. We won’t be staying at the Hotel Chimayo when we do.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank johnnydufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed this past weekend at the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (7-01-2012).
We awoke on Sunday morning at 7:30 am to the loud noise a power washer cleaning the front walk. Not cool.
I also noticed green fingernail polish on the bottom sheet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great Hotel right in the middle of downtown, across street from the Library on Washington. EXCELLENT beds, similar to the Westin Hotels, down comforter and pillows awesome. A quick minute to the Plaza and restaurants. Very quaint Hotel with nice ambiance and Santa Fe design. Quiet and nice balconies and even downstairs rooms have table and chairs outside. No pool or jacuzzi both not needed if you are there to see the sights of Santa Fe. If you don't want to pay for parking, use meters at night, just move your car or pay meter at 8am the next morning. No need for food at this Hotel as many restaurants within walking distance. Bathroom very small but ya don't need much time in there, vanity outside of bathroom.

Room Tip: Upstairs have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The actual building is historic and interesting and the room is "cute", but ill suited or equipped for more than one person. We had a 2nd floor "balcony" room (balcony not big enough to sit out on), The sink and mirror are only barely wide enough for one person, so plan on getting ready sequentially in the morning. Coffee is set out for one and not replenished 2nd day. 1 package of creamer for 2 of us for 2 days. Just not much service or TLC. Same sleepy guy at the front desk all 3 days. Couldn't make eye contact to tell us where coffee could be found. Mattress and down comforter and pillows were great. Just not worth $200 per night. A/C units blow down on toilet on tub and made them very cold.

Room Tip: No real views so don't spend money for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We happened to arrive at the Hotel de Chimayo de Santa Fe after a few days of roughing it. In short, we were looking forward to our much needed showers. Strangely enough, we arrived while the hotel was experiencing problems with their hot water heater. We kept it all in perspective: it wasn't Cuba where the average citizen has to have water delivered... And we decided to wander around Santa Fe.
However, when we called the front desk for an update on the hot water, a bratty boy hung up on me instead of giving a basic update. A few interactions with this guy in the hotel business made me think : he shouldn't be in the hospitality business. Hopefully, he straightened out his attitude or the managing staff straightened him out.
Our room was a split level, which was fine. But those with bad knees, etc., might want to ask about rooms without stairs. The attached bar, "Low Rider," was fine for drinks close by. The newly opened restaurant upstairs had a great bus-guy, but our waitress basically abandonned us.
Great location--right off the historic plaza. We walked everywhere: Canyon Road, to meals and the closer museums. Great trolley service too for tired bodies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pongitte10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,050 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,325 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,559 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,227 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing