We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Location is Excellant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Location is Excellant.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was a road trip. We live in West Texas and my mom and her husband resides in Ruidoso, NM. On Monday, May 21, 2012, we drove the 5 hour distance from our house to her house and spent the night. The next morning, we got up early and drove an additional 4.5 hours to Santa Fe, NM for a 3 night stay.

After a very long search for an affordable place to stay in the Plaza area, I finally booked the Hotel Chimayo from Travelocity. The room rate was $145.00 per night, but they had a special of buy 3 nights; get the second night free, which averaged the rate to $97.00 per night. However, this rate was for a room with stairs to access theloft area and 2 double beds. No other options given.

At check-in I asked for a room with no stairs and a king bed, but was told nothing was available, so DH and I made do. Thought the hotel was nice. It was very quiet. Didn’t see too many people there. The location is perfect to get to everything in the Plaza area. We were glad we had a car though. The Plaza seemed a little limited and having a car to move around more freely was beneficial, but we did walk a lot.

Our room was 105. The door opens from the main corridor on ground level, but as soon as the door is open, we were met with a flight of stairs to get to a loft area where the room is actually located. I do have a bum knee and I don’t do stairs well, but the stairs angle was not too bad, and it wasn’t like we were constantly walking up and down the stairs. In the future though, I would not choose to stay at a room with any stairs.

The room was rather small. The armoire cabinet, which held the TV, had too much depth, so getting by to get to the other bed or the door to the balcony was a little difficult. The bathroom is tiny. We could barely get inside before hitting the commode to shut the door. They should really take off the door and add a pocket door instead. The sink was out of the bathroom in a little corner. There was a small frig and coffee maker available, but only with de-café coffee. DH asked the front desk for regular coffee, but was informed they were out. We did forget to bring toothpaste, and they gave us a few sample Colgate packets. The room was fine for what we paid. DH enjoyed sitting on the balcony, but there was not much of a view. It held a little bistro table and 3 chairs. I would suggest that they put in a ceiling fan and place a mirror over the desk instead of a picture, so it can be used as a vanity since the bathroom is so tiny. The double beds were quite comfortable with down comforters and several pillows for each bed

Parking is $14.00 per day + tax of $1.15. Really? Tax on parking. I thought that was a little strange. So, it was $45 and some change for a 3 night stay. The parking was underground and the door to get to the elevator was open to anyone. They should really make that door key card accessible only to guests.

We did not eat at the hotel’s restaurant; Tia Concina, but did visit the bar; Low 'n Slow Low-rider Bar. I printed a coupon from the internet for a free guacamole appetizer with purchase of 2 specialty drinks, which was valued at $9.00. We both had a $10.50 jalapeño margarita, which was to die for, with the guacamole and chips that were very good. We added salsa for an additional $3.00. All was very good. The next night, we returned to the bar for a nightcap jalapeño margarita. There was a different bartender on staff and he made them terrible. It’s like he forgot to put in the syrup to make it sweet and I know he didn’t add the Grand Mariner.

We enjoyed our stay and would consider this hotel again, but only for a room with no stairs and a reasonable rate. I would try Tia Concina restaurant next time also.

Room Tip: If stairs bother you check which room catagory you are booking. We found that 'good' rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    320
    99
    53
    29
See reviews for
151
412
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

When traveling, I try to avoid the major chains. Hotel Chimayo definitely breaks the mold - in comfort, personality, and convenience. Heritage Hotels and Resorts focuses the decor of public and private areas on the Indian and Hispanic history of New Mexico. The hotel is not promoting religion, yet the Catholic Church plays a prominent role in local history, so many of the decorative pieces have a Catholic theme. The rooms, off a visually interesting courtyard, include comfortable sitting areas with fireplace, and the bedroom included a fabulous soft mattress with stacked fluffy pillows. Expensive native woven rugs and artwork made me feel like I was a guest in a friend's house. Their bar and restaurant (including balcony patio) were excellent. The Low 'n Slow bar has a lowrider theme, and the barmen/mixologists are enjoyable.

Room Tip: The hotel was completely full when I was there, and there were no noise problems. The band playing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RussianRiverWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
886 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe has recently been remodeled,and displays a fair amount of religious folk art. The rooms have a variety of configurations, some of which require going up stairs (ask when making reservations). The room was well lit, and contained a mini-fridge. There is a bar and restaurant on premises The front desk staff was very cordial and helpful. The plaza is withing walking distance.
Parking is available for an additional fee.
On the whole, had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are some suites available, Ask if you have any issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great hotel! Friendly and helpful staff! The hotel is charming, clean and in the perfect location to everything in Santa Fe main square. Bar and restaurant on site is excellent. Beds are extremely comfortable. From the minute you walk in everything smells like intoxicating Pinon Pine. They will make a fire for you in your room! Great deals on rooms. Really happy we stayed here. We will be back....

Room Tip: 112 is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent several days in Santa Fe recently and really enjoyed this hotel. We had been here some years ago when it was another property and it has vastly improved. Although there was a minor issue when we checked in, apparently a double booking occured but the manager quickly upgraded us to a small suite with a balcony and fireplace. We loved the courtyard/patio and the hotel restaurant, Tia's Cocina, is excellent. Underground parking was appreciated and for our stay the usual $14 daily fee was waived. Just off the Plaza, the hotel is central to a great many of Santa Fe's attractions and restaurants. We will return again. Attention to service from the staff was exellent.
A downside is the heating/cooling system is a "one pipe" system. Meaning it is either set on cooling or heating. And if it on "cooling" for instance, you can't get any heat. Unless of course, you have a fireplace in the room and ask staff to build a fire for you. We were fortunate that the weather was pleasant and we didn't require either heating or cooling.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, stay 2nd floor at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces NM USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe.

My wife loves Santa Fe. So, when we got a special offer for two nights at the Chimayo hotel we grabbed it. It turned out to be one of the best short breaks we have had in a long time. The hotel is owned by the Chimayo Pueblo and in the late spring and summer they offer guided tours of the pueblo.

The hotels location is the best in Santa Fe, 25 yards from the Santa Fe Plaza and the portico of the Palace of the Governors where Native Americans sell their jewelry and pottery. The hotel has underground parking – not a small item in Santa Fe. The rooms are small in keeping with a hotel of its age but the bathrooms are modern and the décor of the rooms has enough Southwest touches and furniture to set them apart from the chain motels on Cerrillos Road.

In the summer the hotel offers guided tours of the Chimayo Pueblo. They had not started those trips when we were there. However, they did offer a free walking tour. The walking tour was the high point of our stay. I have lived in New Mexico for 60+ years and had to come to Santa Fe fairly often in my job and thought that I was familiar with most of the city and its history. I was wrong.

My wife and I were the only ones on the tour that morning and our guide teamed up with the guide from the La Fonda Hotel who also had only one couple in tow for about an hour tour of the city in the neighborhoods around the Square. It was very enjoyable and I learned a lot about the city that I had never known or had forgotten.

We will definitely stay at the Hotel Chimayo in the future. I mentioned the La Fonda Hotel, probably Santa Fe’s most famous hotel. When in Santa Fe at least have lunch at the La Fonda and enjoy their uniquely decorated dining room and explore the art work in all areas, including the hallways

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertRatNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April with our family of four. The location cannot be beat as it is just off of the plaza where you want to be. It is a very nice building as well with an ambiance and decor of old New Mexico. The staff was very helpful particularly the gentleman at the front desk in the evening who made some very good restaurant recommendations. That being said, our sleep quality was poor as you cannot control the temperature in the room even though there was an air conditioning/heat control device in each room. It was very hot each night. We complained to the front desk twice about it and, unfortunately, they said there was nothing that could be done as the heat was controlled for the building as a whole. The only alternative for us to reduce the temperature to a comfortable level was to open several windows. However, this resulted in a lot of unwanted street noise both late at night and in the early morning. As a consequence, we did not sleep well on either of the two nights that we stayed at the hotel. This definitely marred our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,053 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,328 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,234 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing