We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Tree
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Reasonable price for the location. I have stayed in many of the hotels on the plaza. You will pay a high price for in hotel dining and name....but here you have a nice place and great location. The VERY few reviews I have read that expressed any dislikes appeared to not be familiar with Santa Fe. Santa Fe is expensive. If you want to be in the Plaza area...it is very expensive. I consider this place a gem in that is is cozy, great atmosphere and nice people. We will definitely stay here again. If you are concerned about price but want nice and in the Plaza area this should meet your needs.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JJMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    321
    100
    53
    30
See reviews for
152
417
57
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Great location but staff was not very helpful in accomodating room types. Needed a double bed but could not get one. Friends staying there same time wanted a King Bed but received a double bed. You have to get a new room key EVERY day because the locks reset. Other than this it is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Flexibility of room selection
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EVPTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donaldvHPR, Donald Villalobos, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 7, 2008
We here at the Hotel Plaza Real Thank you for your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues with the key cards. We will look into that issue right away. Also I apologize for the bedding situation. Here at the Plaza Real we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. I hope that you can return in the near future and we can set everything straight by meeting all your needs.

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home while you travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston,tex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

THE HOTEL PLAZA REAL IS THE BEST IN TOWN....

it's my very favorite !
small ,unique, boutique hotel...located close to everything

i have been staying at the PLAZA REAL for over 10 years and wouldn't think of changing...

staff is very friendly and helpful :)

  • Liked — great location and very comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tadHouston_tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley ca
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Although I had both a voicemail on my mobile phone in my hand and an email confirming a room rate of $90, the evening front desk manager refused to honor the reservation rate. It was a mistake,by a new employee he said, and therefore, he didn't have to honor the rate. He said, "You can pay the $165 now or leave the hotel." Then he left me to fend for myself on a Saturday evening at 7 p.m., when downtown Santa Fe was completely booked. It took me another 90 minutes to find a hotel a little farther away. I was shocked that with the evidence in my hand, the manager wouldn't stand honor the Sterling reservation website located at: [--]

Please do not subject yourself to treatment such as this when there are great hotels nearby: i.e., the Inn of the Governors.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
13 Thank deb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

Great location. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms were clean above average bedding/linens, had a balcony looking over the interior courtyard. The biggest downsides were cost of parking in the hotel garage and the reservation couldn't be located when we checked in. Luckily, I had my confirmation paperwork. The issue was resolved quickly without much hassle.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — paying to park in the garage. Santa Fe is a far cry from NYC
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cleope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

My husband and I have looked forward to staying at the Hotel Plaza Real in Santa Fe for quite some time & our stay was more than what we could have ever expected. Not only was the staff extremely friendly, but they were also helpful in any way asked. For instance, we arrived early and they expedited our check-in on the spot. We stayed in a beautiful suite, with an amazingly comfortable bed and great view; we had a balcony overlooking the plaza. Did I mention that the bed was amazing?! We were also close to all the favorite city spots, we walked everywhere and were given excellent recommendations on places to eat by the front desk staff; like Geronimo's and Pasqual's. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Plaza Real, it felt like our home away from home, with a lot more luxuries.

  • Liked — friendly staff, and amazing rooms
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ezrasm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

On a business trip, all of the establishments off Cerrillos Rd were unavailable, so I had to select one near the Plaza. Unfortunately for me, I arrived on the weekend's eve of Fiesta, Thursday night to be exact. The Zozobra burning had just been completed and I checked in close to 11 p.m.

I'm unaware of all of this activity as I just flew in and proceeded to drive from ABQ. Hungry and tired, I asked the front desk for nearby dining suggestions as there is no room service at HPR (Hotel Plaza Real). Because of all of the foot traffic, police detours and lack of street parking, the front desk assured me that it was walking distance to my destination.

No problem, except that all the businesses closed early due to the festivities. I walked back to inform the front desk of this and I'm relegated to fast food pickup.

The next morning as I left for work, I proceeded to the underground parking only to find that I am boxed in. For $13/day, this isn't even considered valet parking, but rather cramming all of the hotel guests' cars into a lot.

As I checked out the next day, it is obvious that the housekeeping staff rarely changes the bedding as I was bitten numerous times by something in the two evenings I stayed there. And I'll be honest, I stayed in that bed for just a total of ten hours! To get to my bed, I had to remove six to eight decorative throw pillows of various sizes as well.

Other things to mention:
There isn't even a pen and pad to use in the room!
The light where the leaky coffee maker sat under didn't work (Rm 108).
I used the two creamer packs and they were not replaced the next day.

This is easily the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

Summary:
No room service
Inexperienced and young staff
Expensive underground parking and inconvenient to get out
Housekeeping performance abysmal
Decor outdated (nasty-looking carpeting)

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank suite662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,068 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing