We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great overall, but noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great overall, but noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed for 3 days Sunday to Tuesday, in Room 133 in October.
Pros: Great customer service, allowed us to check in at 12 pm (when check in should be at 3 or 4). Housekeepers were pleasant and greeted us, the repair man gave us his parking slot in the basement when he knew we couldnt park and the lot is full. Location can't be beat (within a block from the plaza) and the price is 100$ less than the Anasazi next door to the left. The room has a fireplace, small living area separate form bedroom, with its own TV and little wet bar. Room decor and design is very characteristic of the city.
Cons: Bed was super comfy, pillows were fine, but we were awaken DAILY at 5:45, 5:15, 5:30 in the morning by garbage truck right next to our ear. If you dont mind, then get a room right next to the street (has a view), but if you hate getting awaken very early by garbage truck, choose a room facing the Hotel Anasazi. No view, but no noise.The exhaust in bathroom (yes it has an exhaust) is very loud, and the AC (which cools really well) has a hissing sound all the time. I just thought of it as a white noise, but I prefer complete silence at night. Bathroom is small, and somehow, the bath mat disappeared on the 3rd day (???). Lastly, it is not accessible. We had to carry our heavy luggages up and down a flight of stairs. Ask early on if you can't do stairs (or carry your luggage up a stairs), so you get a room on the first level in the front part of the hotel.
Would I stay here again? Definitely yes.

Room Tip: For low noise, choose the sie facing the expensive Anasazi hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us a very kind review. From the bottom of my heart I would like to apologize profusely for the garbage trucks awakening you each morning you were here with us. It’s one of those things we just can not control. Like you said, our location can’t be beat, less then a block from the plaza, and unfortunately no matter how many different times we ask the city to start their garbage pick up later in the morning, they do not. As you know our hotel is an older European style building, with an enormous amount of warmth, culture, charm and history. Some of our guest rooms do not have elevator access, but we always offer and have assistance available anytime to help with luggage upon check-in and check-out. Once again thank you for your comments, and it was our pleasure serving you. We look forward to you return in the near future!

Mike Byrd
Operations manager
Hotel Chimayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    297
    87
    48
    28
See reviews for
140
376
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was our second stay. The place was remodeled and looked better this time than last. You can't beat the great location and resonable rates. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location. Beds are wonderful. Balconies are fantastic. Service is non-existant. We didn't know that we had to drag our luggage up two flights of stairs to our room. No elevator. Had to ask a gentleman to help us with getting the luggage up the stairs. A/C unit was very loud. Breakfast at the restaurant was horribly slow. We complained and the waitress told us that the cook only prepared one plate at a time. We went elsewhere for meals after that. When we checked out we called the desk for help in getting our luggage down the stairs but never got anyone to help us so we took one piece at a time down the stairs, then back up to get another piece to bring it down.

Room Tip: Be prepared to carry your luggage up flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeysuckle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is concerning and will be addressed with the appropriate department. We take great pride in ensuring excellent customer service and it seems we failed to do so for you during your stay. We invite you to return in the future so we can provide you the stay you so rightfully deserve. Thank you again for pointing out areas we can improve to make the experience at Hotel Chimayo a truly authentic stay for all our guests.



Helga I. Byndas
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for two nights during the Festival. The hotel was perfectly situated - within walking distance of almost everything, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful - especially Amanda at the front desk. If you are going to Santa Fe I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egp173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is located just steps from the square and two blocks from the catherdral. Has nice restaurant and bar on location. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Amanda at the front desk is cordial and helpful. She knows the area and provides good information. Check in was smooth and room was ready when we arrived. Undergound parking lot ($14.00) very convienient. Parked when we arrived and walked until we left.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

After some very basic remodeling, the prices went up. They added a restaurant, which has excellent food but the worst possible service. Maybe they will get the major service problems worked out over time but it was a nightmare during Indian Market, the town's busiest time of year. They updated the carpeting, drapes and lighting, which was sorely needed. They have a religious altar in the lobby, a large crucifix in the courtyard, and crosses on the walls in the rooms; this religious iconography is far too excessive and offensive. All of it should be removed. The lobby seating is no longer conducive to socializing. The reservation system is a complete nightmare. I was quoted four different rates by four different individuals; although I had a written confirmation, I was quoted yet another rate on check-in that of course was the highest. What a battle that was! The wireless internet worked only two nights out of ten. The door locks kept malfunctioning. In just one day, I had to take my key to the front desk four times to be rekeyed and my husband had to do it three times that day. Imagine how irritating this got by the tenth day. Sometimes the doors were completely unlocked due to a malfunction. The location is great so close to the plaza, the food in the new restaurant is very good, and the staff really do try to be helpful, but the overall experience was very unpleasant. After many years of staying here several times a year, we are looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank art-n-stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed one night at the Hotel Chimayo on our first visit to Santa Fe. The 'boutique' hotel is right in the heart of Old Town with in walking distance of everything...no exaggeration. Parking is underground and reasonable. Pets are welcome. The ambiance is warm and welcoming. The lounge/bar was indoor/outdoor. There is a restaurant on the second floor. There's plenty of outdoor seating and unique decor. We stayed with our little dog in a two room suite with fireplace. My only complaint is the reception for the bedroom television was horrible, but by the time we realized, it was too late to ask for help. Overall a really nice time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc92656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Address: 125 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2016 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing