We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling little Gem! Fab value and super service!”
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We just returned from the perfect 3-day ski weekend. We debated before heading out to Santa Fe where to stay...perhaps The Inn of the Anasazi (Rosewood) or La Posada. But we stumbled upon the Inn on the Alameda through a recommendation from a friend. The clerk I telephoned chatted with me for twenty minutes about the rooms, services, specials, and local attractions and directions. Right now, as it's the Inn's 21st anniversary, your third night is just $21. We were able to get a deluxe room with a fireplace and balcony for under $200 a night, and the third night at just $21 (don't know how long this special lasts, though.)
Very clean, nice linens, big comfy robes, and quiet. It felt very private. The complimentary parking was nice - the complimentary breakfast in the morning was WAY above expectations. I gorged on croissants with sweet cream butter and Quiche Lorraine. Coffee and the NY Times were waiting for me. We never made it for the wine and cheese happy hour (for guests, from 4-5 pm) but we did grab a glass at the little bar (they also brought a bottle to our room for the price of the bottle plus just $4!) and the bartender was kind enough to put together some cheese and crackers and breads for us to nibble on after a day on the slopes, even though it was almost 6 pm.
They made great restaurant recommendations and always have a map and marker handy to guide your way. We were just SO PLEASED with everything because we'd really debated on staying at the Rosewood property at more than double the cost.
The hot tub was fun and we think when we go back we'll try one of the little casita suites. Too cute, great people, fun town.
Oh - we had dinner at Baleen at the Inn at Loretto (v. average for a chef's tasting menu with wine pairing at $120 a head) and then Cafe Guadlupe (cheap and yummy - authentic NM dishes). We watched the Super Bowl and snacked at Rio Chama and liked the bar very much. Drink the Rio Chama local ale - slightly dark and delicious!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank missdep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,328 - 2,334 of 2,404 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2007

I had a very nice, one night stay here. It was exceptionally relaxing and I will go back. The suite was very spacious and homey. The bathroom amentities were exceptional! Very comfortable bed, as well.

I highly recommend.

The staff I encountered was fairly friendly. The breakfast was fantastic.

My only downsides were for the hotel is fairly spread out, so you may have to walk a bit to get to your room. This is likely only an issue, on nights like mine, when it was freezing cold.
Give it a shot.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Matt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on the Alameda from 12/27/06 - 12/29/06 in a deluxe room with a kiva fireplace. We could not understand all of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. This is a basic 3 star hotel, nothing more. The room was marginally clean, but was a bit worn looking. The bathroom could use a rennovation. The room was a decent size, but basic. If you are looking for luxury accomodations, stay somewhere else.

The service upon check-in was friendly and efficient. However, housekeeping did not make up our room on 12/28. They left a message stating that they could not make up the room because we were in it, but that was not the case.

Parking and complimentary breakfast were included in the room rate. The parking was very convenient, but the breakfast was nothing special. The location of the hotel is convenient to both Canyon Road and the Plaza.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank FLTraveler1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Yes, the hotel really is nice, and the food is good (not great!). The location is terrific -- an easy walk to the Plaza and one block from Canyon Road. There's one liittttle thing that I didn't see mentioned in the other reviews. I didn't stay in a casita, simply a smaller room....and that room not in the same building as the lobby. That's not a big deal, except that I'm a woman who travels alone, and would rather know that beforehand (no one's fault, I'm just sayin'). A keycard was required to access the building. However, it became a rather large issue when a foot of snow fell and it was 20 degrees out. I'm someone who wants to sit by the fireplace in the lobby and read, and being in another building wasn't conducive to that.

It's a nice place, if you know what you're getting!

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank RosieRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Even though you are just steps from Canyon Road and just a few blocks to the Plaza, time stands still in this charming inn. During a cross-country trip, we decided to splurge last minute and stay in one of the fireplace casitas (instead of just another cheap chain hotel). The air was crisp, the sky an amazing shade of blue, and the inn couldn't have been nicer. We'll always remember every cozy detail of our room (loved the wood floors and pinon wood ceilings) . The bed and bedding were terrific (best sleep we had the whole trip!) The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices for any dietary need -- loved the frittatas and home-made breakfast breads. You would not need a car if you stayed here ...all the restaurants, shops, Canyon Road, are within easy walking distance. Yet you still feel secluded in your own private world.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scenicbyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

We visited the Inn Dec. 18-21. To our surprise we received an upgrade to a larger suite, also known as a casita, a private, bungalow-like space at no extra cost. We also saved the expense of an extra night due to the Inn's anniversary special. So we found ourselves in Santa Fe, all decked out for Xmas, a fresh dump of snow, outdoor hot tubs, a wonderful wine hour with fun guests to meet, and great service all the way around, from the breakfast staff, Rachel & Arturo at the desk, and Charlie and others at the bar. Terrific care of our casita (stocked with wood for the kiva fireplace) was also provided by the staff. Free parking too. The Inn is simple, intimate and a great place to get away.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GraceC-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

It is my pleasure to write a well-deserved positive review of the Inn on the Alameda. It is a charming inn, with cozy rooms and nice amenities. The inn has an ideal location, easily within walking distance of the main plaza and local attractions. This is a very well run property, evidenced by its friendly, helpful and approachable staff. The atmosphere is appropriately casual to Santa Fe, and the decor tasteful. The breakfast provided with the price of the room is much more than we expected, and included a wide variety of choices. The price of the room was very reasonable, especially for the quality and service. I would absolutely choose this property again for future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
625 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $158 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing