We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen Central-Pure Santa Fe!”
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zen Central-Pure Santa Fe!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my second trip back to this hotel, and would you believe, they remembered us? This place's staff will make you feel like family from the moment you first walk in the door. On this trip, we had a pet with us so we stayed in one of the casitas. It was lovely; peaceful courtyard all to ourselves, and despite being on the street, there was no noise we could detect. The room was, as always, clean, comfortable and stylish with terra cotta appointments outside and New Mexican art and decor inside. It's just a short walk to the Square and dozens of amazing restaurants so you don't even have to move your car.

You just feel yourself sliding into a Zen state there; walk outside in the evening or early morning and smell the pinon wood burning. You'll never want to leave. Be sure to check out the afternoon wine and cheese reception, and try Charlie's Sangria. Breakfast in the AM was first rate as well. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeRed, Public Relations Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are gratified to be described as "Pure Santa Fe!" Being locally-owned and operated lets us focus on the things and the people (like Charlie, our bartender) that we think make Santa Fe so special. And having 3 acres on which to spread out our guestrooms allows us to have pet-specific rooms that welcome traveling companions of the four-legged variety without impacting those who may have allergies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    420
    84
    12
    9
See reviews for
386
1,183
81
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel staff adore their manager, and the team's contentment comes across in the form of great service. The hot tub and microgym were nice. The location is quite good, especially if you're going to spend time visiting the numerous art galleries nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 4 nights last year and loved it so much that we returned for 5 nights this August. The location is great: off the beaten path just a bit but within walking distance of the Plaza area. In the morning we could take long walks, looping up along Canyon Road. Our room was large, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The included breakfast is varied, plentiful and delicious and we also enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese. The staff was genuinely friendly and professional, helping to create a quiet, relaxing atmosphere.
The free WiFi worked well. There was a comfortable living room area in our building where we could sit with the friends who were also staying at the Inn, at our recommendation. They too, were very pleased with the entire experience and we have all concluded that this is THE place to stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the Inn for a week while at a workshop in the building adjacent to the main lobby. Suggest if you stay here, ask for the farthest room from this location.

Positives: Clean, Friendly Staff, Quaint, Great location to walking the historic district and galleries

Negatives for management to improve on: Not a quiet location. Delivery trucks (bakery) arrived before 6:30 a.m., slamming doors and the infamous backup beeping (management could schedule trucks for a p.m. delivery); Garbage truck (and possibly recycling?) arrived before 6 a.m., again, the infamous backup beeping, 3 times during that week. Major construction site across the street (in case you are looking for a quiet retreat!)

Coffee from the self-serve area was completely empty on 3 visits. Management should have staff checking these pots every 30-minutes or less, especially since the 6-8 a.m. time-frame is probably the busiest for coffee. Stood in line in the breakfast area where they have one woman serving each person, which ends up taking you 15 - 20 minutes longer to just get a cup of coffee. The breakfast area is only an 8' section where adults could serve themselves much faster than the staff. Each time, I was in a line of 8 people or more, just for coffee!

Last, housekeeping should begin to recognize when blankets that cover the bed have large holes in them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from garbage bins, housekeeping's main closet, kitchens, construction sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calkinswolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was highly recommended by friends, and exceeded my expectations. The staff was attentive and helpful both before and during our stay. It was in walking distance to Canyon Road and the Plaza area, and free onsite parking is a plus. Mattresses were very comfortable and the linens were high quality. The room and common areas were very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast had a good hot and cold selection. Afternoon wine and cheese was relaxing after a day of sight seeing. My husband commented several times "I'd stay there again". So would I.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. Location was a huge factor in our decision to stay here since we only had 2 nights in Sante Fe. It is very close to the Plaza and the beautiful church. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank akclub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I consider myself a bit of a local since I have been to Santa Fe so much. I usually stay in a condo, not a hotel. I think I have a new favorite place to stay in Santa Fe, The Inn on the Alameda. My priorities for a place to stay don't vary in the USA... great location, inclusive parking and no extra charge wifi.

Note that the parking priority is almost impossible to find close to the Plaza.

The rooms are gorgeous with comfy beds, a refrigerator, a beautiful bathroom. You name it, the inn has it.. no restaurant but complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaume01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,182 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
582 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,564 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Property: Inn on the Alameda
Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing