We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Cozy”
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly and Cozy”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Inn on the Alameda for two nights in early July. Our expectations were high because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. As usual, the reviews were spot-on, which is why I always consult Tripadvisor before planning a trip. Our pleasant experience with the Inn on the Alameda really began the day after we made our reservation when the Inn's Manager personally called to introduce herself and confirm our reservation. She also asked if we had any special requests or needed any information about the Inn on the Alameda and/or Santa Fe. The Inn on the Alameda is in a perfect location, about 1 1/2 blocks from the Canyon Road galleries and about 3 blocks from the Plaza. We arrived in time for the 4:00 p.m. Happy Hour, when the Inn serves guests complimentary wine, beer, cheese, fruit, crackers/bread, veggies and dip. Mixed drinks and fancier beers and wines are also available for purchase at a reasonable price. The complimentary wines and beers are very good. During Happy Hour, all guests are in the same area and this gives everyone a chance to mingle. We first went to our room at the conclusion of Happy Hour, when we discovered that the Inn had upgraded us to a Suite (actually, suite 141 which we loved)! At check-in, the person at the desk greeted us in a friendly manner, gave us a parking pass, showed us where to park and also gave us several maps and other information about Santa Fe. She also gave us a personal, handwritten note from the Manager of the Inn, welcoming us to the property and advising us of our upgrade. Manager calling to chat about our trip and writing a personal note to welcome us to the property? Unheard of but true. I suspected that we were receiving very special treatment because I told the Manager that we heard about the Inn on Tripadvisor but later I noticed that everyone who checked in also received a personal handwritten note from the Manager. This is just the way the Inn does business and you can tell that the Manager and the staff proudly take the comfort and satisfaction of the Inn's guests very seriously. We went back to the bar area before going to dinner; the bartender was so nice and helpful. She informed us that the bar would be closing that evening at 9 but offered to put wine in a bucket of ice and deliver it to our room just in case we wanted some upon our return to the Inn. We declined her offer because we knew we were tired and would not drink the wine but her offer was so nice and sincere. Seriously, everyone on the staff at the Inn makes you feel like you are the only ones staying at the Inn and that you are very, very important people, which we are not. Our Suite (141) was part of a row of approximately 6 suites in two free standing buildings. Our suite had a front porch with two chairs and a table. The porch was covered and also had some beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers in front, making us feel like we were in a home rather than an Inn. As for the suite, I wish I had taken pictures but visualize this: you walk in to find a very, very large room with a partial see-through partition that divides the bedroom from the living area. To the right are a very comfortable sofa, chair and coffee table with a fireplace in the right front corner. To the left are a wet bar and mini-fridge. The bathroom, which is about the size of a full bath in a 1970's Oklahoma house, is located behind a door on the left, about where the partition stands. I assume the adjoining suite has its bathroom on the right as the bathroom in our suite was about the same length as the living area. Our suite had a comfortable king size bed with plenty of pillows. The ice machine was right next door to our suite, in a building by itself between Suites 141 and 142 and the four other suites. The Inn is not fancy at all, nor is it the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. However, it the most welcoming and cozy. It is clean and comfy. What more could one want? Well, we found out the next morning when we visited the Inn's buffet breakfast, which is included in the room price. We did not intend to eat breakfast at the Inn because we thought it was a basic continental breakfast with various pastries and fruit. We were so wrong. One room (the Happy Hour room) did have continental breakfast with muffins, toast, english muffins, fruit, bagels, coffee, juice, water, tea, etc. However, in another room there was a bar top with two different types of quiche, bacon, eggs to order and muffins, toast, juice, etc (everything that was in the other room). We were in a hurry so we just grabbed a blueberry muffin, a banana and some coffee, thinking that we would try the breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately we left very early the next morning before the Inn served breakfast; not partaking in the Inn's breakfast was really my only regret of our vacation. Note that the muffins were not just ordinary muffins - there were all sorts of muffins like blueberry, chocolate, carrot, zucchini, etc. Since we never had the breakfast, I cannot say what else might have been available but the muffin that we did have was very good. I also overheard other guests saying how much they enjoyed their breakfasts. Our time in Santa Fe was limited (2 nights, one day) and I am not sure that we will return because Santa Fe is not really our kind of place. However, I could see going back solely for the pampering experience of staying at the Inn on the Alameda, where they truly make you feel special.

Room Tip: Suite 141 is nice and spacious plus right next to the ice machine. The ice machine is in different b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    430
    86
    13
    9
See reviews for
405
1,215
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phila
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was probably the best thing we did in Santa Fe.

This is one of those places that will grow on you the more you stay here. Like nearly all buildings in Santa Fe, its faux adobe exterior belies its interior, which in this case is warm and friendly. The rooms are nicely appointed, and the common areas are spacious and inviting. The staff are very helpful; we particularly appreciated the help that Arturo and Jose gave us.

The Inn is wonderfully situated, a half-block from the bottom of Canyon Road and about 4 blocks from the Plaza - far enough to avoid the tumult, close enough to walk.

The breakfasts, while not overly imaginative, are filling and certainly a step up from, say, a Marriott Courtyard.

If I come back to Santa Fe, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202, which was nicely located with a balcony, though the balcony was only 3 feet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a pleasant stay here and enjoyed the accommodating staff and good breakfast options. The rooms are nice, but not overly large and could use some freshening. Removal of the large cabinet containing an old tube TV, and replacing with a low cabinet topped by a flat screen model would give the room a more spacious feeling. The price was not bad, but really pushed the value for money equation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradHastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is a great choice for a stay in Santa Fe. It's not super fancy but it was clean (I'm huge on clean), the beds were comfy & we had a nice view from the balcony. The offer a nice wine hour in the evening with snacks. Their breakfast in the morning consisted of a nice hot quiche and many organic options which was definitely unexpected but highly appreciated. I hate having to hunt down food when staying at a hotel & settling for the usual crappy bagel isn't my idea of breakfast, so this was a nice change from the usual. Hotel was only a few blocks walking distance from plaza. Staying on the plaza would have required us to pay $12 a day for parking. Inn on Alameda had free parking. It was also across the street from the start of Canyon Rd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, but we had our 11 year old son with us on a family vacation so we want to go back - just the 2 of us.

We stayed in room 305 which opened onto a nice covered deck area which was perfect for sipping wine and chatting about our plans the following day. It also offered a small kiva-style fireplace in the room - certainly not needed in July, but I could certainly see enjoying it once the nights cool off.

The staff was very nice and the breakfast was amazing - I had the quiche with green chilies.

The location is great as you can easily walk to the plaza.

Room Tip: There is NO ELEVATOR so choose your room accordingly. The walk up did not bother us as the large co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Well located for easy walking to old town plaza and art galleries. Did not move the car for 2 days. Staff was helpful. Ground floor room fronted Alameda St and the river. Excellent Mexican reataurant (Mucho Gusto) 3 min walk. Room was large, quiet, and comfortable. Happy hour was fun. Breakfast was good and plentyful. All in all good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and had 6 day stay in santa Fe and spent several nights in a lovely suite room which had a very nice bathroom with natural light, quality mirror, comfortable big bed and lovely off room guest area with fireplace. We really appreciated the clean linens and natural bath products after a day out.

The staff was exceptional with help if you needed but not overly clingy. They were such a life saver in a pinch. Santa Fe restaurants close around 9 pm during the week and we really appreciated the staff help when we arrived late, starving. Thanks to their condiment area we where were able to grab a quick bowl of soup and a wrap. When we were heading out early the next day we were able to obtain water and snacks to pack for our walk abouts and back country hikes. One of the best aspects was the delightful breakfast each morning that included a variety of options beyond mere toast and jam. If you have dietary needs or prefer a more holistic approach to breakfast this inn surpasses others with several options. It was so nice to be able leisurely eat in their lovely courtyard or have wine and cheese in the afternoons. Being able to easily park overnight, walk to all the downtown areas was a big bonus as well as having quiet spot to rest. We also enjoyed meeting the owner's poodle... Made us feel right at home. If we are in Santa Fe in the future we will certainly stop in again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for the nice words regarding your recent visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the suite. Our casitas feel like you have your own little home to come back to after a day of sight seeing. We have many hiking trails and are so glad that you were able to get into the outdoors and enjoy a part of Santa Fe that many don't know is nearby. Carmella, (owner's poodle) is not always here, so we are glad that you got to meet. We hope you return to the Inn and Santa Fe for another wonderful trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,243 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,604 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
600 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Property: Inn on the Alameda
Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing