We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Up there with the best whilst in the US!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Up there with the best whilst in the US!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the inn during June (2012) as part of our honeymoon road trip across the US.
I prebooked the hotel back in May, and whilst doing so, informed the hotel that we would be on honeymoon.
Well Im pleased to say that it was so worth it!
Upon checking in we were told that we had been upgraded (FOC) to one of the larger rooms. Our room was indeed large with its own terrace and was perfect for our needs. It had all of the mod cons-coffee making facilities, safe, air con etc.
The hotel itself is immaculate and has a beautiful new mexico theme to the decor and furnishings.
The staff were probably the nicest that we encountered on our whole trip (which included 12!different hotels) and were really helpful in resolving a matter with another hotel (via phone) in another state.
As great as all of the above were I think that the best thing about the hotel has to be the breakfast..we had never had the pleasure of eating a Mexican-esque breakfast before, and it was amazing.
If you ever have the immense fortune and pleasure of staying in Santa fe..then we would,without hesitation, recommend this great hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb_Swanson, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are so pleased that you chose the Inn for your honeymoon and that our occupancy afforded the upgrade for your celebration. Thank you for the accolades regarding the room and our staff, who were genuinely caring during your visit. We look forward to you returning for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    393
    79
    12
    8
See reviews for
340
1,067
73
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Came here for a wedding at the Hotel next door (La Posada). Rate was better here although our friends got an even better rate at the Inn and Spa at Loretto which is a 3 min walk down the street right next to the square.

It's all about expectations - our fault in that we should have confirmed whether they had a pool.

There is also no restaurant. Breakfast is served and it has basic items, fresh fruit etc and some quiches - but all is brought in so no way to have a typical breakfast served by most any other hotel. We tried to mitigate the kids' pickiness by getting their favorite waffles at the market but, alas, the hotel has no freezer! Finally, the wifi in the rooms is average at best - and the kind gentlemen at the front desk acknowledged the issue but said the hotel has not done anything about it.

Dear hotel management: wifi is like running water these days - if you offer it, make sure it works well - otherwise you will simply get poor feedback because of it. Id rather you charge me but have it work.

Well - if the above is not an issue, the Inn does the basics well- clean, attractive rooms, great location and kind, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent view. We want to confirm that the Inn had an issue with a POE port for our wireless during your visit which made the wireless in one of our buildings erratic. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused you during your time with us. Our IT did eventually resolve the issue and we are having no further issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

If these were letter grades, I'd give this property an "A-"

The good:
* Location. Close enough to the plaza (about 4 blocks) yet away from the crowds on busy weekends. Also just a block away from the start of Canyon Street for gallery-browsing.
* Friendly, helpful staff.
*Complimentary and reliable wifi connection in room.
* Free parking.
*24-hour jacuzzis
* Vegetarian-friendly, gluten-free friendly, and all-around friendly breakfast. The buffet has hearty options such as a potato frittata, veggie quiche, and quiche Lorraine – along with the usual assortment of pastries, bagels, and toast. There are also a good variety of healthy choices such as cottage cheese, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, and high-quality cereals/granola. All of this is complimentary -- they'll also make you an espresso for about $2. As someone else noted, the breakfast options were the same each day of our 3-day stay. I do wish they would have made a different type of quiche, for instance. We ended up going to a nearby coffeehouse/bookstore (Travel Bug, just around the corner) on the last day, just to have some variety.
* Happy hour from 4-5pm which included up to two glasses of wine or sangria (excellent) and a small buffet of good-quality cheeses, bread, hummos, olives, and veggies.

The not-so-good:
* Alameda St. This is a fairly busy street and can detract from the "resort-y" experience. We were in the third building of rooms, and to walk from the room to the lobby area for breakfast and happy hour, you essentially walk along the street. There is no interior path within the property that I could see. Not a big deal but just something to be aware of as you're forming a mental image of the place beforehand.
* The rooms were nice -- clean, functional, and large (we had a deluxe King) -- but the decor is a bit dated in my view. It could use a more modern take on Southwest style. I was expecting a more upscale look and feel for the price (we paid about $240/night in mid-June).
* Our ground floor private patio was very small and kind of claustrophobic.

Bottom line:
* I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mf-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I carefully researched the properties in Santa Fe before our trip, and we couldn't be happier with our choice. First it is an ideal location between the Plaza area and the Canyon art gallieries. It is very clean, up to date, free wifi, free parking, continental breakfast included, quiet, with fresh towels, linens, and a very good bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two room suite, which is actually a separate living area with doors to the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Sanchez suite during your recent visit to Santa Fe. For those guests interested in a future stay, room 142, 143 and 144 have two patios, a shared patio out front and a private patio off the king bedroom. Maybe we will see you in the winter so that you can enjoy the wood fireplace in the living room on your next visit. Thank you again for choosing the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

If the room had been regular priced, I would say it was overpriced; but we had a sale rate. We had a deluxe king room with a patio. It was very clean with a nice bathroom. Included was a hair dryer with 3 temps & 4 settings; that is almost unheard of! Wi-Fi worked very well. We did not use the hot tub, but it looked very nice. Wine and cheese hour includes 2 glasses and some fruit, veggies, & hummus. Breakfast included frittata, quiche, a large assortment of pastries, & vegetarian/gluten-free pastries. Front desk staff was very helpful and nice. A special thank you goes out to Debbie who answered all my questions over the phone before I made reservations; you know your level of service! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibrarianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the specific mention and I am so pleased I could be of help prior to your arrival. We appreciate you sharing the details of our Inn so that other guests have a clear idea of what we offer. We look forward to your return. Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had two rooms (king and king Deluxe)....came with friends from TX. They did not have a small refrig but they could share ours. LOCATION is perfect, we walked everywhere. All enjoyed the wine/cheese hour and breakfast was fine, except it was the same every day. We stayed 3 days. Our upstairs balcony was TINY, but we did enjoy use of the communal siiting area and patio in our building. Kuddos to the desk staff, every one of them were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: In summer there is not a need for the fireplace. Book early if you want a regular deluxe King. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sewbusy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! When we arrived we were given a complimentary upgrade from a deluxe king w/ fireplace to a mini-suite, which was a wonderful surprise! The suite was extremely private with a locked gate to enter. It had it's own courtyard including a porch with chairs and a small table. The room was well-appointed, quiet, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included, and we enjoyed several delicious items from the large variety that was offered. There is also a daily complimentary wine & cheese hour from 4 to 5pm which we did not try. The Inn is located within short walking distance to the Plaza. The staff are very professional and helpful should you need any assistance. We stayed in several hotels during our trip and this was the finest. This is definitely the place we would stay upon returning to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the accolades regarding your recent visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Santa Fe and your time at the Inn. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Property: Inn on the Alameda
Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Alameda 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing