We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We spent the Christmas of 2008 at the hotel. The suite was small (especially the bathroom), but nice enough. We did not intend to spend much time indoors anyway. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the free wi-fi, which does not seem to be widely available yet. The hotel seems to be a bit understaffed as it was completely booked during Christmas and hence there were rather long lines at the check-in, concierge, etc. Since it was the holiday season, the guests and staff remained very gracious about the fact. So, I would say that it is a lovely place (with an awesome adobe fireplace and a very comfortable lobby), the staff is friendly but insufficient, the rooms comfortable but rather small. The prices are a bit high for what one gets, but it being Sante Fe, I suppose it figures. We did not use the shuttle, but that seems to be the biggest plus to the hotel.

I also reviewed the Amaya restaurant at the Hotel Santa Fe.

  • Liked — The comfortable lobby with its huge adobe fireplace.
  • Disliked — Insufficiency of the staff.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maikenike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    400
    148
    52
    26
See reviews for
309
724
81
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

For an establishment that touts its spirit of New Mexico welcoming and warmth, it's very hard to understand why the Hotel Santa Fe has now adopted a policy of forbidding its premises - including its driveway - to non-guest passengers of the only shuttle service between Santa Fe and the ABQ Airport, 65 miles away. We locals call it inconsiderate and arrogant, and we will stop recommending this hotel to those who ask us for suggestions.

Tio Mauricio

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank TioMauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 2, 2008
The Rest of the Story

Over the years, we have encouraged the shuttle services to use our front entrance driveway to drop off and pick up both guests and non-guests of the Hotel in the hope that it would become a convenient and familiar meeting place for the community. During this time, the service has significantly increased and in recent years, on a number of occasions, there have been as many as four or five shuttle vans parked in our driveway. On a daily basis, we received approximately 50 to 70 (no exaggeration!) phone calls and/or inquiries to our front desk staff asking us “where is the shuttle?”, “why is the shuttle late?”, “where does the shuttle stop?”, “how do I make a reservation?”, “what time does the shuttle get here?”, “how often does the shuttle run?”, etc., etc., etc., which I am sure you can imagine, becomes tiresome over a long period of time! Combine that with many of the shuttle guests in the morning helping themselves to coffee, tea and a croissant or danish in the Hotel lobby without paying, making a mess in the restrooms provided for our guests, and then add the daily inconvenience of picking up cigarette butts from shuttle passengers who chose not to use the ash urns provided. Also, on a continuing basis, the drivers of the cars dropping off non-guests, determined that it was appropriate to totally block the drive way access for several minutes at a time while they unloaded their passengers. Also, a number of non-guests felt it appropriate to leave their car in our parking lot for several days or a week or two at a time while they were out of town. The final straw occurred during the month before this courtesy was cancelled, when on two occasions, non-guests who were dropped off from the shuttle felt it appropriate to scream profanities on their cell phones at the person who was supposed to pick them up and was apparently late (and on one occasion kicked the trash receptacle over). This resulted in complaints from resident Hotel guests, who were either trying to sleep or have a relaxing time in the guest rooms next to the shuttle stop, justifiably complaining to myself and resulting in necessary adjustments to their room charges.

Sadly, a great majority of wonderful non-guests now have to suffer the inconvenience of being dropped off next to the downtown parking lot because of the unpleasant and arrogant behavior of a few. Our goal as hoteliers is to provide a comfortable and pleasant experience for our guests. I hope you can relate to the decision we were forced to make for our guests comfort.

. . . and in the words of Paul Harvey, “and now you know the rest of the story”. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed for a 3-day weekend in early November. We stayed in the Hacienda area (newer rooms with fireplaces). The look was good, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was nice but not swank, and the price was commensurate. The best feature was the free shuttle to the plaza and restaurants. We used it several times, giving the driver a tip. The brand new workout room was well equipped, and there is a new spa, which we did not take advantage of. We were happy and would return to this hotel. OUR ONE TIP... The concierge in the Hacienda area pushed for us to eat at only the very top restaurants. He just couldn't understand why we would choose the ones we had picked in advance (via Tripadvisor). We stuck to our picks and were very happy. I am convinced he gets a fee for referring to the other places.

  • Liked — overall look/feel
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jostvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

The Hacienda is the upscale hotel in the Hotel Santa Fe.

The Lobby and lounge of the Hotel Santa Fe where the check in is, for the Hacienda, is Basic looking. Becuase you check into the Hotel Santa Fe first, and a lot of the services like the free shuttle and the computers are in the Hotel Santa Fe, you do not ge a 4 star feeling throughout the stay.

However, the Hacienda section building, and lobby, is definately nicer, with very nice furniture and artwork, and a nice private upstairs lounge where you have breakfast and drinks at night. It is more nice and cozy, than lux, but still nice. More like a really nice Cabin or Chalet . However, the location is a far walk from the main plaza, but the free shuttle is practical and minimizes any downside to the distance. the only real downside of the location is that is it not a picutresque area for a stroll around the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

If you are looking for something Big, grand and more impressive with a cosmoplitan feel, closer to the Plaza look at the El Dorado. But I can imagine in high season it may be hectic there as it is large hotel, and when busy, a guest there could feel invisible.

The Hacienda on he other hand, because is is smaller, you would probably would feel more attention paid to you even when it is busy.


That said we were happy with the hotel and thought it was vey nice, but we got a very good rate and only paid $140 night the end of October. For that price we had nothing to complain about.

  • Liked — Amenities in room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sonry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed December 27-January 4. This was an absolutely wonderful hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Especially helpful was the butler service. We were able to get many suggestions for fun activities and expect guidance on which of the many restaurants to select for dining.

The room was very spacious and extremely clean. The complementary continental breakfast was delish. Fresh fruit, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, coffee, juices, cereal, and if you go over to the main restaurant for breakfast, you're able to partake in their paid buffet for no additional cost to Hacienda guests. This is a great bargain -- made to order waffles, pancakes, omelets, etc.

The gift shop is amazing. The local artist that fills the shop with paintings is a former tribal chief of the local indian tribe. Very spiritual and knowledgable about the area. Most of the items in the shop seem to have a story about who made them, why they were made, etc. Very cool for a hotel gift shop.

Had dinner new year's eve in the restaurant on-site. While they don't have a big to-do for new years, they did have a fabulous menu and there was a local native american flute player that played his flute in the lobby amongst a small crowd sitting in big overstuffed chairs and sofas with a hot, crackling fire in the fireplace. It was so amazing.

Ok.. just booked my trip to New Olreans for this new years. After writing this review, I'm totally bummed out that I'm not going back to the Hacienda at the Hotel Santa Fe. :(

By the way, the hotel is actually owned by the Picuris tribe so there are many authentic indian artifacts and art that decorate the hotel.

Oh.. the skiing at Santa Fe Ski Basin was fantastic. It's not the most difficult skiing, but it is one of the most beautiful. It was seriously breathtaking. I highly recommend it. Taos is also right up the highway ~ they allow snowboarding now.

  • Liked — Spacious, comfortable luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing -- it was absolutely perfect
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sarklystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2008

The hotel is very nice with Southwestern decor. Bathroom is small, but adequate. We were in a suite. The price is reasonable, but because of the downturn, they are overly emphasizing cost reductions,scrimping on maintenance and staff. The property is in need of lots of little maintenance. We had a loose faucet in our room and a ceiling access in the shower was rusting through. They were doing electrical work in the hallways and stairways and would leave parts and scraps on the floor after they were done. They have only maintenance person on staff and he can't get to all the projects. The elevators were not working for part of our stay (and we heard the staff mention that this is a recurring problem). One bartender handles all drinks for the bar, restaurant and entire hotel, and also serves as the waitress in the lounge area of the lobby. She made it obvious to patrons that she was overworked and was frankly a bit rude about it. The staff is courteous, but not overtly friendly. The free shuttle is a great feature. This could be a great hotel if they would just staff and maintain it correctly.

  • Liked — Southwestern decor and free shuttle
  • Disliked — Poor maintenance and mixed friendliness of staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmuch024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner/General Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 3, 2008
In response to your comments concerning your recent stay - please accept my sincere apologies that the faucet in your bathroom was loose. I should however point out to you that we have always only had one maintenance person/engineer on staff and a painter on staff, however, we have also always employed professional electricians, mechanical engineers and plumbers for our main plant to ensure it always receives the proper attention. I can assure you we are not cutting back and never have on our maintenance programs. I am sorry that you encountered our fire alarm electricians in the Hotel corridor who would have been responsible for the elevator malfunction, as they were repairing wiring to our alarm system following an unfortunate recent strike from a lightning storm (the first time ever and hopefully the last!!!) - everything is indeed fully functional at this time and that cart with electrical materials has long since gone! I do thank you for staying with us and hope that perhaps you will return and stay with us again soon. In the meantime, I wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving and joyous Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Living in the area, I’ve passed the Hotel Santa Fe on numerous occasions. When booking a room in Santa Fe, I’ve never considered this property because of its location. It’s off the beaten path of anything typical in Santa Fe. Too many blocks from the plaza for an easy stroll, yet close enough to not justify driving a car to and fro, it’s never seemed the ideal location. (In the end, it’s about a 15 to 20 minute walk each way to the main action of the plaza.)

The Picuris Pueblo of New Mexico holds majority ownership of this hotel. The property features adobe design and is decorated with Native American/New Mexican-style artwork and furniture. A bit over 15 years old, the hotel is beginning to show a need for renovation, but it has not lost its overall appeal and edge.

I had been booked (via a conference rate) for a traditional king. I arrived late in the afternoon and was upgraded to a Santa Fe suite. Under normal circumstances, this upgrade would reflect about a $50 upcharge. My room had a small living/sitting area with a fridge, sink and wetbar. Adjacent to the sitting area was a small balcony (only large enough for standing—not sitting). Through an archway was the king-sized bed. Both the bedroom and sitting area featured traditional tube TVs. The shower/tub and toilet were separate from a small sink area that, in total, comprised the bathroom. The particular floor I occupied also featured complimentary coffee and tea each morning.

My room was quite nice. The furniture was in good condition and typical Santa Fe design. The carpet was worn but clean. The shower/tub area was the most worn area and could certainly use an upgrade. The bed was ever so comfortable and had a lovely, warm duvet cover. I knew the property was booked on the nights of my stay, so I was stunned at how quiet it was. I can’t remember the last time I experienced such a calm, quiet hotel.

(I should note that a colleague of mine had been upgraded to a room in Hotel Santa Fe’s La Hacienda section. While I didn’t see the room, she said it was stunning. Its configuration sounded similar, with each room being larger and a fireplace featured in the sitting area. Complimentary cocktails and snacks were provided each evening in a commons area near her room.)

As part of the conference, most meals were provided. I was very impressed with the service and quality of food. We had another meal at a well-known property in Santa Fe, and it paled in comparison to the food we had been served at the Hotel Santa Fe.

The lobby and bar areas are small but feel intimate and cozy. In comparison to the Hotel El Dorado and other conference mainstays around the plaza, this property had an edge in terms of comfort. The only complaint members of my group had was the overall distance to the plaza/shops/hotels. The Hotel Santa Fe does provide complimentary shuttle service. If I were traveling as an individual—as opposed to a conference—I’d take advantage of the shuttle. However, as meetings ended, masses flocked to the shuttles, making it less than desirable.

On a side note, the Hotel Santa Fe does NOT charge extra for parking. So, if you’ve traveled with a rental car, this is a bonus of anywhere from $15 - $20 a day.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing