We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our visit at Hotel Santa Fe very very much. The location is within walking distance to both the Railyard District and the Plaza, which is great. If you prefer not to walk to the Plaza, the complimentary shuttle service will take you and pick you up. Our room was nice, clean, and included updated amenities. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Santa Fe!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgs7852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and we do hope to see you again soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    388
    143
    52
    26
See reviews for
296
703
80
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
280 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel. Whoever designed this did a great job. There is native american art everywhere. it is very clean and clearly the Picuris Pueblo takes pride in their hotel. We stayed in the Hacienda which is sort of a boutique hotel within the hotel. Excellent service with continental breakfast served in a very nice room with a patio, also included wine and cheese at the end of the day. The grounds are lovely and the restaurant good. The pool is very nice, but a bit small, especially with a lot of screaming kids. They allow dogs. A couple of nits....there were two very nice, comfortable chairs in our suite, but no lamp between them, so you couldn't sit and read. I requested a lamp and they brought one promptly. The other nit is that we had a lovely patio with nice tables and chairs, but no umbrella. I'm sure if I asked they would have brought me one. They also have free shuttle service to places in Santa Fe. Definitely a hotel to consider. In the Hacienda request room 605.

Room Tip: Room 605 in the Hacienda
See more room tips
Green Features: They are supportive of environmental practices. They encourage you to not refresh linens every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Silly of us not to have an umbrella on that patio and already taken care of!

Equally sill not to have that lamp in place, but glad we responded quickly to your request.

Very many thanks for staying with us and I am so delighted to learn you enjoyed yourselves. With apologies for those nits, but please come stay with us again!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

For about $325 got a very nice room in their special hotel within a hotel, a butler, free continental plus breakfast, and a wine and cheese reception in the early evening. In addition got free shuttles to right where you wanted to go in the main Santa Fe area. This was very helpful as you could just park your car and have them take you to shop or to eating places. They made dinner reservations too. It was not right in the center of the action so quiet. Close enough for very short and fast shuttles.

Room Tip: The 6th floor room we had, 602 was great.
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask you to keep your towels as long as you can.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granburytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Very many thanks for staying with us and I am so delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of some of the amenities we offer. Hopefully you will be back soon?

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently stayed three nights with our teenage daughter. The Hacienda and Spa section is very quiet and peaceful. My daughter had room service and loved it. We had a suite so there were 2 TV's and a fireplace and really nice size patio/deck. The Hotel Santa Fe section has a beautiful bar, restaurant, and patio. The one thing we loved was the free transportation. The drivers were so helpful and it seemed like they were magic, you call and they appear. We would go back, I had thought I might like La Fonda better but after going by and seeing the crowds that are in and out of there I like the quietness and peacefulness of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am so glad you had a quiet and peaceful time with us and indeed avoided staying with the crowds!

Many thanks for staying with us - our drivers are waiting for your return!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a designated conference hotel that required a one night pre-payment to secure a reservation. Given than, I had assumed it was a quality hotel. However, it was underwhelming and the wireless signal in my room was so weak that I needed to leave the hotel multiple times per day to find adequate internet access. That was annoying, but the lack of security at the hotel was downright alarming. On our final night, some woman used a master key to enter our room for no legitimate purpose. We had not had any turndown service at all during our stay, and the woman certainly did not announce herself as housekeeping. When she turned the lights on in the anteroom, and I exclaimed to my husband: "Someone is in the room!" If she had been there to do any work on behalf of the hotel, she would have had adequate time to walk four steps from the door to the area visible from the bed. However, she never made it past where my laptop was sitting on the side table next to the door. The next morning we discovered my computer with the charging cord pulled out. All we heard her say when she realized we were aware she was in the room was, "Sorry," before she darted out the door. As we were in our pajamas, we could not exactly chase her down the hall, and she had not managed to get out the door with any of our possessions. But, what if we had been out to dinner that night? What if I had not woken up? There was no housekeeping cart visible in the hallway when we looked out the peephole and, again, there had never been any turndown service on any previous night.

When we reported these issues to the night manager, he was dismissive. He did not seem concerned at all, and merely said, "Huh! Sorry about that." He did not record any information, and when we tried to give him details or ask questions about video surveillance and recorded key access, he actually seemed irritated. He confirmed there was no turndown service, told us there was no way of knowing who used a master key, and there were no female managers on duty that night. I followed up with an email to the booking manager, who had the general manager respond to me. Supposedly the general manager could determine who had used the master key, and that woman admitted to not announcing herself. The claim was that this was a turndown attendant who had provided service to us every night (supposedly even at times when we knew we had been in the room). The manager further suggested that the invasion was our fault for not hanging the "do not disturb" sign on our door. So, the hotel staff preferred to blame the guests rather than investigate why their employee had not properly announced herself, not performed any of her duties on any night of our stay, and acted suspiciously on the one night she entered our room. The "sincerest apologies" of the manager rang rather hollow when he was so busy blaming us and covering up for his suspicious staff.

There are plenty of nice places to stay in Santa Fe -- and that are far closer to the square. This was a healthy walk from the downtown along a busy street. The surest way to protect yourself and focus on the joy of being in Santa Fe is to pick another hotel. We will certainly not be returning to this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
As mentioned to you and confirmed by our computerized key-lock security systems, and in spite of your remarks to the contrary, the door to your room was only opened at 7:40pm that evening by our housekeeping turndown service - as it was on the previous two evenings by the same key/same person!!

Yes, we admit that the attendant did not knock/announce herself properly and for that we profusely apologized!!!

We do NOT have a security problem, nor do we create/imagine information!

I acknowledge you will not be returning - so be it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a beautiful, heritage hotel that is in the heart of Santa Fe, but because of the gorgeous old trees you feel far removed from the hustle and bustle. It was wonderful for my family who loved the pool and the fact that we could walk to the roadrunner train station.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crucesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
And we loved having you and your family stay with us! Many thanks!

May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a superb hotel with great rooms and staff to match. Stay at this place and you will remember it forever. I arrived in Santa Fa in the middle of a huge thunderstorm and after struggling for a while to locate this hotel my room wasn't quite ready but it was well worth the wait. So if your visiting Santa Fa do yourself a favour and stay here.........you won't regret a moment!

Room Tip: None - just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 444Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are indeed so thankful for these “huge storms” in this drought stricken region, but thankful that you did find us!

Very many thanks for your wonderful words of encouragement and please come stay with us again soon!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing