We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WONDERFUL OASIS IN SANTA FE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
EDMOND, OKLAHOMA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL OASIS IN SANTA FE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Santa Fe for three nights for the Winter Indian Market at Thanksgiving. Outstanding room, wonderful staff and great dining experience. Beautiful Native American Art Collection displayed in the Hacienda. Great location in Santa Fe. Wonderful shuttle service downtown in a restored English purple taxi. Native flute music in the restaurant in the evenings on Friday and Saturday. Can't wait to go back on our next visit!

Room Tip: Stay in the Hacienda, outstanding quality in the rooms. King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celticzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we can’t wait to see you again!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    386
    142
    51
    26
See reviews for
292
689
79
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've been coming to Santa Fe on business a lot lately and finally got to stay at this hotel after my clients raved about it. Now I see why. This hotel is almost like an old lodge - classic Santa Fe adobe -style architecture, big kiva fireplace in the lounge, native american art on the walls, wooden furniture in the rooms. Very cozy, warm and culturally interesting. But it has all the modern conveniences too. Great Wifi. Great business center. Easy walking distance to the Plaza, the Whole Foods and the Railyard. Shuttle for almost anywhere you want to go so you don't have to drive. The service from the front desk, room service -- all super.
The food here is especially delicious - great chef. The spa is fantastic - its a bit of a splurge but so worth it - best massage I've ever had. Ask for Sherri or Lance. They are both world class.
The hotel is owned by the Picaris Pueblo tribe.. you can't tell it except for the wonderful gift shop which carries a large number of books, art and jewelry that are from this area.
Not expensive compared to other places in town if you catch it on on a special. Book in advance as it appears to be a popular place. Second floor of the old building where my room was is very quiet and has nice decks to sit out on and huge windows.

Room Tip: Second floor wing 260s is very quiet and the rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for writing such an extensive review to tripadvisor.com and your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your business will continue to bring you back to Santa Fe on a regular basis. Many thanks to your clients for the recommendation!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

While a little ways away from the square, this hotel gave us a lot of extras! Wonderful continental breakfast, cookies and fruit when you return in the afternoon, a umbrella to use on the day it rained, wine and cheese in the afternoon, chocolate on your pillow, fruit in your room, bathrobe and slippers, and free shuttle/taxi service within a mile of the hotel!
The room was very nice and bed was fine. They do charge a daily fee for all these extras, but we found it worth it!
We did have a noisy person above us who stopped around at 7 am, but the hotel took care of it and upgraded us to a bigger room the following night.

Spa was not really a spa. It offered a few different services, but did not have a nice space for you to lounge in between your services. Only one bathroom and one shower, so it was a bit awkward when multiple people were trying to shower and dress in a tiny space.
My massage was good.
Staff was very very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a top level room to avoid noisy people above you. Avoid being by the room where they serve t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Your point concerning the Spa is understood and we are hopeful we may be able to expand it next year! But please note that we have just added a sauna!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The Hacienda at the Hotel Santa Fe is amazing!!! This was our first trip and we will definitely be back. The staff is top notch and willing to help with whatever we needed. The Hacienda rooms are a little more expensive but well worth the money. We had a great complimentary breakfast in the mornings and a happy hour each evening with a good assortment of wines, beer, cheeses and crackers. The Butler staff is great too! They cater to your every whim and did an exceptional job pressing some of my clothes. The location is great and within walking distance to many attractions. And if you don't feel like walking the hotel offers a local shuttle service which we used several times. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle to and from the Santa Fe airport. Also one thing we noticed was how quiet the Hacienda side of the hotel was which made our stay very peaceful. The hotel has a small bar but has a good selection of spirits, wine and beer. The Amaya restaurant inside the hotel has really good food. Overall I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The only thing I wanted to utilize but could not was the hot tub. I assume it was closed due to coming out of the winter season.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hnrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Your “amazing” review is greatly appreciated and so very encouraging to us all! Thank you so much for taking time to write to tripadvisor.com and we all hope that you will return one day soon.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

See comment about "resort fee at bottom". In all a lovely stay with nice staff and very nice to sit in lobby with the dogs by a real fire while having breakfast.
The concierge arranged a pet sitter, Fran, who came to the room and picked up the dogs so we could sightsee. There is a shuttle to everywhere nearby, even the Museum Hill where there are 5 excellent museums to see and a restaurant not to miss. The website photos led me to believe our room for four had beds in different rooms, so don't make that mistake, get a suite and an adjoining single.

They were booked for those so intended up paying an additional $200+/night room. Here is my one non flattering comment. There is a resort fee of $18/ night or not you use the exercise equipment or hot tub. But if they charge everyone...then it should just be part of the standard rate. It makes the rates look lower and more competitive that way, but it isn't forthright. Also, the Tax is high, so don't believe for a minute the room is only going to cost you $159/night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyfish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am sorry you were confused by our website and I will certainly look in to that although any “additional” connecting room is always an “additional” room charge!

Your comment concerning the A.R.T./Resort Fee is noted and you may wish to read a detailed response I made to a similar review last month.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am happy to know that Fran was a good dog sitter!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

A mediocre place filed with a rotten staff. Avoid this place at all costs because the room service quality food was overpriced and mediocre at best and the hotel overall was not at all world-class. Spend your money else where.

Room Tip: To get the best room simply go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OneOrchidLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Your unkind remarks are not appreciated nor understood, as you will note from most other reviews that we do care and provide great service!

I am sorry that you did not have the courtesy to express your disappointment when you were staying with us so we could possibly have addressed your problem! Nonetheless, no matter now!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We really liked this hotel. As Australians travelling it was easy to find and easy to park. Great room on the ground floor close to the lobby. For us we could easily walk to the Plaza which takes 10 min but the taxi shuttle provided by the hotel was incredible efficient. So close to the Rail Runner train and small boutique shops thus for us was also a plus. What we really liked after walking around all day was the great bar and restaurant area with the amazing fireplace. Very cosy with great food on offer. We ate in two nights we were there. Good price for the room and facilities. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you like pool and spa I would ask for the pool wing. In Spring only the spa was in use so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueCocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am so delighted to learn that our guests from “down under” had a great time and enjoyed their stay!

Very many thanks for staying with us and we all wish you well on your travels!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing