We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Find in Santa Fe, NM”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Three women, on a 'Gals week away', searched for lodgings close enough to the Plaza, but reasonable enough to stay for a week. We found it, and more!! This clean and spacious hotel is 51% owned by the Picuris Pueblo, and many of the workers were part of the Pueblo. The rate for a double queen suite was quite reasonable, even though we were just ahead of spring break season. A friendly bar on site is situated near the dining area, so one can choose a three course meal or a lighter 'bar meal'. The food was excellent, as was the service. In fact, the dining room offers a prix fixe meal each night for $23. which includes an appetizer/salad/soup, entree, and dessert. Complimentary coffee, tea and fixings are available on each floor, and the dining room served a breakfast each day for around $11.00 if one chose to eat there. Our room had a small stocked fridge (which we cleared for our use) and microwave.
We were able to walk to the Plaza where most of the museums and tourist sites are located - but bring a map!! Santa Fe streets curve and intersect, making direction finding somewhat more tricky. All in all, I highly recommend this experience, and three women in a suite with only one bathroom (sink and mirrors separate from bath and toilet), found it most convenient. Small balcony for fresh air and star gazing if desired. We did not use the pool, hot tub (both outside), the spa or fitness room, but they are available for guests. There are several shuttle vans to deliver and pick up guests to any site in town - no charge, but tip requested. Judy C.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the trim to write such a comphrehensive review. Your compliments are encouraging and appreciated and we hope you gals will come back on day soon. Many thanks!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

i wanted to share my experience with customer service at this Hotel. I made an error in my booking that could have been very difficult to sort out. The customer service person I spoke to, Penpa, reacted calmly and professionally to the mistake, and came up with an option that was very fair immediately. He was friendly and personable in the process. I was so relieved that he was able to come up with the solution. If only all hotels had this customer friendly attitude in tight situations!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitarpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Our Tibetan reservationist is indeed a delight and I am so glad to learn that he took such good care of you. I have passed your compliments on to him!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As a previous resident of Santa Fe I have known of this hotel for some time and thought it was one of the nicer properties around town.....maybe from the out side . Check in was fine and as we booked this on Priceline, I was expecting the room to be at the lower end.....I was right! The rooms are very small, as is the bathroom, the TV is an old analog model in a bulky tv cabinet. Really in this day and age shouldn't a hotel like this at least have a $300 lcd flat screen.The bed and pillows were horrible. Anyway this is what happens when you book through a website like priceline.....but the rate of $70 per night was unbeatable!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucsonfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We are currently installing flat screen TVs throughout and I am sorry to learn that you didn’t like the bed, as these are also always being changed out. I wish I knew which room you were in so I could figure out the problem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had been in many Santa Fe hotels over many years and tried this one out. Glad I did. Discovered a newly developing area of Santa Fe that was interesting and gave us a new feeling for this city which is our favorite. Good deal, roof top spa hot tub. Free bottle of wine and cheese reception from friendly Lubo the butler. Free papers and full breakfast. No other place in Santa Fe does it all better. Convenient parking. Nice grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for trying us out! And please come back soon. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and met Lubo who has been with us for 12 years!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location, walking distance to most of what we wanted to see, free shuttle service in the london-style taxi cars was pretty cool.

Room was clean and well maintained. Not very well lit, but I found this to be true throughout the city. Not a real negative, just kind of how things are there.

We were on a family trip with kids and the staff were exceptional. No problems at all. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmartinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Great to learn that you and your family had a great experience and thank you for staying with us!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel has beautiful art inside, a very good restaurant, and generally lovely and tasteful facilities. The Room was smaller than I expected and I was on the ground floor with a very ugly view--so ask to see options. The rooms are dark. They are also quite, which is wonderful.Compared to the many luxury hotels in the area, I think this one is a bit overpriced. I stayed in the Hacienda for the free wifi and breakfast on the 6th floors overlooking the city, but I think maybe the other rooms are a better value, not sure. Fitness room is ok mostly for aerobic workout. It's ridiculous that one cannot use the nearby restroom in the spa when one is in the gym!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the lack of a restroom at the gym is indeed a design flaw! With apologies!

Please do try different room options on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

As luck would have it, my hip went out on our road trip out from South Texas. Margaret worked so hard to relieve my pain. Thanks to her, I was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. She's a miracle worker. We didn't stay in the hotel, but it was recommended to us because the spa at La Fonda was closed. The spa was beautiful, clean, and peaceful, with great showers, too. Mmmm...just thinking about it makes me want to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

But please also stay with us next time!! So pleased to know that Margaret took care of hip!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,526 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
706 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,680 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $153 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing