We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hacienda Suite: Romance Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hacienda Suite: Romance Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this elite hotel in a fantastic city. The staff is very accommodating, the restaurant and spa on-site are up to par, and the location is fine for walking downtown on warm nights. I would highly recommend this hotel for romantic getaways. This is the only hotel I will stay at in my future visits to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The Hacienda Suites have pleasant gas fireplace and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fort06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation which is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    314
    127
    44
    24
See reviews for
254
555
68
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love the location, and the price was right. Nice decorating, clean, and with lots of natural light in the room. I opted for a junior suite, and the extra space was really nice. For a multi-day stay, I would consider it mandatory. However... The walls are thin. It's way too easy to hear the conversation in the next room. The folks were using a normal volume, and I heard everything. It made me alter my voice significantly when talking to my wife. The resort fee ($15) made me a little cranky. One of the perks it apparently pays for is "free" wi-fi. Doesn't the resort fee make it "not free"? The real problem was that I was constantly dropped. And I mean constantly. It is absolutely inadequate, and there is no excuse for that. So, those are my main complaints. No aural isolation, which is a major fault, and crappy wi-fi connectivity, which is an irritation. The front desk staff I liked a lot. Very nice people. And the concierge lady was just the most friendly, helpful person one could want. All in all, I won't go back. I hate thin walls.

Room Tip: Junior suite provides a very nice sitting area. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
So sorry to learn of your noisy neighbors, as we did spend a lot of time during construction to deal with “sound attenuation” issues, i.e. stagger studs, insulation, etc. I wish I knew which room you stayed in so I can fix the problem and also the wifi issue, as most everywhere else in the Hotel, it is very good.

I do hope to hear from you and apologies for the inconvenience, but please give us another opportunity to take care of you.

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After attending a business meeting in Albuquerque, I brought my wife with me to check out Santa Fe for a couple of days. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with the Explorer Package. What a bargain this was and it was well worth it. The package included a full breakfast each morning, a 3 course Prix Fixe dinner and a 2 hour historic personal tour with our guide Nat. The breakfasts were great and filling as you could help yourself to the continental breakfast buffet as well as order a prepared main dish. A great way to bulk up for the day's adventures. Dinner had some good choices and was just okay. However, we were entertained by a Native American flautist who also played Spanish guitar. It was so relaxing and wonderful that we bought one of his CD's after the performance. Our package came with a junior suite that was comfortable and relaxing. Only downside was the sheets in the bed. They were somewhat starchy and not a soft cotton. The historic tour with Nat was entertaining. Nat is a lifetime resident of Santa Fe and his knowledge of its history and his presentation was very entertaining. The hotel offers a shuttle service to most of the tourist attractions and great restaurants. There are so many wonderful things to see and do in Santa Fe. We will be returning in the Spring for a longer vacation and we plan to stay at the Hotel Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing your critique to tripadvisor.com and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Delighted to learn that you greatly enjoyed your tour with Nat, as for the first time, he was “panned” by a recent guest commentary.

We look forward to seeing you in the Spring!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe several years ago. When we decided to return to Santa Fe for Valentine's weekend it seemed the only choice.The charm and ambiance of this lovely hotel won us over from the start. The staff is wonderful, the large rooms clean, very comfortable and cozy with their gas-log fireplaces. Great beds! We were fortunate to be there for Ronald Roybal's (Native American Music Award nominee - beautiful flute and guitar music inspired by indigenous America) weekend performances in front of the welcoming pinon wood fire in the lounge area. We both look very much forward to returning to this wonderfully relaxing hotel. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us again and your kind words are greatly appreciated and encouraging!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a no smoking room, but the shared ventilation system made the room reek of cigarettes. There is a $15 resort fee in addition to room cost. No in room coffee, and coffee wasn't available until 7am in lobby. The Internet access signal was weak and would drop frequently. Only hacienda guests can use outdoor hot tub, not hotel guests. No restroom near fitness room ; sign directs guest to go back to room if that is needed. The beds were comfortable, towels large, and location great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
With apologies for the smoke. All of our rooms are smoke free, but very occasionally a guest will “break the rules” and it is certainly an expensive/time consuming challenge to clean up afterwards!

We do have a hot tub just off the Lobby by the pool at the Hotel and don’t understand why you were not advised accordingly!

With apologies for the inconvenience, but please come back and stay with us again!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We didn't experience any difficulties at this hotel but I can't work up a bunch of excitement about it. Front desk personnel were helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the location was good. I agree that the walls seem thin - we couldn't hear people talking but could when they laughed loudly. Woke up to people running in the halls at 4 am. but the noise stopped pretty quickly. Best part of the location is it's in walking distance to Tomasita's - great local food. We were there to ski and were pleasantly surprised by the Santa Fe ski area. It only took about 30 minutes to get there from the hotel. Overall, a good experience, but the word for this hotel, for me, is "adequate."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATexas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We constantly strive to be more than adequate, as you can see from so many other commentaries. We promise to “wow” you next time!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me begin with the caveat of this critique that if they weren't claiming to be "high-end" I would accept some of the shortcomings, but if you are going to claim it, then you better have service/facilities to match. Okay, so I wanted, and intended, to love this hotel. In fact, I pushed for it when another couple brought up a different hotel. To start, I should have known there were going to be perpetual issues after all the challenges associated with just making reservations. I called the hotel, versus just booking on their website, as wanted to clarify not only the package we were planning to do but ensure rooms could be reserved near each other as we were traveling with another couple. Well, 1+ hours and 3 hang-ups (their end) later, I had been told they had no availability even though rooms were showing available on their site (and numerous others). Having given up on getting support over the phone (even though they had suggested that was the safest way to ensure the two reservations were coordinated), I ended up just booking on line (making the note about rooms together). I wish I could say the hotel experience made up for the initial frustration... it did not! First, let me assure you the Santa Fe Hotel and Hacienda are not the same property (don't have same lobby/check-in/service). As you enter the Santa Fe Hotel lobby there is a giant table greeting you where a concierge sits for some hours of the day. Problem with that is there is nowhere else to gather at the entrance so any more than 2 parties arriving/departing at the same time overwhelm the front desk. I will say we got checked in with relative ease but with no explanation as to how to set-up the two tours or dinner that were included in our package (all of which required reservations). After getting to our suites, which were beside each other (yeah), I called to ask about coordinating the tours and was told they would check into and get back to me (which admittedly they did, but what if I hadn't asked; we would have just "lost" those items).
The rooms: okay as to space, if you get suites, but bathrooms are small and balconies may as well not exist. Don't get room 375 as you have the pleasure of the ice machine right beside you;
The restaurant: Breakfast rocks (the Breakfast Burrito, Huevos Rancheros, and Cinnamon French Toast are awesome); but dinner is disappointing in comparison (and especially considering the awesome options in town); dinner is extra disappointing if you get the package that includes it as they severely limit what you can have and I assure you they don't include the top options;
The bar: Pretty much part of the restaurant and not manned well to keep up with the restaurant, catering rooms, and the actual bar area;
The Spa: Expensive, poorly run, and hard to make reservations for before or during a stay;
Housekeeping: GREAT!
The Front Desk Staff: Friendly and clueless; here's a great example - the front desk actually asked my husband to fix their mistake with one of the tours they contract with when they didn't accurately account for who had already paid on the tour (They gave my husband the tour guides cell number and asked him to call. Really? Wrong on so many levels).
Additionally, DO NOT do the SANTA FE tour (either via package or per the brochure in the lobby). It is horrible. "Nat" is a realtor for his "real job" and after the 1st hour, you are pretty much on a real estate tour.
Finally, as I mentioned, we were traveling with another couple and booked the exact same package, but our bills were $200 different after check-out. Admittedly, I haven't followed up here as think we were charged correctly while the other couple ended up getting a night for free, but still shows the lack of competence considering we made reservations, checked in, and checked out at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corbyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and please accept my apologies for the reservation complications which are certainly not acceptable.

I checked on your accounts and assure you that both parties were charged the same amount!

Your unhappiness with Nat, our tour guide, is a first! But again, apologies.

Sorry we did not take better care of you!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing