We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Too many other nicer options to ever stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Too many other nicer options to ever stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me begin with the caveat of this critique that if they weren't claiming to be "high-end" I would accept some of the shortcomings, but if you are going to claim it, then you better have service/facilities to match. Okay, so I wanted, and intended, to love this hotel. In fact, I pushed for it when another couple brought up a different hotel. To start, I should have known there were going to be perpetual issues after all the challenges associated with just making reservations. I called the hotel, versus just booking on their website, as wanted to clarify not only the package we were planning to do but ensure rooms could be reserved near each other as we were traveling with another couple. Well, 1+ hours and 3 hang-ups (their end) later, I had been told they had no availability even though rooms were showing available on their site (and numerous others). Having given up on getting support over the phone (even though they had suggested that was the safest way to ensure the two reservations were coordinated), I ended up just booking on line (making the note about rooms together). I wish I could say the hotel experience made up for the initial frustration... it did not! First, let me assure you the Santa Fe Hotel and Hacienda are not the same property (don't have same lobby/check-in/service). As you enter the Santa Fe Hotel lobby there is a giant table greeting you where a concierge sits for some hours of the day. Problem with that is there is nowhere else to gather at the entrance so any more than 2 parties arriving/departing at the same time overwhelm the front desk. I will say we got checked in with relative ease but with no explanation as to how to set-up the two tours or dinner that were included in our package (all of which required reservations). After getting to our suites, which were beside each other (yeah), I called to ask about coordinating the tours and was told they would check into and get back to me (which admittedly they did, but what if I hadn't asked; we would have just "lost" those items).
The rooms: okay as to space, if you get suites, but bathrooms are small and balconies may as well not exist. Don't get room 375 as you have the pleasure of the ice machine right beside you;
The restaurant: Breakfast rocks (the Breakfast Burrito, Huevos Rancheros, and Cinnamon French Toast are awesome); but dinner is disappointing in comparison (and especially considering the awesome options in town); dinner is extra disappointing if you get the package that includes it as they severely limit what you can have and I assure you they don't include the top options;
The bar: Pretty much part of the restaurant and not manned well to keep up with the restaurant, catering rooms, and the actual bar area;
The Spa: Expensive, poorly run, and hard to make reservations for before or during a stay;
Housekeeping: GREAT!
The Front Desk Staff: Friendly and clueless; here's a great example - the front desk actually asked my husband to fix their mistake with one of the tours they contract with when they didn't accurately account for who had already paid on the tour (They gave my husband the tour guides cell number and asked him to call. Really? Wrong on so many levels).
Additionally, DO NOT do the SANTA FE tour (either via package or per the brochure in the lobby). It is horrible. "Nat" is a realtor for his "real job" and after the 1st hour, you are pretty much on a real estate tour.
Finally, as I mentioned, we were traveling with another couple and booked the exact same package, but our bills were $200 different after check-out. Admittedly, I haven't followed up here as think we were charged correctly while the other couple ended up getting a night for free, but still shows the lack of competence considering we made reservations, checked in, and checked out at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corbyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and please accept my apologies for the reservation complications which are certainly not acceptable.

I checked on your accounts and assure you that both parties were charged the same amount!

Your unhappiness with Nat, our tour guide, is a first! But again, apologies.

Sorry we did not take better care of you!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    390
    144
    52
    26
See reviews for
301
706
81
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cow country, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Angel Fire, NM, we booked a Jr Suite on Dec 29. There was a little snow on the ground, just a dusting, but we woke up to a gorgeous white wonderland. This hotel was so cozy and the staff was very friendly. They genuinely seemed to care about the guests having a wonderful time.

The bathroom was on the small side but it was clean!
I posted done pictures so the hotel could be viewed in the winter. To have a nice breakfast in the dining room and see snow gently falling was very beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palepinkribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
So delighted you had a wonderful time in Santa Fe’s “Winter Wonderland”. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Santa Fe before and it is consistently a great experience. The staff is friendly and helpful, the bed was super comfortable, our room was immaculate. The bar has great burgers and Amaya has wonderful food at very reasonable prices. We loved the breakfasts too. We had an odd problem - there was an alarm clock on in the next room which was unoccupied and we could hear it through the wall. We called the front desk and it was fixed within minutes. I have recommended Hotel Santa Fe to friends and they have thanked me. We will definitely come back every time we are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
With apologies for the neighboring alarm clock!!

Your kind words are greatly appreciated together with your recommendations to friends. Many thanks!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our knitting group decided to have a retreat at the Hotel Santa Fe. What a wonderful place to hang out and knit!!! The staff was so wonderful! Allowing us to sit in the lounge and knit the day away. The food was amazing! The shuttle took us happily to yarn shops in the plaza area. We will be booking our retreat for next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you knitters!!! Delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, but I never got my scarf!! (Just kidding!) We look forward to seeing you next year.

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel Santa Fe is a lovely and unique hotel reflecting the historic town of Santa Fe in combination with the Native American influences. It is co-owned by the Picuris Indians and reflects a quiet and intimate feel in a luxurious setting. The hotel is very comfortable with a great roaring fire in the bar area (with great Margaritas) and a very good bar and dinner menu. It is located near the historic plaza and the new Railyard District.

Room Tip: The hacienda is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lletas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for staying with us. Your compliments are gratefully received.

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I visit Santa Fe for several days prior to the holidays each year. We love the beautiful southwestern Christmas decorations, and have found this to be an enchanting time to be in this special city. We have our favorite hotels, but had never tried this one. We stayed in a fireplace suite, and would highly recommend it. It suited our needs just perfectly. We always enjoy spending a couple hours reading by the fireplace, which we did together on a leather couch. The bathroom had a walk-in shower, our favorite. We especially loved the wine each evening, and the breakfasts each morning. You are not served a lot of food, but for us it was an ample amount considering we always like trying the fabulous restaurants around town. Lubo and Javier were excellent butlers, very personable and helpful at all times. The Hacienda is separate from the rest of the hotel, but only a few steps away from the workout room and lobby. This is a delightful place, and will be be guests again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellynewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
So glad to know that Lubo and Javier took such good care of you and we love being your new favorite Hotel!! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My daughter and I recently visited Santa Fe to attend the wedding of a very dear family friend. Many of the guests at the wedding were attending from out of the area and stayed at the Hotel Santa Fe. We personally were extremely pleased with the service, accommodations, courteous and friendly staff, and the wonderful spa treatments we received during our stay. Our room with its fireplace and super comfortable king-sized bed was incredibly cozy and welcoming! We would definitely recommend this hotel and spa to our friends and family who might be planning a visit to Santa Fe. The Continental Breakfast served each morning was just right to get us going in the morning, but not too heavy to keep us from being able to enjoy a wonderful lunch and dinner at the great restaurants that Santa Fe has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Very many thanks for your recommendations to friends and family and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay.

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing