We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't sleep and run, stick around & savor this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't sleep and run, stick around & savor this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. We arrived much later than intended and didn't get to savor this wonderful place. It was soooo relaxing and the staff were absolutely superb. This is one of the best places we've ever stayed in the past 30+ years. The only weakness from my perspective was the continental breakfast... it was "too healthy" for my taste. If we return to Santa Fe, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Many thanks for staying with us and we do have some “not so healthy” items on request - maybe next time?!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    309
    125
    42
    24
See reviews for
249
544
68
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved this hotel! My Fireplace Suite was in the Hacienda and had a beautiful living room with gas kiva fireplace; a large bedroom with comfy king bed; a wonderful, huge bathroom; and large balcony. It became the " hang out" and meeting place for my friends who stayed elsewhere, much to their chagrin after seeing my hotel. I enjoyed everything so much, including the continental breakfasts and afternoon wine and treats served by the "Butlers" each day in the comfortable common room on the top floor of the Hacienda. I was so busy enjoying Santa Fe with friends that I failed to partake of the wonderful spa, so I must return soon. A most fabulous hotel and suite, perfectly located, with complimentary shuttle service to everything of interest, so I could park, free by the way, and let someone else drive when I wanted to, really a plus! I have found my home away from home in Santa Fe and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try a Fireplace Suite in the Hacienda, it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshhKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We do hope you will indeed return soon?! Your “fantastic” compliments are so kind. Your “home away from home” awaits your return visit. Many thanks!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in room 383 at the Hotel Santa Fe for 4 nights and found the whole place to be fantastic in so many ways. The thoughtfulness and pride with which the staff operate made our stay very special and we would gladly return again. What shortcomings the hotel had (and it did, I am sad to report); it somehow achieved ways of easily overcoming them.

The room was adequate in size - fitting in a sitting area, a mini bar, as well as a balcony overlooking the patio with a decorative teepee. The adjoining bedroom had a large bed which got more comfortable with each night (my first impression was that it was soft, but it turned out to be great) and somehow they had managed to squeeze in two large television sets in the room, so should one of the guests be sleeping the other could sit in the sitting area without disturbing them.

The bathroom was a little on the small side, so only one person can get ready at a time. There was a small sink area outside the actual room with the bath, shower and toilet, so one could rotate. Toiletries were very nice and ample towels were provided.

The venue was a little out of the way - this should not be a negative as they provide a useful (sort of*) free shuttle that gets you anywhere worth vIsiting within a mile of the hotel. That said, the hotel is a quick drive to downtown, the local CVS or Whole Foods and as I mention the shuttle is always close by to take one anywhere else - such as the galleries or the museums.
The actual hotel has a restuarant with an excellent menu and great service and it also comes with a gym, a hot tub, a pool as well as a spa - which I thought a little overpriced.

Parking was ample and (sort of*) free.

The positive aspects include the most helpful friendly staff I have encountered in awhile - the front desk staff were all particularly kind and any request was met with a smile and an eagerness to help as best they could. The hotel also bills itself as the only Native American owned hotel in Santa Fe - which some might find a positive.

The negative aspects include the strange HEAART* fee the hotel includes in your total price - this fee provides you with 'free' parking, 'free' wifi, the 'free' shuttle and some other things. This fee comes at a daily cost of $15 and I overheard several guests complaining to the front desk about it, or asking if they can not pay it. It seems you have to pay it, so why the hotel doesn't just include it in the price boggles the mind of this reviewer. It just seems to over-complicate things.
That said I enjoyed the shuttle; I used the parking and the wifi was okay - although you had to re-log in every time you connected which can be a chore for long stays.
I also understand a portion of the HEAART fee goes to supporting local NPO's - but I dislike paying money to charities I do not know myself.
The other negative was that the hotel provided free tea and coffee from 7.30am till midday and then charged you for it afterwards. This seemed strange.

To conclude my stay at the Hotel Santa Fe was excellent despite all its strange quirks and complicated rules - wifi should just work, parking should be free or not, shuttles should come at no cost or with a cost - if coffee is free, it should be so all day.
That said I cannot say I had a bad stay. It was very good. And I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Your critique of your stay is gratefully received and we re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and will return in spite of our “quirks”. To address the HEAART Fee, it is often known as a parking, wifi or resort fee at our competitors and we choose to highlight it as a separate charge instead of adding it to the room charge which would equate to the same difference!? It highlights the facilities we provide, as well as a contribution to our local charities. It is an acronym for “Health, Education, Art (Charities), Amenities, Resources and Transportation (and Parking)” at the Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent front desk service, beautifully decorated and clean room, comfortable bed, spa-like amenities in the room, workout facilities, gourmet restaurant, continental breakfast, and shuttles to sites.

Room Tip: The Hacienda rooms in theh spa are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Your wonderful kind and gracious words are so very encouraging to all of us and thank for you taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com on our behalf. We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again soon. Many thanks.

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was a guest of this hotel Oct. 25-29, 2012 for a conference in the Santa Fe area. I was drawn to this particular hotel (though in addition to this hotel, several others were also suggested in my conference literature) because this one is "Native American owned"...at least in part. I liked that. From the photos I viewed online, I could see that this hotel appeared to be quite comfortable. It was. However, it was really much more than just comfortable. In fact, my whole experience there over the course of 5 days was exceedingly pleasant. The facility itself is well located to attractions in the city, very attractively designed and appointed... and well maintained (including the grounds). My room was spacious, yet cozy and quiet. The heat/air thermostat in my room adjusted quickly to any changes. Luxury sheets, pillows and ample complimentary toiletries/soaps were provided.
Every member of the staff I encountered...front desk attendants, restaurant servers, bartender, housekeeping personnel, gift shop clerks, shuttle drivers...absolutely every one was friendly, professional, helpful, courteous and responsive to my needs. I cannot think of any other spot, store, company, etc. today where one encounters that blend of qualities in a staff.
The lobby area is spacious and has a relaxing atmosphere with pleasant music...and live music on weekend nights. There is much literature (leaflets, glossy pamphlets, etc.) about the Santa Fe area available in the lobby. Restaurant food is very good...and I'm fussy (I've just written a cookbook).
Unfortunately, I did not have time to visit the spa...I will next time.
If I had to say anything negative, I really couldn't say much... except that I would have liked a little more light in my room. Had I asked for that (I didn't),
I have no doubt I would have been provided more light. In any case, I will stay there (and only there) again when I come to Santa Fe. Such graciousness...thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela55901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
And we do not “hesitate” to thank you so very much for your detailed commentary and kind words which are gratefully received.

Please come back soon!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I attend a professional meeting each year at The Hotel Santa Fe. The hotel and service have always been good, but it has even improved in recent years. The rooms are little suites with a seating area and bedroom with a comfy bed. Coffee and tea are available in the mornings in an area near the elevator on each floor. It's fun to see the other guests in their pajamas and adds a convivial touch to the mornings. The staff are attentive and always pleasant. The adobe feeling of the hotel adds a Santa Fe feeling to the experience. Great location! I highly recommend The Hotel Santa Fe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We continue to strive to improve everything at the Hotel and are so delighted to learn that perhaps our service is improving. Thank you for returning and staying with us and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After visiting 41 countries and 50 states, we have stayed in well over a hundred hotels. Never, not once, has any hotel exceeded our expectations to the degree that Hotel Santa Fe did.

Ambiance, art work, food, and the most welcoming staff we've ever encountered--all these things made our stay completely enjoyable. Though I know we'll omit someone's name, we give kudos to: Paul Margetson (G.M.); Antoinette Orta, Sales mgr.; Raymond Garcia (bellman); Eloy and Gabe (and others), Front Desk; Lawrence (at their amazing Amaya restaurant); Pete (one of their shuttle drivers); and, many, many more. ALL personnel made us feel welcome and "at home"--and feeling "at home" is a rare treat when traveling.

What a wonderful experience it was. We will return to Hotel Santa Fe because it is a warm, welcoming place to stay--staffed by exceptional people. Thanks to all who met and helped us.

Room Tip: Their Junior Suite is large, and ours had a balcony for quiet star and sunset viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so very grateful for your wonderful kind words. Your compliments are so encouraging to us all and we are delighted to learn that you were pleased with all of our staff, services and facilities. Please do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing