We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming!”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I attend a professional meeting each year at The Hotel Santa Fe. The hotel and service have always been good, but it has even improved in recent years. The rooms are little suites with a seating area and bedroom with a comfy bed. Coffee and tea are available in the mornings in an area near the elevator on each floor. It's fun to see the other guests in their pajamas and adds a convivial touch to the mornings. The staff are attentive and always pleasant. The adobe feeling of the hotel adds a Santa Fe feeling to the experience. Great location! I highly recommend The Hotel Santa Fe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We continue to strive to improve everything at the Hotel and are so delighted to learn that perhaps our service is improving. Thank you for returning and staying with us and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    400
    148
    52
    26
See reviews for
309
724
81
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After visiting 41 countries and 50 states, we have stayed in well over a hundred hotels. Never, not once, has any hotel exceeded our expectations to the degree that Hotel Santa Fe did.

Ambiance, art work, food, and the most welcoming staff we've ever encountered--all these things made our stay completely enjoyable. Though I know we'll omit someone's name, we give kudos to: Paul Margetson (G.M.); Antoinette Orta, Sales mgr.; Raymond Garcia (bellman); Eloy and Gabe (and others), Front Desk; Lawrence (at their amazing Amaya restaurant); Pete (one of their shuttle drivers); and, many, many more. ALL personnel made us feel welcome and "at home"--and feeling "at home" is a rare treat when traveling.

What a wonderful experience it was. We will return to Hotel Santa Fe because it is a warm, welcoming place to stay--staffed by exceptional people. Thanks to all who met and helped us.

Room Tip: Their Junior Suite is large, and ours had a balcony for quiet star and sunset viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so very grateful for your wonderful kind words. Your compliments are so encouraging to us all and we are delighted to learn that you were pleased with all of our staff, services and facilities. Please do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Strafford, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

On a previous visit to Santa Fe, we had several delicious dinners at the Hotel Santa Fe's restaurant Amaya. So we returned, we decided to stay at this lovely Native American owned hotel and we are glad we did. It was great to live in a place surrounded by beautiful Native American art.

The entire staff was both courteous and very helpful. The prefix dinners were as delicious as we remembered them. They provide a shuttle service into town which was much appreciated.

Overall it was a delightful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
And we are “delighted” that you stayed with us and had a “delightful” stay. Many thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wonderful adobe architecture, great interior design with lots of original native arts, tasteful rooms, friendly service. Excellent gift store with genuine native arts. Good restaurant, as well. Very flexible shuttle service to downtown and other points of interests. Good location - easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been a big fan of Hotel Santa Fe for years, particularly the Hacienda. But on a recent stay I was shocked to find the hotel engaged in the renovation of its lobby lounge adjacent to its large kiva fireplace. So this review is rated at only 2 stars for the following reason.

What had once been an intimate area with Santa Fe-style appropriate tables and chairs, has since been crowded with Victorian era black pedestal tables that look more appropriate for an ice cream shop. Even worse, they were paired (temporarily I was assured) with worn, brown leather club chairs. A hotel staff member who I have known for years joked that the lounge looked like a Dairy Queen.

The objective of the renovation is surely to increase revenue from liquor sales, but the designer responsible for the pedestal tables should have their AAID credentials revoked. And management should be questioned for going along. What were you thinking?? Simulated black cast iron does not go with viga beams and satillo tiles.

Suggestion to management: If you want to increase liquor sales, enlarge the the bar into the area used for the breakfast buffet. You could go from the present 5 bar stools up to 15 or 17. Create a temporary breakfast buffet space in the dining room. Besides, your morning coffee service currently set up on the bar is not ADA compliant. Reconfigure the lounge to its former scale and put back the sofa and coffee table.

Hotel Santa Fe is known for having some of its design work done by friends and family, but the lobby is one place where you have take out the check book and do the renovation correctly, and with style. I will continue to stay at the Hacienda when I come to town, but I will not be motivated to spend any money in the bar or lounge if the lobby looks as does when I was there this month.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room in the Hacienda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ovando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Well I am sorry to learn that you disapprove of the new layout/design of the Lobby Lounge. We purposefully engaged a long time Santa Fe based international designer to update the space with the understanding that we need more seating for our patrons (not to increase bar sales, but that may be a consequence of the design!). Also, on many occasions, guests both residents and locals would lie on the sofas and fall asleep with their feet on the coffee table, which was an unfortunate consequence of that design!

We are raising the chairs by two inches and the new carpet should be in place by the beginning of January, if not before!

I agree that it is a change, but no less Santa Fe style than before, but without a large coffee table and it did take a few days to feel comfortable with the new layout - BUT I can assure you that it will grow on you - I hope?!

Thank you for continuing to stay with us, albeit at The Hacienda - so lets chat next time you are here?

Many thanks for your thoughts.

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked the spa package (3 nights) for our honeymoon. The spa package is an excellent value. Our room in the Hacienda was beautifully appointed, extremely clean and roomy. We had a lovely gas fireplace and turn down service with delicious treats left on our pillow. The package included dinner for 2 and 3 full breakfasts in the Amaya restaurant. The food was delicious and the service far exceeded our expectations. Everyone who works here is friendly and professional. We each enjoyed a first rate massage in the spa. Many times we took the shuttle they provide to shop and dine. We could tell the hotel was busy this weekend but we never had to wait for anything. . The entire property, inside and out, was very clean. The one thing here that I have to say you will enjoy the most is the ambiance of the native American culture displayed throughout. We plan to return here for future anniversaries!

Room Tip: The hacienda spa package is a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed “your honeymoon” here in Santa Fe and at the Hotel.

Wishing you many future anniversaries together and with us!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stay in the Hacienda & Spa part of the hotel ($15 fee extra per day)--it's like a museum with spa amenities that go well beyond the highest four star hotel expectations!! We arrived on the Rail Runner from Albuquerque, walked across the street to the hotel, a complex adobe structure. The hotel is full of museum-quality Native American artifacts--gorgeous pottery, rugs, sculpture. The concierge will help with day trips and dining suggestions. Every meal in Santa Fe, including at the hotel, was memorable. The nicest part of the Hacienda experience was crossing paths with a variety of amazing people. We had the most fun chatting with a couple from Liverpool.

Complimentary amenities: You'll love the shuttle service to Museum Hill, to Canyon Rd, and around town so you can plan your day accordingly, i.e., walk a few miles and take the shuttle when you get tired or just take the shuttle everywhere. You will receive a basket of fruit upon arrival, bottled water, handmade chocolates on the turned-down bed, appetizers and wine/beer in the evening, full breakfast in the morning, and a daily NY Times.

Other: Be sure to acclimatize before hiking at 7000 ft, and drink LOTS of water because the dry air causes dehydration. While we were visiting, temps varied from near freezing at night to 75 degrees during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kierkegaardly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we are grateful that you took the time to write to tripadivsor.com with your comments.

Many thanks!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing