We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Hacienda Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Awesome Hacienda Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

This past August, we celebrated my new job with a short lux trip to Santa Fe. We typically look for deep deals while traveling to NM, but this time we wanted to splurge. I am so glad we chose the Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe! Our stay was excellent! The hotel is sprawling, located in a great location within walking distance to most major sites on the square. We were across the street from a vintage Cowboy boots and clothing shop--awesome finds. The staff at the hotel were attentive and accommodating. We rented a room with "butler" service--a very large suite with a fireplace and patio. Butler service means you can call for this or that and they send a person who quickly and efficiently meets your individualized needs (extra pillows, help lighting the fireplace). We happened to arrive in Santa Fe during a rainy week--turned into a really great stay. We loved our suite so much, we lolled around reading and enjoying each other's company while we heard the rain hit the windows. During our stay, I had a fantastic 2 hour spa service at the onsite spa, located right across the patio from our room. A fantastic massage and body scrub ritual that drained me of the stress remaining from a previous crappy employment situation! Our suite was huge, the king sized bed was extremely comfortable, with great upscale bedding. Our daughter slept comfortable on a very large pull out couch in the living room (we had a closed door between the living area and the bedroom/bathroom. Everything was in the Santa Fe adobe style. The entire place is owned and operated by a local tribe, I believe the only hotel in Santa Fe that is tribally owned. The hotel was a really great on site restaurant, we ate there on the gorgeous patio for lunch, and enjoyed the view of the gardens.We enjoyed our week-long trip immensely, and would heartily recommend this hotel, especially the Hacienda portion of the hotel, to all travelers to Santa Fe. (we have no experience with the smaller, less luxurious rooms within the "hotel" portion of the hotel, but did walk through the hotel, and everything looked lovely, clean, with an authentic Santa Fe vibe). The hotel also provides free transportation about town for those who need a lift, in a purple PTCruiser. Thank you Hacienda for such a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Choose a fireplace suite in the hacienda with a patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdmromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your expansive thoughts on your stay at The Hacienda this past August and I have passed on your kind words to all the staff involved. I am equally delighted to know that we took such good care of you and your family. I hope that you are enjoying your new job, but note that our transportation around town is not a PT Cruiser, but a very special London Taxi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    388
    143
    52
    26
See reviews for
296
703
80
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I like to speak directly to a person at the hotel location, before booking online. After dialing, I had to press at least 6 times and then hold, until I spoke to a reservations specialist who had never been to the hotel. After reading reviews, I was sceptical about being able to swim laps in a small pool. I also wanted to learn if the pool was heated (I will be staying in June). After holding for a check, I was told that it was heated. Okay. Moving on - I more or less "self-deduced" that a Hacienda FP King was significantly more than a HotelSF Picuris Suite because the latter lacked a fireplace, and the Hacienda had more service. The specialist was reading me the same blurbs I had been perusing all day. The Native American Package is priced at "per person", but I am traveling alone. When asking what the rate for one person, I was on hold again while she checked with the desk (what I was trying to do originally). But she couldn't get an answer tonight. They will call me back tomorrow. "Was there anything else she could answer?" Well, yes, "Does the Fireplace King have a balcony with a view?" "Views are not guaranteed." I also asked, "How do I arrange for an airport shuttle to the local airport?" This, too, will be answered tomorrow. I hope the GM will read this, because it seems that a hotel that prides itself on customer service (a butler to press 2 items of clothes, for instance), would be able to tell me 1) How much my hotel accomodation will cost and 2) How do I get to the hotel from the airport. I haven't nixed my intended stay (yet), but future guests, be forwarned about asking "difficult" questions. Because after speaking directly to reservations with consultation with the hotel, I still don't know how much my room will cost, whether it has a balcony or a view, or how I would get there from the airport!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vaughnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
I have been away, but hopefully our Reservations Manager has contacted you in my absence. You have confirmed some concerns we have had with our offsite third party “after hours and overflow” reservation agents and we will indeed be making a change within the next month.

Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused. You have been incredibly patient!

I do hope you will be staying with us this summer, so please contact me if all of your questions have not been answered.



Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Every December for the past 5 years we meet our friends for a long weekend at the Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe. From the moment you enter the lobby you are welcomed. The large one bedroom suite is immaculate. The ice bucket is filled and a basket of fresh fruit awaits you upon arrival. The butler service excellent. The entire staff cannot do enough. No question goes unanswered, no request unfulfilled. The concierge room is warm and inviting, with the atmosphere and ambiance only the Hacienda can offer. There they offer you a light breakfast in the morning and in the evening a large roaring fire greets you where you can relax with your friends and enjoy a glass of wine with cheese and crackers. Do not hesitate to stay at the Hacienda & Spa at the Hotel Santa Fe. We believe it is the best Santa Fe, New Mexico has to offer.

Room Tip: Prefer the 1 bedroom fireplace suites although the regular fireplace rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for you to come back again in December - if not sooner!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I went to Santa Fe for 4 days and stayed at this hotel in the winter during the slow season. It was fantastic! The staff was super accommodating. We had rented a car to drive up from Albuquerque but didn't need it. The hotel provides transport into the town and other close by attractions. The response to our requests to go places were so quick and convenient that we didn't need the car. The beds were comfortable and the room was nicely furnished but not super large. Our needs were anticipated and satisfied by the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our purple shuttles. Come back and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a relaxing get-away after our daughter's wedding in Albuquerque. It was great to be pampered with great service and quick attention to our requests after all the demands of the wedding preparation and execution. The hotel is clean, quiet and provided us with the respite we were seeking. Very convenient to the main tourist district, but far enough away to escape the noise and the crowds.

Room Tip: Since we made our reservation through Orbitz, the hotel even refunded some taxes that should not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife. Enjoyed the ambience of the place. Nice room, comfortable bed, great location. A very comfortable place. We had breakfast. Their oatmeal is excellent.

You will be charged a $14 "resort fee".
Valet parking for the night is $18

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
I'm sorry, but I do believe you have the wrong property. We do not charge our guests "resort" or "parking" fees!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

As a single female traveler I am always concerned with safety in a new area. The Hotel Santa Fe put me at ease as soon as I arrived. I arrived many hours early, the front desk staff was friendly and offered to call for a shuttle to take me to the museum district while the rooms were prepared. She made sure i had maps and knew where a great local place for coffee and a light snack could be had. As soon as my room was ready she called my cell phone and sent the driver round to pick me up. (The driver was very friendly and sweet) My room while small was cozy and had the amenties I would expect in any hotel room. The decor in the main lobby and open dinning area was rustic and perfectly fit for the Hotel Santa Fe. There was not a single staff member who did not go out of their way to make sure I was having a good stay. From the house keeping who put up with my weird sleeping schedule and always had a smile. To the dinning staff that made the 2 dinners i had at the Hotel Santa Fe relaxing and enjoyable. Take their recommendations for the evenings dinner you will not regreat it. The kitchen staff even double checked their ingridents to avoid my sulfer allergy. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: First floor room were quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing