We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still Our Favorite Santa Fe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still Our Favorite Santa Fe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Hacienda continues be our favorite Santa Fe hotel. We returned last weekend for an early winter getaway and to do some Christmas shopping. The hotel’s location, its refined yet relaxing accommodations and public areas, and its friendly and professional staff, combine to make a stay at the Hacienda the best value in the city.

We booked a Hacienda fireplace suite for the same cost as a standard room in Santa Fe’s most venerable four-star downtown hotel. We had two large rooms, fireplace, a balcony, and three-times more square footage than the room in the four-star hotel just off the Plaza where we stayed three years ago. And this does not include the bathroom that was both large and tastefully decorated.

Our stay at the Hacienda also included butler service, breakfast in front of the Hacienda lounge fireplace, and access to the lounge in the early evening for appetizers and cocktails. And of course the Hacienda’s spa was only steps away from our room where my wife enjoyed an early Christmas gift, a 2 ½ hour Land of Enchantment treatment.

The location of the hotel just off Guadalupe Street made it easy to wander the Rail Yard District where we visited the farmer’s and artisan’s markets, and then explored the Flea, two buildings full of antiques and vintage clothing. There I made an incredible purchase of an Edward Curtis photograph of an Apache girl for only $75. Later in the day I saw a similar Curtis image in a downtown gallery priced at $1000!

It is only a ten-minute walk to the Plaza from the Hacienda, but the hotel’s all-day shuttle service whisked us away to several restaurants and galleries during our long weekend, and then picked us up promptly when we called. After enjoying dinner downtown on Sunday evening we walked through the Plaza, tree-lighted for Christmas and covered in a thin layer of freshly fallen snow. There were no cars in sight, and no other people in view. Being the only couple on the Plaza on a snowy winter evening might just be the most romantic experience that Santa Fe has to offer.

It was our last night in the city so when we returned to the Hacienda we stopped in the hotel’s main lobby to enjoy its large fireplace to have a nightcap and some desert. The way we were received when we placed order reminded me that the Hacienda’s staff might just be its greatest attribute. The quality of personal service provided at a hotel can be it most distinguishing feature, and can often be the reason why people return time and again. The Hacienda at Hotel Santa Fe offers this and so much more. We will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a fireplace suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Oh thank you for taking the time to write such kind and encouraging words. Yes, Santa Fe is a magical place and lucky you to have the Plaza to yourselves! It is indeed romantic with the lights and snow (it has just snowed again - what a special site/view!). Please do come back soon and in the meantime, we all wish you and your family a very Happy Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    309
    125
    42
    24
See reviews for
249
543
68
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

WOW! I have never experienced better service. I travel frequently on business and was lucky enough to enjoy a weekend vacation with my significant other in Santa Fe a few weeks ago. Having stayed at luxury hotels all over the country, I must say that the Hotel Santa Fe's polite and friendly staff is incredible. If you book a room in the Hacienda, there is 24 hour butler service!!

This establishment is comfortable and elegant - everything you are looking for in a weekend away. Gorgeous spa – seriously, the entrance is a shimmering crystal wall and the interior is decorated with soothing materials and a cloud motif that literally makes you feel like you're in heaven. Rooms are spacious and filled with tasteful western décor. There is ample parking (which is not guaranteed at other locations so close to the Plaza). They provide all of the amenities of a large hotel chain with the attention to detail and client focus of a small bed and breakfast.

The Hotel Santa Fe is within walking distance of nearly everything, however they provide complementary shuttle service all over town - all you have to do is ask the front desk and 10 minutes later you'll be whisked away in one of their signature purple taxis.

I was so impressed - I cannot wait to get back to Santa Fe and to this fabulous hotel!

Room Tip: If you are willing to spend a little extra, book a room in the Hacienda. There is an exclusive feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Oh thank you for taking the time to write such kind and encouraging words. Yes, Santa Fe is a magical place and lucky you to have the Plaza to yourselves! It is indeed romantic with the lights and snow (it has just snowed again - what a special site/view!). Please do come back soon and in the meantime, we all wish you and your family a very Happy Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was impressed by everything at the Hotel Santa Fe, from the food to the suite to the gift shop. Every staff member seemed well-trained. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding--try the huevos rancheros!
I was there for a conference and now can't wait to take my husband there for some days of relaxation!

Room Tip: I imagine most of the rooms are as comfortable as mine on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanusa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and please do return soon with your husband!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was our third stay and we love the hotel! The hotel is dog friendly and the ambience is great. Love the restaurant. We love to walk into town. Shopping is great.
Hotel staff is very friendly and always make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for staying with us so many times - please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I took a 5 day driving trip to see friends. We spend a night at the Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda and Spa. Charming and delightful was the first words that came to mind. Our room was clean, very important to us, and very comfortable. We enjoyed the buffet that night and found the food matching the hotel. Excellent selection and well prepared. They also had music that night provided by a flute player, playing native indian music......pleasant and relaxing. Certainly worth the time to sit by the fireplace and listen.

When in Santa Fe, make plans to enjoy at this hotel. Seriously, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite....worth the money.Also, we are on the second floor over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed a relaxing Thanksgiving evening/night and hope the rest of your journey was enjoyable. Wishing you both a very Happy Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Two other guests and I had a great time at the Hotel Santa Fe. We enjoyed the suite, which we found very comfortable. We found the restaurant to be warm and inviting. The menu was appealing and the food was superb. The shuttle to the downtown area was very convenient, and the drivers were friendly and helpful. The hotel staff was great, and the gift shop - I can't wait to go back to it! I found some very interesting items and good prices. I am planning another stay with them this coming August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
have passed on your kind words to both Marcie and Stanna in the Gift Shop and your compliments on the Hotel facilities and services are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August - if not before!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We found this hotel quite charming---beautiful and quiet with lovely artwork, nice restaurant and friendly staff. It is across the street from the Railroad district, so convenient to shopping and the trains.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8OOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Did you arrive by train? What fun! Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing