We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art & Music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art & Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The attraction of Santa Fe is no secret. For us Coloradans this time it was a combination of the Indian Market and the last week of the Chamber Music Festival.

Hotel Santa Fe is becoming a top choice for us and as usual it did not disappoint. Our room was comfortable, and overlooked the pool and hot tub this time. We enjoyed both of them.

The amenities and laid-back comfort there are remarkable and the location is convenient to the Plaza, but far enough away for a quiet relaxed setting. The ever-ready shuttle service in little British cabs or a group-size van puts the whole town within scope without always wondering about parking. The Amaya Restaurant at the hotel is itself a destination all day.

However, the really exceptional thing that puts it all together is the universal friendliness and responsiveness of the entire hotel management and staff. One can forget how to worry and frown during a stay there.

Next trip we will use the fitness center too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_12440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
So very many thanks for your kind words/compliments. We hopefully always try to be as kind and hospitable as possible with all our guests and it is so gratifying to learn that we are perhaps succeeding!! Thank you also for taking the time to post your thoughts on tripadvisor.com. Please come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    324
    129
    44
    24
See reviews for
257
563
70
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip in late 2010 on may way through and am catching up to register the accolades as I promised myself to do. This is a large well appointed hotel with a slight corporate feel but counterbalancing local adobe architecture which softens up the large hotel feel; what makes this special are the staff, the attention to detail and the perfectly serviceable rooms at excellent prices - I had a junior suite for under $200 with two balconies overlooking the mountains; the household staff and concierge were terrific and spent as much itme as you would want to find out the places to visit in Santa Fe and surroundings. The food was solid and the Spa excellent, clean and with very good attendants; the place is also very well maintained and centrally located - near the markets, museums, art district and the center of town - all walking distance. But they even have a short haul taxi service to take you around Santa Fe whenever you want - unbelievable.The alternatives were high end boutiques which were 50-75 % more and not worth it considering what this hotel offers. The only criticism is that the pool is small but it's not politically correct to have a pool in water starved Santa Fe anyway, so not a big drawback. I wouldn't hesitate to book in on the next trip. The fact that this is a Native American owned facility also is another plus. E Douglas London

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you so very much for your wonderful words and it is special to learn we continue to be on your mind even if it did take you a year to send us your thoughts!! How kind of you and again, thank you. Please come back from “over the pond” one day soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just stayed here and were pretty much unhappy from the start. The outside of the hotel is really lovely and the location is pretty much perfect - not far at all from the Plaza, and we did appreciate the free shuttles to town. We were expecting a boutique, 4 star hotel from what we had read on Hotwire and Trip Advisor. What we found was a 3 star hotel in a 4 star hotel's body. The lobby is pretty sure, but the minute you get on the elevator, the cracks begin to show. The elevators are HIDEOUS. Streaked green and orange paint, with a faded light ceiling and a dirty horse blanket covering the wall. We rode the three floors up to our room, only to find the floor decor bland and uninspired. Our room was clean, yes, but completely outdated - Santa Fe decor from the 80's reigned surpreme. Peach walls (yuck!), an old couch, old paintings and cheap framed Santa Fe posters..."art" was nowhere to be seen, only stuff you see at truck stops and tourist traps. The TV's were ancient. Our balcony door wouldn't even open, and when it did, it couldn't open very far because it hit the tv stand...bad planning! The bathroom was silly...nice counter, but the shower was so dark you could barely see what you were doing in there!!!! The sliding bathroom door was heavy and loud and totally awkward. If I were looking for a nice but affordable hotel in Santa Fe, I would go instead to the Lodge. It's marketed as a three 1/2 star, but it's WAY nicer on the inside then the Hotel Santa Fe - everything is updated and shiny, even the lobby is nicer. SKIP THIS ONE.

Room Tip: Stay at the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenBlooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
I guess we can’t please everybody all of the time and every now and then we have a guest who is just plain unhappy!! Sorry you didn’t like what 99% of our guests enjoy and I wish you better luck at the Lodge!! (No Comment!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

On our last visit we stayed in the Hacienda but this time decided to try the hotel. Three visits in prior years were spent at Las Palomas, your affiliated property. As always, the staff is very welcoming and pleasant. Of course, we love the pueblo style architecture and furnishings, the light-filled and cozy spaces that the hotel offers. We enjoy breakfast on the patio in the warm months, and drinks by the cozy fireplace in the lobby during our winter visits. We have stayed in many different hotels, and Hotel Santa Fe is our overall favorite. We will be back in a few months!

Room Tip: the Hacienda rooms are wonderful and worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in a few months!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Quite a charming hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.

We got a suite, which always makes a huge difference in how much I like a place. That way my husband and I don't feel like we're on top of each other the whole time. We went in mid-summer, which is not Santa Fe's high season, I don't think, so that was probably why we were able to afford the bigger room.

The windows actually open, which I really appreciate, especially on those cool evenings. My only complaint would be the shower. It was so dark in there that I had to leave the curtain partway open to see at all.

There are a couple of local wines and beers available at the bar -- always a plus!

One of my favorite things about this hotel is that instead of a crappy little coffee pot in room, every morning they set up coffee and tea by the elevator on our floor. As a tea drinker, this made me so happy! Not only were there multiple types of tea available, but I did not have to have tea that tastes like old coffee!

The hotel is also very conveniently located near downtown and the Railyard Park. We walked almost everywhere.

Room Tip: The balconies looked small, so I'm not sure getting one is worthwhile since the windows open.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerfromJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
It is great to know that you appreciate the tea and coffee set-up in the lobbies instead of the “crappy little coffee pot” in your room, as we sometimes are criticized for that arrangement!! We hope you will return next summer, if not sooner!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Love this hotel! Beautiful place and it was close to the downtown area. I wish I could have had enough time to enjoy the spa, we were busy around the town and skiing/snow boarding. Next time will definitely see what the spa has to offer; would stay at this hotel next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Although the lobby was very dark, the art and decor were nice and the restaurant fix price menu in the restaurant was great value. We were initially put off by the pretentiousness of the butler service as it seemed that we needed to use this service, and tip, for anything we needed to ask about (e.g., no change of water glasses, no coffee next day, etc.) However, overall the staff members were friendly and helpful (although nothing but the art was Native American). We were disappointed to find that the flute and guitar entertainment in the lobby was only on Friday and Sat. evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Sadly most of our Native American Associates have long since departed to work at their casinos, which the respective pueblos have built over the past 12+ years!! We would never want to be presumed pretentious, but only helpful, friendly and sincere - so I am sorry to learn you were given the wrong impression! We love all (nearly!!) our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa

Property: Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing